We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible, horrible, worst experience”
Review of Toya Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Toya Retreat
Ranked #213 of 555 Ubud B&B and Inns
Tokyo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“terrible, horrible, worst experience”
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We booked four nights at Toya Retreat. When we arrived at Toya, nobody welcomed us. We had a bad feeling about this. The room that I booked is Arjuna Room, they prepared difference Hanoman Room. We asked staff, they just said "it's no problem Hanoman is better than Arjuna". But it's lie. We Looked at Arjuna rooms it was in ruins. There are moldy mattress in the bed room and sofa in the open living room, broken air conditioners, dozen of spider nets, dusty floor and so on.. TOYA have three rooms but it seems out of use without Hanoman. The Hanoman has no air conditioner, they also said "it's no problem, nighttime is cool" ,yes, temperature goes down in the nighttime, but humidity goes up and there are full of moldy smell it's makes us sick. And staffs are amateur, not professional. So we stayed only first night and cancelled another three nights. We ran away from TOYA to central ubud next morning...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kokopalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

If you would like to experience the real Bali, you have to go to Toya!

After a ride through small villages, rice paddies and local workers you will arrive into the middle of nowhere, Toya. The moment you enter through the main doors, you are entering paradise, You will be amazed with the beautiful view, the garden, the pool and the rooms. The days you are staying here will be days of complete relaxation

During the day you can relax in the garden, swim in the pool and enjoy the wonderful view.

At night you will really notice that Toya is located in the jungle, The noise of Frogs and Geckos is wonderful. Don't be surprised if you find a frog in your room, because everything is open during the day, they sometimes come in!

One family is running this little resort. Because we where the only guest at the moment we had the luxury of having a private resort.
They provide optimal service, in the morning you will find a pot of coffee or tea in front of your door. The breakfast is very basic, but good, fresh fruit, toast eggs. The lunch is a simple dish but very tasteful. The most special part is the dinner, if you would like to taste the real Balinese Kitchen, You will have to eat here. Not that you have a choice, because you are still in the middle of nowhere. The dinner includes three dishes (fish/meat and vegetables) with rice. All very tasty!

So if you would like to see the authentic Bali, and like to experience the Jungle, are not afraid of bugs, frogs, gecko's etc. you have to come here! a real paradise

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vriesericde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Hummm.
Hard to exactly describe the place.
When we arrived, we fell in love. It was paradise. The tranquility, the amazing view, the beautiful pool, the wonderful vegetation. Butterflies were everywhere. And the house is done is such style!
BUT
As soon as night fell....paradise became hell. Weird jungle noises, the smell of old humidity on the bedsheets, and the apple-sized spiders! I swear, on the first night, sitting on my pillow, a spider like you only see in horror movies. After that, each night we saw its sisters crawling in. We even left a day early because it was'nt relaxing to go spider hunting every night before bedtime.

But again, the daytime is wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philippespointofview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Toya retreat is a beautiful little gem, hidden in a small village about 20 minutes from Ubud. There is no traffic, no loud music and noise, just the sounds of nature. It is the perfect place for relaxation.

The villas are beautiful and the staff are incredibly friendly. The food is plenty and of very good quality. All in all it is very good value for money.

We booked the package with the driver who took us to small villages, rice fields, temples and showed us the best places for bargain shopping, away from the crowds.

I highly recommend this place for a relaxing and authentic Bali holiday. It is absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

After so many trips on business and holidays to many countries in SouthEastAsia i thought I had seen it all - but Bali is a totally different experience in its own right, spiritual and here at the same time and I cannot think of a better place to experience its beauty and spirituality than Toya Retereat. We felt in adifferent world,a world we had longed for - and there it was. Privacy, beauty, old fashioned"normal" luxury, and the kindest people in the world to take care of you and your needs, always there but never in your way - infinitely discreet and open for your wishes. Everything else has been already said in the other statements and I can full heartedly confirm them. Go there and enjoy it, but not when I want to be there. :))

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Toya is a beautiful unique place located in a small village that you will not find in your guide book, far away from all the touristy crowds. It takes about 20 min to get to Ubud from there by car. The place is run by a caring family that constantly stuffed us with the greatest homemade Balinese food. You should definitely stay at Toya for a few days and you will forget about all the stress at home when you enjoy the wonderful view from your balcony and from the pool into the tropical forest. For a couple of days, we also made use of the possibility to rent a car plus driver who took us around the island to various temples and other sights. If you want to have a great romantic holiday, spend some quality time with your friends or allow yourself a treat to relax, this is the place to be on Bali!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvir3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mega973, Gérant at Toya Retreat, responded to this review, 10 August 2010
Dear sylvir3, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Toya Retreat. You describe the relaxing experience of the Toya Retreat so well! We hope others read your review and come and experience everything for themselves. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2009

Great for a relaxing time, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were , clean and had gorgeous views. If you are looking for a unique experience and non streess time you must go to this place...I had one of my best holidays ever.. I loved the food too..the staff were always ready to give me advices on what to do..as it was my first time in Bali.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missreisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
6.3 km away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 198 in Ubud
459 reviews
4.4 km away
Swarapadi Villa
Swarapadi Villa
#114 of 542 in Ubud
49 reviews
25.7 km away
Karmagali Suites
Karmagali Suites
#4 of 135 in Sanur
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Sunset Hill
Sunset Hill
#87 of 198 in Ubud
264 reviews
1.6 km away
Bon Nyuh Bungalows
Bon Nyuh Bungalows
#10 of 48 in Gianyar
32 reviews
1.9 km away
Tapa Kawi Villas
Tapa Kawi Villas
#1 of 8 in Tampaksiring
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toya Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toya Retreat

Property: Toya Retreat
Address: Sumita, Ubud 80511, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toya Retreat is an authentic and almost untouched paradise of exotic culture, rich in art and natural beauty. This private retreat, in central Bali in indonesia, combines authentic Balinese traditions with modern lifestyle and facilities. Toya-bali is the beginner of the paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Toya Retreat Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing