We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bisma Eight(Ubud)
US$396
US$357
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$284
US$246
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$504
US$404
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$289
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$270/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$88
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$134
US$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$607
US$546
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$628
US$522
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$643/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
69
39
8
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
39
8
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 123 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2010

Rumah Tinggi at Desa Sanctuary was our home for 8 nights while staying in Ubud. While we enjoyed staying at Desa Sanctuary and in our room, we wished that some things were different.

In the room... Balcony outside the door was small but functional. We ate breakfast out there a couple of times. For the bench I used a couch cushion to sit on. The bathroom needs shelving. We placed our items along the ledge and were a bit out of reach when using the shower. The couch is too short to sit comfortably. The mirror needed to be hung up instead up leaning up against a wall. Need more than one drying rack. The bed was comfortable and we were glad for the netting to use at night to keep out any unwanted bugs. There was a zap racket provided in the room and we waved it around the room every night before we went to bed. The A/C worked great to keep the room cool. Nice desk to spread out. Envelopes of attractions and places to eat were helpful. The bamboo closet was roomy enough for our clothes. A safe is provided to put in your special items. Wi-fi is available but we didn't use it.

Around the B&B and its staff... Breakfast we ordered from the pool bar every morning and Wayan served it with a smile to us in the room. Our room was cleaned and made up every morning. The pool was refreshing and we used it almost every afternoon to cool off. Sunbeds were comfortable. We rented a scooter for the majority of the time we stayed in Ubud (too hot to walk) and had no problems finding space in the small parking garage below our room. The main office was up the road near the turnoff for the Sanctuary. Didi, the manager, let us use Skype on the day after Thanksgiving Day to talk with my family. Taman's husband Nengah we hired for our last day in Bali to drive us to Mt. Batur, the hot springs, Bedugul for ziplining, and then to the airport. He kept us safe while driving around Bali (a story in itself), especially through the shortcut (road full of potholes) to Bedugul. The B&B is about a 15-20 minute walk to/from the center of Ubud, where towards the first/last 1/2 mile has no sidewalks. Be aware that you will most likely be going to sleep or be woken by the sounds roosters or barking dogs. Ear plugs come in handy.

Desa Sanctuary's Rumah Tinggi is a comfortable stay for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1hotam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights in late Oct. We booked 2 of the smaller Joglos which were still very comfortable. Rooms [Joglos] - were very unique, clean and comfortable. Staff were lovely - from Didi who took the booking, to our beautiful breakfast cook, to the "boys" and of course Taman and her husband Nengah. Nengah drove for us when we needed and was an amazing man - very warm, genuine and down to earth - Thank you. Coming back from a day or night out was a little like coming "home" - closing the door on a hectic day and being able to just chill!. Even though there were other guests staying nobody "tripped" over anyone else. The compound isn't right in town - but is walkable which in itself is interesting/exciting.
If there is a down-side it would be to ask that staff don't assume. That guests are generally able to choose for themselves. This was a minor thing though and I am sure that all was well-intentioned.
Hope to stay again middle of next year.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tantarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Perfect place to stay in Ubud, there is just 5 little houses and in the middle a swimming pool. It's really quiet, clean and in the indonesian style. The staff is really nice and ready to help you everytime. There is nice ricefields around the hotel. It's a little bit far from the city center by walk but with a motorbike, it's ok.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennivinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2010

I stayed at Joglo Saraswati for 2 nights. I arrived pretty late (blame the flight) so the regular nearby restaurants (who always delivered to this hotel) rejected my offer. The staff however generously let me open the hotel main fridge and let me have some breads.
When I read the villa/house description on the website, I thought that the house would be too big for me but it's just perfect. The second bed (for the 3rd/4th occupants) is a "bale" and has no door (but it has a balinese 'kerei' for privacy. I used the second bed for resting and watched news online (Yes, this house has no TV but as a fair trade off it has a free Wi-fi).
The staff will ask you what breakfast would you love. Banana pancake is very recommended (watch out 1000 Kcal at least, have it only after you walk 2 km from the Yoga Barn), their egg and toast is also OK. Have i mentioned that breakfast is delivered to your house and you'll get to have it in your own 'dining table' (mine is overlooking the pool)
The first night I was there, my room and my bathroom lights were out (but there's a nightstand light), and at the same night the staff fixed it instantly.

The location is pretty far (but that's why they call it a 'sanctuary') from the central, the ojek ride cost around 20-30 k IDR (that's USD 2.5-3.5). The distance from/to Yoga Barn is approximately 2 KM so if you want to get their morning class, be sure to leave at least at 6.30 AM (no ojek available at that time of hour).

I wish I could stay more than just 2 nights..

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yayi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Desa Sanctuary (or known as Rumah David to locals) was a great find in Ubud. It's a "village" of about 5 apartment/villas of varying sizes, each with their own indoor/outdoor bathrooms and kitchenettes, all sharing a common pool in the center. There's wifi everywhere and it was a respectable speed. We stayed in the treetop one in the back overlooking the rice paddies across the way and we highly recommend it for its privacy and relaxing nature.

The American owner (David) and local staff are super helpful and speak good English - they'll help you with whatever you need, whether it's getting an early breakfast or helping you locate a shipping provider. They also have a guard on duty at night, staffed by the entrance to the village.

The only drawback to consider is that it is too far to walk into town (probably at least 30 minutes) and probably not good to do it at night since it's pretty dark and you'd need a torch/flashlight. That said, the room rates are very reasonable such that you can hire a motorbike or one of their fairly-priced drivers for your pickup and return. It beats paying 2-4 times as much to stay in Ubud center. We used Nengah the whole time and he was really nice and knowledgeable about things to do in the area, places to eat, and shopping. He is practicing his English though, so you'll need to speak slowly and make sure he understands what you need.

Overall, we highly recommend Desa Sanctuary for your stay in Ubud, whether it's short-term or longer-term!

-Tony and Lisa
http://www.rollerbagger.com

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rollerbagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews