We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
Ranked #18 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I had 3 nights here, one in a Lanai room which was lovely, and then 2 in a 1 bed villa with private pool which was fantastic. The property is beautiful, the food was superb, but it's the friendly staff that really made the stay so memorable. I don't think anyone could be disappointed with their time here - I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: It's a small property and all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vietnampaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    160
    25
    11
    4
See reviews for
218
620
45
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Our stay at the Waka Di Ume in Ubud Bali was magical. We have been to Bali several times before but have never stayed in Ubud. (we normally stay in Sanur at the Griya Santrian, another gorgeous place in Bali though a lot bigger!) Waka Di Ume was set in a lovely peacefull place, it was a small resort with only 18 villa's so it was very private and the service was just beyond exceptional! The staff went out of there way to meet our every need. They were all so accomadating, caring and genuine. We will DEFINATELY return there again as soon as we've saved enough money. Absolutely wonderful in every regard!

Room Tip: The villa next door to our's had a private pool!!!!!! We want that one next time! Even though th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliann d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My partner and I are Kiwis and we just got home after 10 days in Bali. We stayed 6 nights in Kuta and we couldn't wait to get to Ubud and out of the hustke and bustle. We almost left Kuta early as it was so busy and then we spent out last 3 nights at Waka Di Ume which was the perfect end to our trip. It was totally relaxing and tranquil, the room was amazing and was a little piece of luxury in a very busy country. The shuttle runs every hour from the hotel to the centre although we walked it most days and only took us 30 mins. The pool was fantastic with such peaceful surroundings and we loved the spa, it was nice to soak in the hot water at night and listen to the sounds of the frogs and birdlife. The staff were very friendly and always helpful. We can't fault the Waka Di Ume and will definitely recommend anyone to stay there that wants peace and relaxation. Thank you to everyone there for making the end of our trip a relaxing one.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights last year and I was surprised that the hotel does not have TV in every room. However, the room was great, it overlooked rice paddies so I woke up feeling refreshed. Finally, I did not mind having no TV for those days. The good thing is that they provide shuttle service every 15 minutes or so to Ubud local market. This hotel is suitable for honeymooners who want to get a piece of Bali.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n_hideko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We have just returned to Australia after 10 days in Bali, which included 3 nights at the Wake di Ume Resort in Ubud. This was a lovely experience overall. Beginning with the wonderful staff from Reception to the Restaurant, to the Room staff to the Shuttle drivers. Visiting the Spa for a massage or other treatment is an absolute must. Set in the most serene and beautiful location it was a perfect end to our Bali holiday. We moved to a two bedroom villa for the last two nights overlooking the Rice Terraces and we spent time relaxing in our own private pool which was a treat. We would highly recommend this Resort to anyone wishing to stay in the beautiful Ubud area.
Julie & Wayne
Victoria, Australia

Room Tip: An upstairs room would probably be a good choice for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed at a Waka property a couple years ago and hated it (see review through profile - Waka Ganga near Tenah Lot). So I smacked myself on the forehead when it dawned on me that this hotel was part of the same Waka group.

That said, they did a pretty good job. We went with a pool villa and had a nice stay.

Good:
-pool villa was big (at least for us, couple)
-great little plunge pool
-mini-pool gets sun too... we've stayed at places in Bali where your plunge pool is surrounded by privacy walls / courtyards for privacy which while nice, block a lot of the sun too. These mini-pools face the rice paddies so feel much more open and spacious and others we've rented.
-Teatime
-Nice main pool

Bad:
- Found the shuttle service a bit to ad-hoc. Missed the return pickup a few times (driver never showed), which is annoying, as getting a cab from central square in Ubud is frustrating and a rip-off.
- Getting a cab or car from hotel to restaurants was frustrating. I hate how everything is a negotiation when you're in Bali. Frustrating. I try to not let it get to me (but it still does).
- Food was ok, but got a bit old by day 3.
- Slow to bus dishes from around hotel.

Overall: I'm probably to picky, but I struggle to give this place a 4, more like a 3.5. Because the staff all seem so earnest I guess I'll bump it up a peg.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stoneman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

As a first time visitor to Bali, Waka was a fabulous place to start. This was a much anticipated holiday where i wanted to relax but also take in some culture. Waka allowed the time out. It is very tranquil. Wasn't sure how i'd go without a tv or radio in the room but i enjoyed the quiet. Nothing better than waking up, looking over the rice paddies or having dinner delivered to our room at night with the same view. Loved the frogs. Could hear them plopping into the water out the front of our room. The rooms at Waka are really beautiful as are the staff. Nothing is ever a problem. Even though there are clearly others at this property, you feel as though you have it all to yourself most of the time. It was rare that there was anyone in the pool or spa when we were there. The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle bus into town. If you want to go into town by yourself, the local taxi drivers are lovely and it is very cheap. I am sure there is more i can share but i think this review is long enough already....Can't wait for my next stay at Waka. Ubud is a place where you can do lots of day trips so not only would i recommend Waka very highly, i would also recommend Ubud as a destination

Room Tip: I would expect all rooms to be equally as comfortable. We had a room with 2 double beds which was r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tanyanicole20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.6 km away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.3 km away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,076 reviews
2.5 km away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 198 in Ubud
1,858 reviews
2.6 km away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 198 in Ubud
1,847 reviews
5.1 km away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#26 of 198 in Ubud
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa

Property: Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
Address: Jl. Suweta Banjar Sambahan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#8 Business Hotel in Ubud
#14 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#16 Family Hotel in Ubud
#16 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of quiet and serenity, only a minutes form hustle and bustle of Ubud, the cultural and artistic heart of Bali. You will stay in one of sixteen individualistic and distinctive dwelling units, scattered down the gentle hillside flanked by rice field. The resort has 10 Villas with pool,8 spacious Di Ume suites and 15 Lanai Rooms. The resort on-site facilities include 2 levels Padi restaurant,Pool Bar, Traditional Balinese Kitchen on the rice paddies for cooking lesson, The spacious Yoga Center and meditation center, The open stage, a monumental wedding chapel, Gallery, an Organic garden, and A luxury three level ultra modern Spa in rice terrace. Everywhere at Wapa di Ume, you are surrounded by the textures and color of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun fabrics, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waka Di Ume Hotel Ubud
Waka Di Ume Ubud
Wapa Di Ume Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing