We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, bad food”
Review of Ananda Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ananda Cottages
Ranked #87 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My husband and I stayed in Villa A for 9 days. We loved it! The room was large, clean and had a mosquito net, a/c and a lovely balcony over looking the rice paddies. If you have a hammock, bring a rope and put it on the balcony. We did and it was great!! We loved staying in our room. It was so peaceful....until kids were in the pool. Then it was noisy and a bit annoying. Also the cock-a-doodle-doo woke us up at 4am everyday and the frogs and crickets were noisy at night time. But it was ok. We slept ok. Not the best nights sleep here. I am still trying to catch up on my lack of sleep now that I'm home.

We paid $100 which included breakfast. We had a bit of a walk to get to the restaurant and the restaurant was awful. Terrible food, poor value and poor service from the grumpy older ladies that work there. The younger ones were more friendlier. We ate our meagre breakfast and had lunch and dinner elsewhere.

The location is not ideal We had a scooter so we just scooted into Ubud, but if you didn't have one, you'd have to walk a long way each day, up and down a steepish hill or pay for a driver - and the traffic in Ubud is SHOCKINGLY bad!!! We were happy we had a scooter to scoot around the cars and fumes.

We enjoyed our stay in our villa and we were happy we had a scooter. We probably wouldn't stay here again because we probably won't ever return to Bali. Bali is too commercial, full of tourists and the Balinese seem like servants in their own country. If you like yoga, this will be a lovely place to stay and hang out with other yoga bods.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
There are newer reviews for Ananda Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2011

After couple of days at noisy Kuta beach, it was nice to get up to the lovely town of Ubud. Ananda Cottages was the exact place i was looking for, nice cottages in balinese style..I stayed in one of their bungalows with big verandah and open-air bathroom (I had some snails and frogs there!). Outside there was 3 swimmingpool around the area, with nice view over djungle and rice fields. Morning breakfast was pretty good, but i miss the cheeze though...There is a lot of nice art galleries and restaurangs at nearby. Especially I liked the italian cafe (forgot the name), they made very good pizza. Everyday (4days) i walked in to Ubud, which would take around 20-25 minutes, but that was ok...nice road (lots of art galleries)and I like to keep me fit:-) I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solstrimma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I stayed here for 7 nights as part of a course. The setting is beautiful amongst the rice fields and the gardens are really lovely. The staff are kind and welcoming and breakfast in the restaurant was good. However, we pre booked a superior room and they put us in a standard room and we didn't work out the difference for 5 days. When asked about this they didn't offer a refund and as I had booked as part of a package I didn't have much bargaining power. We managed to move to a superior room for the rest of our stay when we worked out what was going on. That said, we loved the room we worked in (a pavilion) and there is a restaurant opposite the hotel called Indus which serves fabulous food.

Room Tip: If you book a superior room ensure the room is an upstairs room - they are really lovely with a balc...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bwanji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

As part of our motor scooter tour of east bali 30 of us stayed at ananda cottages for 3 nites , each and everyone of us loved this hotel for its beautifull rice paddy setting to its large and well appointed rooms , lovely swimming pools and delightfull buffett breakfast , if you want a taste of old bali stay here and soak up the atmosphere , many thanks to all from indo on a scooter tours .

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Found the Ananda very old and tired. Used almost exclusively by large tour groups this hotel is passed its use by date. Bathrooms are old and very tired. A long way out of the main area of Ubud for anyone but the very fit - especially in the humidity. There are far nicer and better located hotels for individual travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indochinaoperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Ananda cottages was our base for our Eat, Pray, Love" tour from Sept. 20-28. This property hosts many groups from around the world! Our days were full but managed to spend some down time at the property by spending a few hours at one of their 3 pools closest to the rice paddy field and the yoga studio. Very quiet and relaxing. We had 3 yoga and meditation classes in the studio. Our teacher was local and very good. I must say it was the best venue I'd ever experienced for yoga. Can't get much better than that out in the middle of rice paddie fields listening to the sounds of nature and the view was incredible! After our classes, we all left feeling calm and just an overall feeling of serenity! Breakfast was included and was adequate i.e. juice, coffee, tea, water, fresh fruit, breads, eggs, and a local Indonesian dish daily. We had dinner at the hotel twice and was good. Front desk check in staff very friendly and accommodating especially Made #1 (as we called him). Made #2 in the restaurant always made a point of coming over to chat with us and gave us very good suggestions for dining at other restaurants around Ubud as well as shopping venues. Our room upstairs (#22) was very large with 2 single beds and mosquito netting, sitting area, mini fridge, good sized bathroom with a hair dryer, good closet, and drawer space. They also include a can of bug spray just in case! We weren't bothered much with too many bugs but what can one expect when you are in the middle of a rice paddy field and all of that beautiful tropical vegetation!! Our balcony was large and had ample sitting room to enjoy morning coffee or tea or to just sit and enjoy the beautiful foliage. My only suggestion would be to have in room safes to lock up valuables, passports etc. They do have safety deposit boxes at reception which we used. If you lose the key, you pay. Walked around the property one day and took photos. Lots of beautiful tropical flowers, trees, ponds and loved the sound of running water everywhere. There were stone carvings stragically placed around the property as well as typical offerings which is part of the Hindu religion. Our friends had room #20 on the ground floor which was equally as spacious with 2 single beds and netting. Their shower was actually outside which was a unique touch! Ubud centre was only a 20 minute walk or about a $40,000 rupiah cab ride which equals about U.S.4.00. There are several restaurants close by as well as shops, spas, etc. Very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms offer a great view of the rice paddy fields and beautiful surroundings.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0veab0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Stayed there for three nights and we got a good deal. Huge superior room for three for 90USD with breakfast. And we had a really nice room with a huge balcony!! The hotel is really nice in middle of rice paddies, be prepared there are lot of mosquitos but that's what you have to expect when you wanna stay in the middle of rice paddies..:-)
We enjoyed the silcence - very peaceful and glad that we didn't stay in the middle of Ubud. The Cottages are around 30 min walk down a hill from the main street in Ubud, there are also plenty of restaurants.
But you can also enjoy the food in the hotel, good and tasty. And they also have a small pool, nice to relax.
The Hotel can also organise pick up from the airport for around 25USD, take it as you won't get a cheaper transport on the airport anyhow.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krissi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 km away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#53 of 199 in Ubud
511 reviews
1.2 km away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#39 of 199 in Ubud
1,049 reviews
1.2 km away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#31 of 199 in Ubud
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
3.0 km away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#55 of 199 in Ubud
664 reviews
2.4 km away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#58 of 199 in Ubud
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda Cottages

Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#73 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $70 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ananda Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ananda Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ananda Cottages Hotel Ubud
Ananda Hotel Ubud
Ananda Resort Ubud
Ananda Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing