We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A serene haven with the Ubud bustle on your door...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pool
The Pool The Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The Pool
The Pool
The Pool
MAIN HOUSE TERRACE & POOL DECK
The Pool
The Pool
The Pool
The Pool
The Pool
MAIN HOUSE DINING  and  LIBRARY
Terrace
The Pool
Terrace
The Pool
Terrace
The Pool
MAIN HOUSE DINING & DAYBED
Terrace
Terrace
The Pool
Dinning Room
Dinning Room
Terrace
Dinning Room
Dinning Room
FULLY EQUIPPED MODERN KITCHEN
Dinning Room
Living Room
Dinning Room
The Pool
Living Room
Dinning Room
Living Room
Office
Living Room
Office
MAIN HOUSE ENTRANCE TO MASTER BEDROON SUITE
Office
Living Room
Kitchen
Living Room
Kitchen
Office
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Pool
Kitchen
2nd Terrace
Living Room
2nd Terrace
2nd Terrace
2nd Terrace
Patio
2nd Terrace
Dinning Room
2nd Terrace
Patio
2nd Terrace
MASTER BEDROOM FOUR-POSTER
2nd Terrace
Patio
The 1st Bedroom
Patio
1st Bathroom
Living Room
1st Bathroom
1st Bathroom
The 1st Bedroom
The 2nd Bedroom
Patio
The 2nd Bedroom
The 1st Bedroom
The 2nd Bedroom
The Pool
The 2nd Bedroom
The 1st Bedroom
The 2nd Bedroom
Patio
The 2nd Bedroom
The 1st Bedroom
The 1st Bedroom
The 1st Bedroom
The 1st Bedroom
The 1st Bedroom
The 1st Bedroom
1st Bathroom
1st Bathroom
1st Bathroom
The 2nd Bedroom
2nd Bathroom
2nd Bathroom
2nd Bathroom
Garden
Garden
Garden
Entrance
Entrance
Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ubud, Gianyar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
suzie6020...
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A serene haven with the Ubud bustle on your door step.”
Reviewed June 8, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Stepping through an ornate Balinese carved wooden door into a lush verdant garden, surrounding a sparkling pool, is a wonderful welcome to this unique home.

The two pavilions with private outdoor showers, daybeds and multiple seating and dining areas make for a very comfortable environment.

This is a perfect spot to unwind and is in a great location on the outskirts of Ubud with multiple restaurant choices in the vicinity.

We wish we could’ve stayed longer and we will definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2018
Thank you for your very kind comments - you were the perfect guests, and we look forward to your return to Rumah Sawah Kita!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolmcc0...
Lennox Head, Australia
1 review
“Beauty and tranquility in Ubud”
Reviewed April 3, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

A week in this lovely Balinese house and garden is like a visit to heaven and balm to the soul. Completely private, nestled in a tropical garden of great beauty, the open plan house is furnished with style and comfort. There is also a guest room with en suite separated from the house by a flowing waterway with golden coy.
Once you walk through the old wooden gate the bustle of village life recedes as the sound of flowing water and the sight of the luxurious swimming pool slows the heart rate and cools the brow.
This is not a grand Villa. This is an oasis that captures the essence of Balinese life while providing all the comforts one could want.
I want to return again and again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2018
Thanks so much for your kind words Carol!
It was great to have such an appreciative guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamz
Uk
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Location and Base”
Reviewed July 16, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

5 days of sight seeing and a little relaxing, again booked our villa Rumah Sawah Kita through Trip Advisor, very easy and painless and good ongoing communication with the owner Geoffrey. The villa to Ubud centre is an easy 15-20 minutes walk, we felt walking was far easier and nearly as quick as a taxi, traffic is a nightmare in peak season. Lovely villa, daughter liked the fact the 2nd bedroom is in the garden and separate from the main house, the breakfast made for us each morning was simple but delicious
Ubud market is worth a wander and there are lots of nice places to eat, very busy and if you like 'wining and dining' then Ubud is the place for you though prices are clearly a bit higher.
Lots of places to eat within 5 minutes walk of the villa and we ended up eating at the 'coffee shop' - out the villa and turn right or Cafe Made's in the main strip more often than not

Ubud is a great central location for a base for sightseeing and the main reason we stayed here.
We did 3 days out and about using the lovely driver Made who Geoffrey uses and recommended and very good value ($60 US per day). Starting each day at 8.30 and finishing 4-5pm, a couple of good tips are to start early as you miss the crowds to begin with and secondly look ahead at the weather. For sights with more walking involved plan for a cloudy day (if there are any!) or the first visit before the sun rises.

Day 1 Bali Play/Dance, Elephant Cave Temple, Rocky Temple, Coffee Plantation, Kintamani Volcano View, Tegallalan Rice Terraces
A good tour but if I was doing it again reverse the order as the rice terraces get very busy later on, the view for us at Kintamani was pretty cloudy / foggy and perhaps could have avoided by checking the forecast for the next few days and planning accordingly.
Tours do have a lot of temples on them so it either they are your thing or pick 2-3 that interest you the most, at each Temple your legs must be covered, they do give you a Sarong to borrow at the entrance either that or at the first Temple buy one for as little a $1US, you then have one for the rest of the temples, also helps stop the continual offers from stall holders to buy one

Day 2 Jatiluwih Rice Terraces, Botanical Gardens, Lake Beratan and Temple on the Lake, Nungnung Waterfalls
The best tour for us with lots to see and some nice walks in each location. Jatiluwih are the terraces to visit if you only do one and arriving earlier was fantastic, marked walks from 1.7km to 7km.
Botanical gardens nice and shady, a Cactus and Orchid house and simply a nice way to spend a hour or two wandering around.
Lake Beratan was very busy but the Temple being on the lake is interesting and gives you nice shots as tourists aren't allowed on it.
Nungnung waterfall is a 'must do' in my opinion, there are a few hundred steps down (and back up......) but they are all proper concrete steps with a handrail. When we went there were only half a dozen tourists so getting shots with no one in them was easy and I suspect it is the steps that put a lot of people off.
Even in July there was a lot of water cascading over so just after the rainy season it must be magnificent, you can swim at the bottom as well if you want; there' s a lovely at the top of the steps who'll sell you a young coconut to drink and eat while you cool down.

Day 3 Bali Zoo and Bali Bird Park
With both book on line as tickets are usually cheaper. Bali zoo was ok but the enclosures are quite small (though there were 5-6 new enclosures under way when we went)
I suspect to get the best out of it you need to do one of the interaction packages but these are expensive. There is nothing there really you won't have seen at zoos at home and the experience did feel very commercial.

Far better for us was the Bird Park, lots of birds we haven't seen before and even a Komodo Dragon which was a first. A good tip is to take a selfie stick, you can then put your phone next to the bars and take really nice pictures without the wire mesh in them. There are also a couple of nice enclosures to walk through with the birds flying and wandering around you.
What is odd in both is you get your ticket and then literally 10ft for the counter you and stopped by another person who's job it is to check your ticket

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Thanks Graham - it was great having you and your quite intrepid family stay at Rumah Sawah Kita! You really packed a lot of Bali into your stay.
Do come back and visit again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda Lo...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great house in need of maintenance and transparency of costs.”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great location within easy walking distance of Ubud. While the house itself was great to live in it is in need of some maintenance and a thorough clean, especially of dust in any less used parts of the house. The kitchen especially needs a good clean, and is not particularly usable except to make coffee - but there are many good "warungs" nearby.
While the costs was not huge we had to pay for all the food for the breakfast which was said to be provided and $50 each to 3 staff members - these cost are not indicated in the original brief and the breakfast being provided is just false advertising

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
While I regret that your experience of my house did not live up to your expectations, there are a number of miss-representations in your comments that cannot go unchallenged.
1. to suggest that our modern kitchen equipped with a 4 burner gas cook-top, electric fan-forced oven, electric toaster, juicer, electric slow-cooker, food processor, Barmix, and a large number of quality pots, pan, cooking utensils, a cupboard full of herbs and spices, olive oils, pasta, canned goods, etc, is "not use-able except to make coffee" is plainly untrue. We entertain a lot, and frequently produce 4-5 course dinners for up to 14 from this kitchen.
2. "had to pay for all the food for breakfast"
We offer and supply a breakfast of: individual plates of mixed fresh fruit (papaya, watermelon, oranges, mango, banana, etc.), a loaf of freshly baked bread, top quality toasted muselli, fresh yogurt, a litre of fresh milk (imported from Australia), butter (imported from N.Z.), fresh eggs, ground coffee and Nescafe, a range of local and imported teas, EVERY SINGLE DAY. The only things that guests need to pay for, are specialty items, vegan or medical dietary needs that may fall outside the above list. The majority of past reviews have specifically praised the breakfasts that we have provided over the past several years.
3. "we had to pay...$50 each to 3 staff members..."
All three staff members are paid above the award wage monthly, by me, and have been with me for up to 7 years. In the 'House Guide' which I provide for all guests at check-in, explaining hours of work for staff, use of audio visual equipment, wifi password, water and electricity, and providing recommendations to restaurants, tours, etc. there is a heading "Tips: yes please!" There, I recommend not tipping on a day-to-day basis, but tips of up to Rp500,000 for exemplary service for stays over five days, and ask that the Nightwatchman not be forgotten.
Tipping is obviously completely discretionary in my house, as it is everywhere in Bali, and Australia from whence you come.

It is willfully misleading to claim either that breakfast was not offered each day, and also that you were in some way forced to pay each staff member $50.
The rest of your comments regarding "dust" and "kitchen cleaning" are well noted, and extra supervision of staff in those areas will be willingly exercised. I rather think that in the context of your other comments however, that these issues may not honestly be so serious.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trek68662...
1 review
“Heavenly, tranquil, hideaway!”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This is our third time at Rumah Sawah Kita, each time with three generations. It is perfect for relaxing with little ones, adults and older ones! The villa and the garden is stunningly beautiful, a sanctuary, so tranquil, and tastefully done. Good location, some superb restaurants close by. We will keep on coming back, thank you so much.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2017
Thank you Bryony, it is always a pleasure to have you and your family come to stay! We look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianagree...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unrivalled Bliss”
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

The beautiful ambience of Rumah Sawah Kita leaves you almost breathless and makes you want to stay forever. Stylish, comfortable and just heavenly!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2017
Thank you Diana!
It was a huge pleasure having you stay with us - we are so glad you enjoyed Rumah Sawah Kita!
You are very welcome to return anytime - we hope that will be soon.
Cheers,
Geoffrey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siouxsy
Tustin, California
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Little piece of paradise”
Reviewed November 8, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful property. The garden is absolutely stunning with a fantastic pool. Can't say enough positive things about the staff as well. The housekeeper Jero Kadek made us breakfast every morning which was great. The house is very charming in authentic Balinese style. Geoffrey was readily available for questions or any concerns. We had a great time. Wish we could have stayed longer...We discovered the spa service at Bali dreams resort and spa steps away from the house the day before we left. Wish we had discovered it earlier. They have great massages for practically free. Try the reflexology! If you need a good cup of coffee early in the morning, try Mesari Warung. Take a right out the door and it's just around the corner. It was open at 7:00 when we went. Overall experience at Rumah Sawah Kita was fabulous. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Thanks for being such appreciative and friendly guests in our house.
You would be welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing