We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolute HEAVEN”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Villa Madu!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Villa Madu!
upper wading pool cascades to the lower pool Swimming pool and frog fountain
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Welcome to Villa Madu!
upper wading pool cascades to the lower pool
Swimming pool and frog fountain
Pool with cascades
Dining room; seating for 12-14
Reclaimed wooden table seats 10-12
Dining room antique hutch
Dining room
Ganesh statue looks over the koi pond
Entryway and Kitchen
Looking at the Main Villa from the Gazebo
Downstairs master suite
Private sitting area off the Downstairs Master Suite
Downstairs master bath overlooking the jungle
Private seating outside the Downstairs Master
Upstairs Master Bath
Villa Upstairs Master Bath
Media room features 47' flat screen, DVD and book library
Antique Javanese teak wood bungalows
Have your coffee on the veranda while listening to the breeze blow through the bamboo
Bungalow Jahe
Bungalow Jahe
North teak wood antique bungalow with bed and mosquito netting
North Bungalow Bath
Joged dancer in the garden
Indonesian Nasi Tumpeng Banquet
decorated for the dance
Entrance to Bungalows
Breakfast or massage hut perched on edge of ravine
Carved stone Barong fountain over koi pond
Villa Upstairs Master Bath
Daybed on the veranda of Little Vanilla Cottage
Villa living room looks out at the garden and over the ravine.
Little Vanilla Cottage Bedroom with antique bed and mosquito netting
South Cabin ikat covered twin beds can be joined to form a queen.
Dining room
Little Vanilla Cottage kitchenette
Little Vanilla Cottage antique canopy bed
Dining table and living area; view of the pool
Garden in front of bungalows overlooks the ravine.
Little Vanilla Cottage
Villa Master Bath
Vanilla Cottage with hand made iron and bead chandelier
Villa upstairs veranda overlooking garden and pool
View from upstairs at the Villa
Baby chandelier in the cabin.
Wedding tent
Organic napkin rings
The bridge decorated for a wedding
floral wedding decorations on the wooden bridge
Decorations for the party
Wedding tent and tables
Banquet in the yoga pavilion
decorations for the gamelan dance performance
gamelan orchestra and dance troupe performing at Villa Madu
yoga pavilion and lawn area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Emma S
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Absolute HEAVEN”
Reviewed April 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We were a group of 9 girlfriends on a birthday getaway. Madu was fantastic in everyway - from transfers, food, staff and accommodation. Proximity to town was fantastic. The staff were incredibly friendly, accomodating and flexible. They were able to organise drumming lessons, scooters and massages to come to the villa and even organised a personalised birthday cake. They treated us like family, yet didn't invade the space so we felt like it was our house.The balinese banquet was truly magical. Adrienne was brilliant in providing information pre visit.
A MUST if you are thinking of experiencing Ubud. The most disappointing thing was leaving such an incredible spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff and the location
Liked least: Leaving there
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth N
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Nicest Place I've Ever Stayed”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I spent a wonderful week at Villa Madu as part of a long-awaited reunion with a group of old friends. Bali was something of a last-minute choice as a location and our organizer located Villa Madu after an extensive online search. None of us had ever been there before and we were absolutely thrilled with every detail of our stay. The Villa and cabins are kept spotless, each room is beautifully decorated and unique, the staff could not be more personable and helpful, the food is delicious and the location was ideal ... an easy walk into the center of Ubud. We loved the pool and the common "hang-out" area, massages were available at the villa, a very reasonably-priced laundry service did pickup/delivery and it was easy to organize day trips to other parts of the island. By the end of our visit, owner Adrienne felt like a friend. I will absolutely return to Villa Madu. I can't wait to introduce other friends to this magical place!

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful staff.
Liked least: I loved everything.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillip201...
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Private paradise”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Villa Madu was the highlight of our stay in Ubud. From the moment we walked into the stunning grounds we knew we would enjoy our stay here. Adrianne and her amazing staff were so attentive and helpful they couldn't have done more to make our stay more enjoyable.
A short walk into Ubud, a few minutes walk to excellent restaurants.
Transport available for all day hire at reasonable cost, staff booked tickets to dancing in palace.
We had some evening meals at the villa which were better than some restaurants we ate at, Nurdi's cooking is superb. Breakfasts were always something to look forward to, varied and super generous.
Adrianne provided us with tons of information, where to eat what to see and answered my numerous emails promptly. Would stay here again without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful grounds, attentive staff and amazing food
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBFrits
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, convenient location, beautiful gardens”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed here for a week with extended family- beginning with 8 of us and swelling to 14. Since we had kids we were able to create a massive sleeping room on the top floor of the main house- there were mattresses everywhere in addition to a balinese daybed and a couple twin beds. To be clear, the second floor has one very nice bedroom with an attached bathroom and a second bath and an open living room that we turned into a big mess of beds and exploded suitcases.

The grandparents stayed in the main floor bedroom and the two smaller casitas/villas were occupied by a teenager and a couple. In all, there are 5 private rooms or villas that can be used by one or two people. The little villas are a bit dark and down closer to a ravine/jungle. I was not comfortable with little kids (9-12 year olds) staying there alone.

The best part of Villa Madu is the staff. Nurdi makes cooking look easy and regularly put out amazing spreads-her dinners were incredible. Huge variety of cooked dishes and all delicious! The others were lovely, including the driver and others who helped clean and cook.

I would recommend this villa. The location is great. I think you could comfortably put three people on twin beds in the living room and still be able to use the couches and TV area. We had 6 which rendered the space useless for anything besides sleeping. That said, there is a wonderful open air living space on the main floor with room for 16 to sit around couches and also all together at a massive dining table.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jajanbali
Berkeley, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Heavenly!”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Sheer perfection - the friendly airport pickup; the beautiful array of complimentary snacks and refreshments upon our arrival; the gorgeous décor and absolutely lovely views (it's true - the pictures do not do justice); scrumptious breakfasts; massages in the little thatched hut that feels as though it is suspended over the sparkling little river below; the cool night breezes wafting in through the open windows; the pleasant and ever-smiling staff who made us feel so much at home and cooked the most marvelous meals for us upon request.

We felt like we were miles away from civilization, and yet whenever we wanted we could walk into central Ubud in just 10 minutes or so.

Our visit to Villa Madu was unforgettable. Our only regret was that we only booked for 5 days. We would stay a month next time, and we definitely want to take Nurdi and the rest of the crew home with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, view, staff, food, decor, separation of space for privacy, large dining table
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clark P
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun in the Urban Forest”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just a stone's throw off the road is an emerald paradise. It's quiet (except for whatever birds, insects, etc. are singing) and lush. There are numerous units here. I stayed in the main house in a clean, corner unit. The bed has a mosquito net and nice mattress. There is a couch and coffee table, plus 3 more tables and a fancy light fixture. There is an armoire to hang up your clothing or to stash away in 2 drawers. The bathroom has a shower and an oval stone tub. If you have extra items to store, there is another piece of furniture just for that purpose. You can also roam freely around the property, where you will find a hut, chaise longues, several more units, and a creek at the bottom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Lush green foliage and quiet natural setting
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinarooni...
melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed October 8, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Great stay, excellent location.
The garden setting is magnificent with beautiful pool overlooking dense forest in the ravine behind. Plenty of room for a large family or group of friends, & the staff were fabulous.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing