We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bliss!”
other travellers have booked this property
Romantic hideaway
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Romantic hideaway
Lounge overlooking the 180 degree jungle valley Sunrise from your bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
Romantic hideaway
Lounge overlooking the 180 degree jungle valley
Sunrise from your bed
Gorgeous infinity pool overlooking the valley
Relaxing by the pool
Infinity pool with 180 degree panoramic view
Magical world at night
Bathroom with bamboo forest view
Peaceful at night
Tropical living
Tree house bedroom
Villa Shamballa style
Romantic candlelit dinner for two
Daily cocktail hour service at dusk
Infinity pool and deck with 180 degree view
Tranquil and peaceful at night
Colonial theme
Cozy loung area with a constant tropical breeze
Tropical tree house
Tasteful decorations
Tropical flower bath
Dinning bale by the pool
Your tropical home in the jungle
Breakfast by the pool
Alfresco dining
Tropical living
Private yoga lesson
Signature Indonesian feast
Dvd, satellite tv, internet for your entertainment
Warm hospitality
Villa Shamballa, closest place to heaven on earth
Bedroom and living area at night
The perfect location to recharge your batteries
Welcome to Villa Shamballa
Praying at the villa temple
Infinity pool and valley view
Pool at night
Ideal for a honeymoon (small wedding at the villa in March 2012)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Ubud, Gianyar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Turkish first
Any
English first
cloudycat
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bliss!”
Reviewed August 1, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Shamballa exceeded my expectations and I can only echo the other reviews here.

The villa is located just outside of Ubud – close enough to go into town if you want to, but far removed from the busyness of the centre of town. It is beautifully designed and furnished – the open bedroom is a unique feature. The staff were among the best we have experienced at any of the villas we have stayed in around Bali – unobtrusive but always there when you needed something. This is a perfect place to relax – we enjoyed the morning yoga class, great massages (without being overpriced as they are at some villas), and excellent food. Loved the little touches like cocktail hour and nespresso coffee.

As some reviewers have noted, there is some traffic noise from across the valley – mostly in the morning and evening peak hours - and the pool only has morning sun, but these are minor issues and will not stop us from making a return visit next trip to Bali!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The villa design, food and staff
Liked least: traffic noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Reviewed July 30, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Munich
Reviewed July 23, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Travelsal...
Parker, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great villa and staff! Private and relaxing accomodations”
Reviewed July 21, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This was my first time in an open villa and would've stayed here much longer. The two story villa has lots of living space with a view over the gorge. Upon entering the villa we were greeted by the lovely staff and entered a paradise lined with plumeria flowers and a soft glowing pool. What a great first impression!
The meals prepared in the villa were the best we had while in Bali. I loved the green beans with coconut and also nasi goreng for breakfast. Fresh and delicious.
We felt treated like we were Balinese and were invited to join our hostess at the local temple. Loved the community.
The property is kept very clean inside and on the grounds. Loved the sounds of our little frog and geckos in the evening with our cocktail. Loved the smell of incense floating through the air. Loved the sight of early morning fog lingering in the gorge. Loved the freedom of the outdoor shower.
The Wi-Fi had a fast enough connection to Facetime to the States with little issue. Since it was vacation the electronics were really shut down other than to check in.
My only word of caution would be that the stairs are a little steep for maybe the elderly or small children.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Staff- very helpful, fun and kind. We ask A LOT of questions about culture.
Liked least: Nothing remarkable to mention.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool Victoria
Reviewed July 19, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisbane
Reviewed July 10, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
happIness...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite beauty”
Reviewed July 5, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and i stayed at the heavenly Villa Shamballa in Ubud for a romantic 5 nights in July 2012 and it was indeed a magical experience. The views are simply breathtaking and the villa itself is stunning. It truly is as beautiful as viewed on the website!!

Upon entering the villa we were treated with kindness and love by the friendly natured staff. Tending to our every need, they were pleasant and planned all of our activities with ease. Almost acting like friendly ghosts - we barely came into contact with them whilst they would draw blinds, light candles, prepare meals, clean... the list goes on.

The sunset massage, followed by a luxurious frangipani bath was an absolute treat and morning yoga on the pooldeck is also a lovely way to welcome in the day. We also enjoyed our afternoon swim in the glorious pool and cocktails whilst lazing in the sun.

Ubud is a peaceful (quiet) place, but there's still plenty to see and do - We hired a scooter and cruised around the picturesque rice paddies. We walked through central Ubud. Lunch at Sari Organik was a wholesome and lovely experience. I also enjoyed a class at The Yoga Barn.

The food at the villa has been nothing but superb!! The corn fritters, grilled fish, nasi goreng, chicken curry and banana pancakes all a highlight for us.

Villa Shamballa's beauty is truly mind-blowing. It has a peacefully warm energy surrounding it and you will love every minute spent here. We will most certainly be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the Villa itself is STUNNING and the views are breathtaking!
Liked least: The road across the hill can be a little noisy.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing