We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity with a smile”
Review of Alaya Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alaya Resort Ubud
Ranked #43 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Spent 7 nights and enjoyed everything about the resort. The staff are exceptional and believe that this is due to the General Manger, Suwamana Wahyu Putra's guidance. Our accommodation was well appointed and functional.

The Petani restaurant had a very good menu and my husband loved the ribs and duck.

Cannot fault the location and lived walking past the monkey forest daily seeing what the rascals were up to.

Our stay was very comfortable, we were looked after and will definitely stay at the Alaya Resort again on our next trip.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alayahotels, General Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Dear Maria L,

Greetings from Alaya Resort Ubud.

Thank you for your kind time to share your experience with us at TripAdvisor.

I am glad to learn that you've enjoyed our resorts and its facilities, service as well as the cuisine. Thank you for highlight our Petani Restaurant.

Allow me and my team to welcoming you here on the near future.

Best regards,


I Nyoman Suwamana Wahyu Putra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 2,143 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Can not complain about anything ...Alaya is seriously the best location by far in Ubud .. we leave tomorrow and seriously we wish we had booked longer here and then less time in our next Seminyak villa.
This is a big hotel and with a obviously with high occupancy rate because it is pretty much so welcoming ..
We opted not to get the breakfast each day because we already went hard in Kuta on hotel breakfasts .. however we were given a complementary meal in the restaurant and also complementary coffee in afternoons ..
The Restaurant in house rates very high on trip advisor and we are not about to disagree .. the entertainment a few nights of the week is of a high standard and to us were very memorable nights .
We found this hotel very reasonable in price and unless you are on a tight budget then you should enjoy Ubud from this key location ..
I'm pretty sure that the more you see of this hotel and it's facilities then the more you will be singing it's praises also .

Doug

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank Dougy_Lyell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alayahotels, General Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2017

Dear Dougy_Lyell,

Greetings from Alaya Resort Ubud.

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write review on TripAdvisor.

Through this review, I believe that you were enjoyed your experience from the begining until you leave Alaya Resort Ubud. Thank you for choosing us as your destination in Bali.

Sure, allow me on behalf of my team, looking forward to welcoming you here on the near time.

Best regards,


I Nyoman Suwamana Wahyu Putra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

We booked the Alaya Ubud thru Expedia in Nov 2016. Our room was confirmed and guaranteed for late arrival. Unfortunately, the Alaya did not feel compelled to honor this guarantee as upon arrival on April 02 around 3Am in the morning we had learned that our hotel reservations had been modified to a later check in date of April 04 and that there were no rooms available to accommodate us. The clerk initially indicated we had modified our date then later changed the assumed blame to Expedia. Fortunately with the assistance of our shuttle driver, the clerk was able to locate an availability at another hotel nearby. We were instructed to contact the Alaya Ubud after 9am to see if the situation could be remedied. However, after arriving at the new hotel and their exceptional customer service we chose to remain at the new hotel and solicit a refund thru Expedia. The next day we did walk thru the Alaya Ubud to see what we were possibly missing out on. The hotel grounds looked nice but seemed extremely crowded and noisy compared to the quiet and quaint hotel we had been relocated to. Turned out we had made the right decision. I would not recommend the Alaya Ubud based on our experience and preference.
LikeShow more reactionsCommentShare

Stayed: April 2017
3  Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

We just stayed three nights in an "Alaya room" which to be honest looked exactly like every other room I looked in as we passed in the long corridors, which thankfully were undercover because we had three days of heavy rain...Apart from the weather which no one has any control over, we had three wonderful days of staying at this hotel, perfectly located, and walking distance to all the attractions, we loved the unique style, the unbelievable staff, who seem to genuinely be interested in how you are enjoying your holiday, nothing fake about them, which can be the case in some hotels, and loved the food, we normally don't eat at hotels, preferring to seek out local places, but we had dinner one night there, and it was wonderful, the ambiance, the talented singer, who if you closed your eyes sounded just like Ed Sheeran or even Sting, and getting my husband out of bed early on holidays proved easy after the first incredible breakfast he had in the open air restaurant, a lovely choice of menu, he tried a different one each day and loved each mouthful! Lastly, I will say a big thank you, to the lovely lady who checked my room as we were checking out, rang reception to tell them not to let me go, because I had left my camera memory stick by the bedside, complete with all my holiday photo's on it...a tiny little stick but meant a lot to me, on closing I will say I have stayed at 5 star hotels in Ubud at 5 times the price, and you all surpassed this with your AMAZING staff, thank you again.

Room Tip: If you are old, or handicapped, or not so fit, ask for a ground floor room, its a long hotel and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alayahotels, General Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2017

Dear wendyinafrica,

Greetings from Alaya Resort Ubud.

Thank you very much for your kind review regarding our resort.

Thank you for choosing Alaya Resort Ubud as your destination in Bali and I'm glad to know that you were enjoyed your stay here. Thank you for your complimentary words upon my team. I will surely share your comment to them.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back again to this beautiful island for another memorable stay.

Best regards,


I Nyoman Suwamana Wahyu Putra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

This was the reason we went to Bali. It's quiet well located the staff is nice. The pools were very nice. Our two years old was able to walk in the pool. The hotel served us tea in the afternoon. We had a view of the rice field from our room. It was magic, relaxing and wonderful!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank maryaube2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alayahotels, General Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2017

Dear maryaube2014,

Greetings from Alaya Resort Ubud.

Thank you for taking your time to write your beautiful review and shared it with our Tripadvisor readers.
Through this review, I believe that you were enjoyed the resort and its facilities. Thank you for choosing us as your destination in Bali.

Sure, allow me on behalf of my team, looking forward to welcoming you here on the near time.

Best regards,


I Nyoman Suwamana Wahyu Putra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

The staff is beyond reproach. Each time we crossed paths with a member of Alayna's team, we were greeted with a smile. Every time we had a question, or needed a service, our needs were accommodated in a timely manner. My wife and I ate at the restaurant at least once per day since everything was well prepared. Delicious! It was actually a bit difficult to leave.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ChaiD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alayahotels, General Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Dear Chai D,

Greetings from Alaya Resort Ubud.

Thank you for sharing your review regarding to your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to know that you were enjoyed our resorts and its facilities, cuisine as well as the service. And also thank you for your complimentary words upon our staff.

On behalf of Alaya Resort Ubud team, allow me to welcoming you again to stay with us in the near future.

Best regards,


I Nyoman Suwamana Wahyu Putra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Alaya is an awesome place to stay in Ubud. Staff is really welcoming and friendly, the restaurants are great and the rooms are quiet, beautiful and clean. At the center of the town it's an opportunity not to be missed!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim0uche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alayahotels, General Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear kim0uche,

Greetings from Alaya Resort Ubud.

Thank you for write a comment and complimentary review of our resort on TripAdvisor.

I am most delighted to know that you have enjoyed your experience here as well as you enjoyed our facilities, service and location.

Allow me on behalf of my entire team, to welcoming you back at Alaya Resort Ubud and this island of thousand temples.

Best regards,


I Nyoman Suwamana Wahyu Putra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 km away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2 km away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 196 in Ubud
836 reviews
0.8 km away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
4.9 km away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.9 km away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#42 of 196 in Ubud
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaya Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaya Resort Ubud

Address: Jl. Hanoman, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#38 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $153 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alaya Resort Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Ubud, Alaya Resort Ubud meets the needs of international travelers as a modern interpretation of Bali’s local building culture through the combination of indigenous materials, imbued with the essence of ancient Ubud. It features 60 tastefully-appointed rooms, Petani restaurant specialising in cuisine from around the Indonesian archipelago and award-winning DaLa Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Fastbooking and Cancelon so you can book your Alaya Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaya Resort Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing