We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
69
39
8
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
39
8
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 123 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2011

I stayed in Desa Sanctuary with my partner and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and were happy to help us out with anything we needed. We were greeted with umbrellas (we went in rainy season) and a nice cup of tea and it just got better from there. The room we had was beautiful and well maintained, including the bathrooms. Breakfasts were simple (pancakes or a bowel of fruit) but tasty.

The only drawback was that the location is a bit out of town. It's 20 minutes to the edge of town and about 30 minutes to the heart of Ubud. The walk is ok in the morning but there is little lighting and lots of pot holes so we tended to get a taxi back, which cost 30,000 rupiah from town (about $3) so it wasn 't a major issue. We would definitely consider going there again if we returned to Ubud.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJLev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Our group of four stayed at the Desa Sanctuary twice. We were in the Joglo Saraswati, which fit our family just fine. The setting here is beautiful, with a lush garden surrounding all the houses, and a great pool for cooling off after a hot day. The highlight at Desi, though, has to be the staff. Bali is famous for its warm and friendly people, but the staff at Desa went beyond every standard of kindness. Our kids have never had strangers treat them like the treasures as everyone did here. Desa was the first stop on our journey, and it was amazing.
The individual houses at the village are beautifully designed and appointed. The outdoor showers are outstanding and the beds are comfortable. Everything was spotlessly clean.
One thing worth mentioning, though, is that Desa Sanctuary is not within walking distance of Ubud. You really have to get a car into town; this is not a problem, as Desa has a car and driver on call (and the driver happens to be one of the most delightful people I have ever met). But we are walkers and it was a bit frustrating to have to get in a car every time we wanted to go anywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opelscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2010

Rumah Tinggi at Desa Sanctuary was our home for 8 nights while staying in Ubud. While we enjoyed staying at Desa Sanctuary and in our room, we wished that some things were different.

In the room... Balcony outside the door was small but functional. We ate breakfast out there a couple of times. For the bench I used a couch cushion to sit on. The bathroom needs shelving. We placed our items along the ledge and were a bit out of reach when using the shower. The couch is too short to sit comfortably. The mirror needed to be hung up instead up leaning up against a wall. Need more than one drying rack. The bed was comfortable and we were glad for the netting to use at night to keep out any unwanted bugs. There was a zap racket provided in the room and we waved it around the room every night before we went to bed. The A/C worked great to keep the room cool. Nice desk to spread out. Envelopes of attractions and places to eat were helpful. The bamboo closet was roomy enough for our clothes. A safe is provided to put in your special items. Wi-fi is available but we didn't use it.

Around the B&B and its staff... Breakfast we ordered from the pool bar every morning and Wayan served it with a smile to us in the room. Our room was cleaned and made up every morning. The pool was refreshing and we used it almost every afternoon to cool off. Sunbeds were comfortable. We rented a scooter for the majority of the time we stayed in Ubud (too hot to walk) and had no problems finding space in the small parking garage below our room. The main office was up the road near the turnoff for the Sanctuary. Didi, the manager, let us use Skype on the day after Thanksgiving Day to talk with my family. Taman's husband Nengah we hired for our last day in Bali to drive us to Mt. Batur, the hot springs, Bedugul for ziplining, and then to the airport. He kept us safe while driving around Bali (a story in itself), especially through the shortcut (road full of potholes) to Bedugul. The B&B is about a 15-20 minute walk to/from the center of Ubud, where towards the first/last 1/2 mile has no sidewalks. Be aware that you will most likely be going to sleep or be woken by the sounds roosters or barking dogs. Ear plugs come in handy.

Desa Sanctuary's Rumah Tinggi is a comfortable stay for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1hotam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights in late Oct. We booked 2 of the smaller Joglos which were still very comfortable. Rooms [Joglos] - were very unique, clean and comfortable. Staff were lovely - from Didi who took the booking, to our beautiful breakfast cook, to the "boys" and of course Taman and her husband Nengah. Nengah drove for us when we needed and was an amazing man - very warm, genuine and down to earth - Thank you. Coming back from a day or night out was a little like coming "home" - closing the door on a hectic day and being able to just chill!. Even though there were other guests staying nobody "tripped" over anyone else. The compound isn't right in town - but is walkable which in itself is interesting/exciting.
If there is a down-side it would be to ask that staff don't assume. That guests are generally able to choose for themselves. This was a minor thing though and I am sure that all was well-intentioned.
Hope to stay again middle of next year.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tantarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Perfect place to stay in Ubud, there is just 5 little houses and in the middle a swimming pool. It's really quiet, clean and in the indonesian style. The staff is really nice and ready to help you everytime. There is nice ricefields around the hotel. It's a little bit far from the city center by walk but with a motorbike, it's ok.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennivinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews