We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”
Review of Melting Wok Warung

Melting Wok Warung
Ranked #16 of 751 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: New restaurant on busy road, just out of Ubud Centre. Small menu with excellent Indonesian food, cooked with a slight European twist.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Went there during our trip to South East Asia in March 2013 due to the great reviews on tripadvisor. Generally we found the food in Ubud on a high level compared to other parts of the island. The location is sort of tucked away in a side street in Ubud center on the upper floor of a small building. As usually the restaurant is outside with adjacent to a building (usually where the kitchen is) but with a firm roof on top to protect from the occasional rainfall. The menue at melting wok is small, only three or four dishes to choose from. But the quality is very good. The dishes are simple from a conceptual point of view. This is not high class fancy dining. But the flavours are definitely there, intense and well prepared. The ginger chicken was moist and of very good quality with a crunchy topping of fried ginger. One can taste the freshness of the ingredients. The French lady at the "reception" was very polite on our visit, being a good host and interacting casually with the guests to create a relaxed atmosphere. The Indonesian staff is politely born so one feels very welcome at the place. The price level is reflecting the location of rural Indonesia, so for westerners it is quite cheap. When in Ubud this is a place to go to easily.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank oha01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,655
    676
    171
    44
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food, small menu”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went here after being rated so highly on trip advisor. Unfortunately, we were both not feeling very well (not down to the restaurant) and we had to leave a lot of our food. The waitress didn't seem too impressed as I think she thought we didn't like it, but it was in fact delicious. We booked in advance as they only had 7 tables, the hostess with the mostess was absolutely lovely and the prices were cheap too. We tipped big as we had to leave after about 45 minutes, but this is a great restaurant

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxie1145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience! Food, atmosphere, and staff were awesome!!!”
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Stopped by here for lunch and I left there thinking "did that just happen?". It was amazing! It only has about 7 tables but we did not have a problem with seating.
The staff was ridiculously welcoming and we had fun interacting with each of them. They speak great English and all of us shook hands and waved goodbye at the end. Guests were even saying goodbye to other guests as they left. It was just a really comfortable, fun environment.
The food was delicious. From the curries to the dessert to the coffee--all yummy. Definitely worth stopping by!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank LilyP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Balinese Hospitality on Steroids!!!”
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Felt so comfy being there. The food and atmosphere made me cry-not really. This place seriously has some quality charm and food to match. The crepe with coconut & brown sugar was delectable! Good find.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank justindaytona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best in Bali”
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

We have been many good restaurant in Bali for these few years. This is definitly the best one!! Nice atomosphere with excellent service not mention the food here is amazing! We couldn't help to go back on second night! The price is so cheap! It's definitely worth to try!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank consdonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Melting Wok Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing