We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Padi comfort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nick's Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nick's Pension
Ranked #60 of 521 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Padi comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Nick's Pension is actually in an excellent location because Jln. Bisma is a quiet road but due to the path crossing the river and cutting up to Monkey Forest Road, it is very close to the shops and cafes in that area, especially those around the football pitch/playing ground. The rooms are in small houses arranged around padi fields, with a reception area, cafe and swimming pool near the entrance on Bisma. There is wifi in the cafe which serves an adequate breakfast. The setting is extremely relaxing, but the rooms nearer the river are more secluded, if a little dated compared to those closer to the padi fields. The showers have extremely hot water, the rooms are clean very enthusiastically in the morning, and there is a laundry service.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laksalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    133
    47
    17
    14
See reviews for
54
133
46
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

I initially booked a homestay which was advertised as being close to Ubud but turned out to be 7km away. I started looking for alternative accommodation in Ubud on the eastern edge of the town which boarders the rice fields. It just felt a bit quieter here, Ubud is pretty hectic. I did look at a guesthouse close by the room was 40000rp with bfast. In the end I settled for Nicks Pension which was about the same price, but had more amenities, pool, wifi and tours.
Reviews vary on this site. I think that if you get a good room and the staff don't stuff up your booking you will probably have good things to say about Nicks Pension. I had the advantage of being able to choose my room, which on the first level with views over the rice fields. The first one they showed me smelt musty and did not have an attractive outlook.
The staff are very friendly and lovely. There is a lack of communication between management staff that look after the bookings and the people on the front desk. I had booked a room and they kept yelling me someone else had taken it and that I would have to go into another room. In actual fact the room was booked for me.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first level are nicer overlooking rice fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orange91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahamstown, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Our first impressions were very good. Nick's is in a lovely spot amongst some rice paddys and our room was much prettier than in the online pictures. It was pricier than all our other hotels in Indonesia but then Ubud is fairly pricey - or maybe Bali in general is.

The boiling hot full pressure shower was marvellous. The views from the verandah were stunning. The pool is a lovely extra. The lady who checked us in was sweet.

But ... the young men who also work reception are very cocky and seem determined to score points off the guests. When my friend asked to book an exra three nights after I left the young man behind the desk laughed and sneered that she should have booked more in advnce. He seemed delighted to inform her that they were full. Most irritating is when I booked a cab through them for the airport. The leaflet clearly said that cabs booked before 5am would incur an extra charge of 50 000. However, I was asked to pay this extra even though I was leaving at 5.30am. It took very firm discussion to ensure that I wasn't charged this. Then when I caught the cab it turned out to be an unlicenced cab driven by a casual friend of the desk staff.

Finally the included breakfast wasn't good. Our scrambled eggs were cold fried eggs chopped up. I think they might have been left overs!

Its a pity the service isn't better as the rooms and views are really lovely.

Room Tip: As for a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenhatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Very peaceful place to stay in a great location in Ubud.
Simple breakfast in a nice room with a nice view over the rice paddies.
Very tidy room and a great and friendly staff. Check out the very entertaining bird at reception who makes many different and interesting sounds especially the sound of a vehicle backing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoezac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We found Nick's pension a pleasant stay in the wonderful tranquil Ubud. We had an upper floor room which was a nice size, cleaned daily and had a beautiful view of the rice fields. They brought fresh tea/coffee to your balcony/varanda every morning and provided free umbrellas (which was handy because it ranined a lot). The 'secret pathway' to Monkey Forest Road was really handy and picturesque with the bridge over the river (but do make sure you have a torch in the dark). Breakfast was really good. Our main complaint would be that the walls were paper thin! You can hear everything anyone outside or in the neighbouring rooms is saying, btu other than that the area is really peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mim204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

I really enjoyed staying at Nick's Pension, my favourite thing was that every morning a thermos of delicious tea is brought you your patio with cup, saucer, spoon and sugar. Such a lovely way to start the day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoosaPac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

We stayed here with some other friends, we had the basic room, they had the one above, I'm not sure exactly what the cost difference was, definitely not much but there's was way better. Ours was a little like a cell with really poor lighting so you could barely read. However the settings with the padi in the middle was nice and the pool is a decent size, breakfast was ok too.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkey3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 km away
JUKUNG Hostel
JUKUNG Hostel
#99 of 521 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.2 km away
Sama's Cottages and Villas
0.2 km away
Tanah Semujan Ubud
Tanah Semujan Ubud
#23 of 513 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Nick's Hidden Cottages
0.5 km away
Lumbung Sari Cottages
Lumbung Sari Cottages
#16 of 521 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.2 km away
Karma House
Karma House
#58 of 521 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nick's Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nick's Pension

Property: Nick's Pension
Address: Jalan Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 521 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nick's Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are entering a place of beauty, peace and comfort. Ubud, the centre of art and culture of Bali welcomes you, and for complete experience we invite you come to Nick's Pension. A great deal in the middle of Ubud Just off Monkey Forest Road in Ubud. Around 10 minutes walk to Ubud Center / Market. Approximately one hours drive from Bali International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Nick's Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nick`s Pension Hotel Ubud
Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing