We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely low key Ubud option”
Review of Ananda Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ananda Cottages
Ranked #89 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We stayed here as part of a yoga retreat so didn't know what to expect. The resort and rooms are the old Bali style. Timber and beautiful gardens with rice paddy fields all around. The rooms are not flash but are very comfortable. That being said, we did look at 3 other rooms before settling on our final room which is upstairs, a good size and beautiful views over the infinity pool, gardens and rice fields. Initially we were out in a room in a seperate part of the resort which wasn't as nice (or so we thought).

The restaurant has simple but tasty food and the restaurants near by are great. Definitely try Indus and the Elephant over the road. We went to he Sedona spa which is just down the road .... every day .... so highly recommend that (though we did hear good things about Bliss which is part of the resort). It is an easy 25 min walk into the centre of Ubud which is great as the traffic can be insane during the day.

Overall I would reccomend for a reasonable priced stay in a good location.

Room Tip: I imagine downstairs rooms could be noisy we were upstairs neat the infinity pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2017

Tranquil, traditional and lovely. The room we stayed in overlooked the pool and rice paddies beyond. The outdoor bathroom was a nice experience in the warm weather. Beautiful views, statues everywhere - a lovely place to stay. Short walk up the road (on quite dodgy footpaths) up to Bintang supermarket which has everything you need, food, shopping, cheap perfumes and a Post office next door. The room service was delicious and we organised a driver (through one of the staff members) who took us to the Monkey Forest, and then to Candi Dasa for a very reasonable fare. Plenty of things to do at the resort if you are staying more than one night. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristymeredith05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

It is a hotel on the outskirt of Ubud, so quieter than the too busy center. Your room is in the middle of rice paddies and one morning we got woken up by the farmers who were harvesting the rice. It was great to see it; and they were kind enough to let me have a go ! So the setting is really nice !

The staff was very friendly, but the management less so: asking your room number (or to be exact, barking at you to get your room number) and just being not friendly.

The room need a refurbishment; and even if it is spectacular to have an outside bathroom, it also comes with its downsides: hearing the neighbours on their toilets and singing in their shower; and animals : lots of ants, snails, lizards and a cute little mouse trotting along the rafters.

The downstairs rooms are also quite noisy because of tiled floors - if you don't want to join the early morning yoga sessions then avoid those rooms because if your neighbours upstairs are going to yoga, then you will be up early!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Laetitia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

I am currently staying here with my brother in the amazing rooms 5 & 6. Our stay has been short and sweet but this place is absolutely amazing with only a few negative points.

Firstly, the vibe of this place is a quiet
and relaxing one. Our first few days were bliss as other guests are respectful of noise and intruding on privacy.

Today, however a family has arrived who are extremely noisy and think it's ok to bang doors and slam their feet on stairs. As well, yelling across their rooms to one another also implies they have either a) never travelled outside their own home or b) they are completely oblivious to other guests here.

I would come here again in the future but only if my room was around adults only.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

We had such a wonderful stay at Ananda Cottages- from the moment we saw our room we just said 'wow'. After our welcome drink we crossed beautiful landscaped gardens and rice paddies to our room right near the second (infinity) pool. We were impressed with the staff professionalism, service and friendliness. Room was beautifully appointed and daily servicing was spotless. I made a special request for outdoor bathroom and this was granted- well appointed toiletries and great water pressure and quality.
The buffet breakfast was amazing and we had a couple dinners at the restaurant which were fair priced and good dishes. We stayed for four nights with our 15 month old baby, who loved toddling around the gardens and having a dip in the refreshing pool. Crib was provided free of charge- with a Mosquito net.
I think Ananda cottages rates as 3 stars- however we felt it was 5 stars without the price tag. Miss it there already and would definitely recommend.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Annabelle_pr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed with two children (age 7 and 11) for three nights in the original part of the hotel area. The hotel covers a large area of tranquil rice terraces and lush gardens with many beautiful butterflies.
The children loved the small infinity pool overlooking the forest.
After sunset the staff lights torches along the pathways which adds to the wonderful atmosphere.
The hotel - which has a very helpful and friendly staff - is situated north of Ubud approximately 1km from the bridge. The number of shops en route to Ubud is limited but the hotel provides shuttles to Ubud market frequently. (No return shuttles).
The Indus Restaurant - which provides amazing food - is located opposite Ananda Cottages. Definitly worth a stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank PeterTerkildsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Ananda is a quiet escape from busy Ubud. Delightful Balinese styled rooms set in rice paddies clean and comfortable good pools to relax in great breakfasts helpful friendly staff. Lovely for young families. The laughing yoga is a must for all even if you have never done yoga it will be a holiday highlight.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank RhondaAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 km away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#51 of 199 in Ubud
557 reviews
1.2 km away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#37 of 199 in Ubud
1,096 reviews
1.3 km away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#32 of 199 in Ubud
590 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
0.7 km away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#62 of 199 in Ubud
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda Cottages

Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#75 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $64 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ananda Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ananda Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ananda Cottages Hotel Ubud
Ananda Hotel Ubud
Ananda Resort Ubud
Ananda Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing