We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best place ever!”
other travellers have booked this property
Romantic hideaway
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Romantic hideaway
Lounge overlooking the 180 degree jungle valley Sunrise from your bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
107 reviews
Romantic hideaway
Lounge overlooking the 180 degree jungle valley
Sunrise from your bed
Gorgeous infinity pool overlooking the valley
Relaxing by the pool
Infinity pool with 180 degree panoramic view
Magical world at night
Bathroom with bamboo forest view
Peaceful at night
Tropical living
Tree house bedroom
Villa Shamballa style
Romantic candlelit dinner for two
Daily cocktail hour service at dusk
Infinity pool and deck with 180 degree view
Tranquil and peaceful at night
Colonial theme
Cozy loung area with a constant tropical breeze
Tropical tree house
Tasteful decorations
Tropical flower bath
Dinning bale by the pool
Your tropical home in the jungle
Breakfast by the pool
Alfresco dining
Tropical living
Private yoga lesson
Signature Indonesian feast
Dvd, satellite tv, internet for your entertainment
Warm hospitality
Villa Shamballa, closest place to heaven on earth
Bedroom and living area at night
The perfect location to recharge your batteries
Welcome to Villa Shamballa
Praying at the villa temple
Infinity pool and valley view
Pool at night
Ideal for a honeymoon (small wedding at the villa in March 2012)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 107 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Turkish first
Any
English first
Leonie012
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best place ever!”
Reviewed December 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We had a pick-up to the villa (must do because not everybody can find it!).We walked in the villa after a long flight and thought we might see a receptiondesk. Then we saw the view over the valley and it turns out to be our villa...... No words can describe it. A beautiful and big place to stay with a beautiful and romantic view!! The service is just perfect, they will make anything the way you like it. Illuh and Dewa are perfect hostesses and cooks! They are always nearby to serve you in anyway, but they are never to much present which is a good thing. Because it is so beautiful we almost forget to see something of Ubud :). The villa is just like the pictures, could you imagine? It is all open, but very clean. Illuh, we still miss your pancakes!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francoise...
Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“total happyness”
Reviewed November 12, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

how wonderful was our stay at villa Shamballa! Special thanks to Iluh,Dewa and Gusti for the amazing dinners and breakfasts.;;1 rst time in Bali for us,and up to you we didn't miss the date!
Amazing view on the river,massages near the pool,sunrise from our bed...
Everything was perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: swimming pool
Liked least: no access to the kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B
Geraldton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Villa Shamballa in April 2013 as was picked up at the airport, driver had a cool towel and drinks for the 1 1/2 hour drive to Ubud. We arrived and were welcomed by Iluh who took our bags upstairs. We were given a refreshing cocktail and relaxed by the pool to catch our breath, the view was amazing "Paradise in Paradise". Infinity pool over looking the jungle took our breath away. We soon unpacked and were taken to Ubud markets only 10 mins away after returning we were able to relax at the villa. Staff are amazing and are at your call whenever needed. Dinner was prepared and was also amazing. Upstairs was the bedroom which was very comfortable with joining ensuite. I cannot fault anything from the Villa and would highly recommend to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: Not staying longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pia F
Port Washington, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Villa Shamballa Honeymoon was Heaven on Earth!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most wonderful time during our stay at Villa Shamballa. From the beginning, communicating with owners Atsu and Wendy was easy and they even helped us navigate our way through the Bali airport once we arrived! The Villa itself was pristine, clean, and beautifully decorated with simple touches of Bali artwork and gorgeous furniture. We cannot stop thinking about all of the delicious meals we had cooked by the chef Iluh. She is a worldclass cook and we ate many meals there for very affordable prices...my mouth is watering just thinking about it! The location was quiet, but not too quiet! You felt secluded but still a part of the Bali life happening around you. Iluh & Dewa (the resident staff) arranged everything we asked for with ease, from massages to drivers. Everything was fantastic and we wish would could go back ASAP!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry J
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Totally relaxed in a happy environment.”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This traditional style house is perched on the edge of a jungle valley close to Ubud. The house is beautifully appointed and designed for complete relaxation featuring swimming pool, open air bathroom, al fresco dining and very comfortable bed.
Without a doubt however it is the staff who make your stay so memorable. We will remember forever Iluh's loving care and superb cooking and Dewa's attentive, happy nature. A house of happiness and laughter.
Hopefully we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The staff
Liked least: Liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSnRAS
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa with One Drawback”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
5
people found this review helpful

This villa is really beautiful and exactly as pictured on the website. It's well maintained and nicely decorated. We loved the open floor plan...no walls. You really feel part of the outdoors. The staff were fantastic. The food was so good we had dinner at the villa every night. You order in the morning, tell them what time and enjoy a nicely served meal by the pool with a gorgeous view.

It is possible to walk to Ubud and also to the local village, but realistically, it's not that easy. Almost any place is a long walk with some hills, no sidewalks and it's hot. (Note that generally we really enjoy walking and hiking both at home and while on vacation) The villa will arrange for a driver but you do need to make arrangements in advance.

The one drawback that keep us from giving Villa Shamballa a 5 star rating is the traffic noise. The location on the side of a ravine is really beautiful, but just across the ravine (and only about 200 yards from the villa) is a road. While you can only see a small portion of the road due to the trees, bushes, etc. it's a 2 lane road with traffic all day long from morning until evening. Much of this traffic consists of motor bikes and there us also the occasional truck. So while you are relaxing by the pool, or in either of the lounge areas, you will almost constantly hear road traffic.

In summary, we would give a conditional recommendation to Villa Shamballa. If you are used to traffic noise and can tune it out, then this is a beautiful private villa with an exceptional staff and we would recommend it. If you are not used to traffic noise or are looking for a really quiet place, then we suggest you book elsewhere.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Decor & staff
Liked least: Location/traffic noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Reviewed April 13, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing