We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcrowded and unorganised”
Review of Alaya Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Alaya Resort Ubud
Ranked #43 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This is my second time staying with Alaya. First time was in 2014, and since then, I have been back to Ubud every year, but keep thinking going back to Alaya. This time, I did, along with my wedding party.

The resort is beautiful, the Manisan restaurant serves brilliant food, I would strongly suggest to try breakfast and dinner there. Dessert is amazing!

However, the check in process was dreadful, and rooms are not ready when we checked in after 2pm required time. The frond desk stuff seem confused and very poor communication.

In general, the resort itself is beautiful, loved every bit of it. Compare to 3 years ago, it's bigger and offers more facility. However, the expansion fell short on its staff. From ordering a meal, to check in and out, getting a taxi etc. It just felt like they are short of staff, and didn't really care at all.

Room Tip: Rooms with higher number after floor number are towards the back and quieter. The ground level room...
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,010)
There are newer reviews for Alaya Resort Ubud
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 2,010 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and it was amazing. The staff were so friendly and our room was perfect, we lived every minute of it! We had a ground floor room which had easy access to the pool area- it was perfect. Breakfast was amazing each morning and we ate lunch and dinner here every night too because the food was so good. We couldn't recommend this hotel and it's staff highly enough- definitely the best hotel we stayed in in Bali throughout our honeymoon! Amazing

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CTal2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alayahotels, General Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear CTal2016,

Greetings from Alaya Resort Ubud.

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write review on TripAdvisor.

It is an honor for us to know that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed every moment of it. We greatly appreciate that you have trusted us to host your holiday stay and cater to your needs. Aside from that, we are also delighted to know that you enjoyed our facilities, cuisine as well as the services.

Thank you for being our guest and certainly, we look forward to welcome you back to the resort for another memorable stay in the near future.

Best regards,


Dewi Mas, CHA, CHT
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Our stay at Alana Resort in Ubud with our family was superb.It was a tranquil oasis amidst the bustle of Ubud yet it was in the village centre, close to shops, The Monkey Forest & markets.The room was gorgeous with an enormous round bath & great balcony area.The friendly, helpful staff & excellent food made our stay & the pool bordered by rice paddies was an exotic, delightful setting.
JM Nz

Room Tip: Ask for a view over rice paddies & pools
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jillmeadows5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alayahotels, General Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear jillmeadows5,

Greetings from Alaya Resort Ubud.

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write review on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to learn that you've enjoyed our resorts and its facilities, service, cuisine and location.

Allow me and my team to welcoming you here on the near future.

Best regards,


Dewi Mas, CHA, CHT
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

We stayed here for 3 night and it was really great. We get an upgrade at check in to a very nice room with a great view over the rice terrace from the hotel and over the pool area. The room was very quite and nice designed.
In the middel of the room we had a freestanding bath - great, even if we do not use it.
There was no noise from the rooms next door or the floor.
The service for breakfast and dinner was very good and the staff members regonciced us - great feeling.
The hotel has a very good location, close to the monkey forest, to the Ubud market and other great places.
We totally recommend this hotel for a stay in Ubud.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jenniferklingbeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alayahotels, General Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear jenniferklingbeil,

Greetings from Alaya Resort Ubud.

Thank you for your positive comment here at TripAdvisor.

Through this comment I believe that you enjoyed your stay with us and this is how I'm proud of my team who your stay flawless.
On behalf of them, allow me to welcoming you back here to stay with us in the near future.

Best regards,


Dewi Mas, CHA, CHT
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Alaya Ubud is heaven on Hearth.
One of the best places we've ever been.
The Staff is amazing!
Super-nice, kids friendly, awesome food, perfect swimming pool!
Great location.
It's magical. Makes us want to live there.
It couldn't be better.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tânia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alayahotels, General Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear Tania A,

Greetings from Alaya Resort Ubud.

Thank you for taking your time to write your beautiful review and shared it with our Tripadvisor readers.

Through this review, I believe that you were enjoyed your experience from the beginning until you leave Alaya Resort Ubud. Thank you for choosing us as your destination in Bali.

Sure, allow me on behalf of my team, looking forward to welcoming you here on the near time.

Best regards,

Dewi Mas, CHA, CHT
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Everything was excellent. Very friendly staff, gave us a free and unexpected upgrade because it was our honeymoon. Best room ever. The hotel is really beautiful, inside and outside! Right in the middle of rice fields! Thank you!

Room Tip: My room on the lower floor had a good private patio.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filipe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alayahotels, General Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear Filipe N,

Greetings from Alaya Resort Ubud.

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write review on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to craft memorable experience for you. Thank you as well for the compliments you gave on the service dan the facilities offered.

I do hope you have a memorable experience until you left our resorts and this paradise island of Bal as well as having the pleasure to welcome you back in the future and certainly hope that your next stay will be as enjoyable as your previous one.

Best regards,


Dewi Mas, CHA, CHT
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We were accommodated in ground floor Paddy field overlooking room. For family with one child, arranged extra bed in the room. conveniently located in Ubud Center. Coco super market and Monkey forest were nearby. We stayed for four nights and had overall excellent memories. We utilised Dala spa for Java lulur and facial massage for two. Also utilised onsite restaurants for dinner. Breakfast was complementary.

Room Tip: Ground floor overlooking paddy field near to lobby should be good for long stay. Rooms are quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank europe42_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alayahotels, General Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear europe42_2014,

Greetings from Alaya Resort Ubud.

I am very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Alaya Resort Ubud. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I am so honored that we met your expectation and you enjoyed our resort and its facilities. Thank you also for highlighted our Dala SPA.

Once again thank you for sharing your review with other travelers on TripAdvisor and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit.

Best regards,

Dewi Mas, CHA, CHT
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 km away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.8 km away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.2 km away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 199 in Ubud
767 reviews
4.9 km away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.1 km away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#12 of 199 in Ubud
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaya Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaya Resort Ubud

Address: Jalan Hanoman, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#37 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $155 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alaya Resort Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Ubud, Alaya Resort Ubud meets the needs of international travelers as a modern interpretation of Bali’s local building culture through the combination of indigenous materials, imbued with the essence of ancient Ubud. It features 60 tastefully-appointed rooms, Petani restaurant specialising in cuisine from around the Indonesian archipelago and award-winning DaLa Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Fastbooking, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alaya Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaya Resort Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing