We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made to Feel at Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Desa Sanctuary, The Village
Ranked #274 of 651 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Our group of four stayed at the Desa Sanctuary twice. We were in the Joglo Saraswati, which fit our family just fine. The setting here is beautiful, with a lush garden surrounding all the houses, and a great pool for cooling off after a hot day. The highlight at Desi, though, has to be the staff. Bali is famous for its warm and friendly people, but the staff at Desa went beyond every standard of kindness. Our kids have never had strangers treat them like the treasures as everyone did here. Desa was the first stop on our journey, and it was amazing.
The individual houses at the village are beautifully designed and appointed. The outdoor showers are outstanding and the beds are comfortable. Everything was spotlessly clean.
One thing worth mentioning, though, is that Desa Sanctuary is not within walking distance of Ubud. You really have to get a car into town; this is not a problem, as Desa has a car and driver on call (and the driver happens to be one of the most delightful people I have ever met). But we are walkers and it was a bit frustrating to have to get in a car every time we wanted to go anywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opelscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2010

Rumah Tinggi at Desa Sanctuary was our home for 8 nights while staying in Ubud. While we enjoyed staying at Desa Sanctuary and in our room, we wished that some things were different.

In the room... Balcony outside the door was small but functional. We ate breakfast out there a couple of times. For the bench I used a couch cushion to sit on. The bathroom needs shelving. We placed our items along the ledge and were a bit out of reach when using the shower. The couch is too short to sit comfortably. The mirror needed to be hung up instead up leaning up against a wall. Need more than one drying rack. The bed was comfortable and we were glad for the netting to use at night to keep out any unwanted bugs. There was a zap racket provided in the room and we waved it around the room every night before we went to bed. The A/C worked great to keep the room cool. Nice desk to spread out. Envelopes of attractions and places to eat were helpful. The bamboo closet was roomy enough for our clothes. A safe is provided to put in your special items. Wi-fi is available but we didn't use it.

Around the B&B and its staff... Breakfast we ordered from the pool bar every morning and Wayan served it with a smile to us in the room. Our room was cleaned and made up every morning. The pool was refreshing and we used it almost every afternoon to cool off. Sunbeds were comfortable. We rented a scooter for the majority of the time we stayed in Ubud (too hot to walk) and had no problems finding space in the small parking garage below our room. The main office was up the road near the turnoff for the Sanctuary. Didi, the manager, let us use Skype on the day after Thanksgiving Day to talk with my family. Taman's husband Nengah we hired for our last day in Bali to drive us to Mt. Batur, the hot springs, Bedugul for ziplining, and then to the airport. He kept us safe while driving around Bali (a story in itself), especially through the shortcut (road full of potholes) to Bedugul. The B&B is about a 15-20 minute walk to/from the center of Ubud, where towards the first/last 1/2 mile has no sidewalks. Be aware that you will most likely be going to sleep or be woken by the sounds roosters or barking dogs. Ear plugs come in handy.

Desa Sanctuary's Rumah Tinggi is a comfortable stay for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1hotam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

We stayed for 5 nights in late Oct. We booked 2 of the smaller Joglos which were still very comfortable. Rooms [Joglos] - were very unique, clean and comfortable. Staff were lovely - from Didi who took the booking, to our beautiful breakfast cook, to the "boys" and of course Taman and her husband Nengah. Nengah drove for us when we needed and was an amazing man - very warm, genuine and down to earth - Thank you. Coming back from a day or night out was a little like coming "home" - closing the door on a hectic day and being able to just chill!. Even though there were other guests staying nobody "tripped" over anyone else. The compound isn't right in town - but is walkable which in itself is interesting/exciting.
If there is a down-side it would be to ask that staff don't assume. That guests are generally able to choose for themselves. This was a minor thing though and I am sure that all was well-intentioned.
Hope to stay again middle of next year.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tantarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Perfect place to stay in Ubud, there is just 5 little houses and in the middle a swimming pool. It's really quiet, clean and in the indonesian style. The staff is really nice and ready to help you everytime. There is nice ricefields around the hotel. It's a little bit far from the city center by walk but with a motorbike, it's ok.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennivinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

I stayed at Joglo Saraswati for 2 nights. I arrived pretty late (blame the flight) so the regular nearby restaurants (who always delivered to this hotel) rejected my offer. The staff however generously let me open the hotel main fridge and let me have some breads.
When I read the villa/house description on the website, I thought that the house would be too big for me but it's just perfect. The second bed (for the 3rd/4th occupants) is a "bale" and has no door (but it has a balinese 'kerei' for privacy. I used the second bed for resting and watched news online (Yes, this house has no TV but as a fair trade off it has a free Wi-fi).
The staff will ask you what breakfast would you love. Banana pancake is very recommended (watch out 1000 Kcal at least, have it only after you walk 2 km from the Yoga Barn), their egg and toast is also OK. Have i mentioned that breakfast is delivered to your house and you'll get to have it in your own 'dining table' (mine is overlooking the pool)
The first night I was there, my room and my bathroom lights were out (but there's a nightstand light), and at the same night the staff fixed it instantly.

The location is pretty far (but that's why they call it a 'sanctuary') from the central, the ojek ride cost around 20-30 k IDR (that's USD 2.5-3.5). The distance from/to Yoga Barn is approximately 2 KM so if you want to get their morning class, be sure to leave at least at 6.30 AM (no ojek available at that time of hour).

I wish I could stay more than just 2 nights..

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yayi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Desa Sanctuary (or known as Rumah David to locals) was a great find in Ubud. It's a "village" of about 5 apartment/villas of varying sizes, each with their own indoor/outdoor bathrooms and kitchenettes, all sharing a common pool in the center. There's wifi everywhere and it was a respectable speed. We stayed in the treetop one in the back overlooking the rice paddies across the way and we highly recommend it for its privacy and relaxing nature.

The American owner (David) and local staff are super helpful and speak good English - they'll help you with whatever you need, whether it's getting an early breakfast or helping you locate a shipping provider. They also have a guard on duty at night, staffed by the entrance to the village.

The only drawback to consider is that it is too far to walk into town (probably at least 30 minutes) and probably not good to do it at night since it's pretty dark and you'd need a torch/flashlight. That said, the room rates are very reasonable such that you can hire a motorbike or one of their fairly-priced drivers for your pickup and return. It beats paying 2-4 times as much to stay in Ubud center. We used Nengah the whole time and he was really nice and knowledgeable about things to do in the area, places to eat, and shopping. He is practicing his English though, so you'll need to speak slowly and make sure he understands what you need.

Overall, we highly recommend Desa Sanctuary for your stay in Ubud, whether it's short-term or longer-term!

-Tony and Lisa
http://www.rollerbagger.com

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rollerbagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

My wife and I stayed in one room/house (one of the smaller ones worth $50 a night), my parents stayed in another one that was also $50 a night. They were great value, the place is very clean, the staff are very nice. The pool is fantastic and pretty much you can feel like it is yours as there are only 5 rooms/houses there. Definitely good to relax after a day walking around Ubud or in the rice fields. I'd definitely recommend this place.

There are a couple of very minor issues. One is the hotwater relies on the gas fired water heaters that are common in Indonesia. These can be difficult to get just right and indeed our one had some (not insurmountable) problems while we were there. When we mentioned it the staff worked it out but it was not perfect yet. The other issue which is a little more troublesome is that the last 5min of the walk back from town to the Sanctuary is along the side of a road that doesn't have a shoulder and has a lot of traffic on it. Basically it is not nice to walk along there at all. Other than that short bit it is fine. You end up dealing with the staff of the hotel about transport or the local touts on the street in town, which is ok but gets a little tiresome. hopefully the management will set some fees for transport to various points publish them and be done with it. We ended up paying about 30,000Rp ($3.5 at the moment) each trip to/from town so it is not a big deal but adds up a little.

All said and done we had a great time staying there and recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJMcWhirter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
5.3 km away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
4.5 km away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
0.3 km away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
3.2 km away
Villa Beji Indah
Villa Beji Indah
#1 of 4 in Mas
153 reviews
6.6 km away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desa Sanctuary, The Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desa Sanctuary, The Village

Address: Jalan Pengosekan | Pejeng Kawan, Gianyar Bali, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 651 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: $43 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderland In Bali has Ubuds best kept secret Villa's. RiverView Villa is the Grand Dame of them all. Imagine waking up to the sound of the rushing river. Our home is perched in the tree tops, sharing the same views as the Maya Ubud, a five star resort. Eat, Dine and Rejuvenate. Our staff can provide traditional and contemporary meals served to your pleasure. A spacious grande room with ironwood floors throughout, is the perfect place for relaxing, yoga, reading & dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Desa Sanctuary, The Village Hotel Ubud
Desa Sanctuary, The Village Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing