We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely -but not for everyone” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alam Jiwa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Jiwa
Ranked #50 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lovely -but not for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed here for four nights. We booked through their own website and got prompt and fast replies throughout.
The staff is their best asset and the breakfast comes close second.
The shuttle service is irreplaceable.
We loved the outdoor shower and space in the Jatayu room.
The hotel was fully booked while we were there, so I'd advice to book early.

A word of warning though. This hotel is not for people who do not appreciate nature and the outdoors. We had ants in our laptop and on our breakfast table. We had frogs, mosquitoes and small lizards in our bathroom every morning, noon and night. We heard squawking all through the night, listened to something run on our roof at night and found gekko droppings on the floor in the mornings.
But we did NOT mind. It is all a part of this hotel experience and it really gives you a wonderful feeling of being in the heart of Bali.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sinppu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    77
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
151
240
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
241 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

One of the best hotels we've stayed at across the world. Wonderful rooms, nice pool, friendly people. If it happens to rain (and it will) spend the time in the pool. Great grounds, and walks, and a pleasant walk into Ubud (don't let the monkeys scare you, and don't feed them or you'll never be rid of them.) It helped that we arrived the evening of Tawur Kesanga, the day before Nyepi, the Balinese Day of Atonement, their New Year's Day. The drive from the airport took two hours instead of 30 minutes, as we had to go through dozens of villages, each with a ceremonial parade of ...well, I'll review it elsewhere. You can't go out on the day of Atonement, and no-one is allowed to work. The hotel owner was very apologetic, and delivered our day's food to the room, and we spent a pleasant day by the pool. Apparently some visitors have complained in the past. My wife and I thought it was wonderful, and the evening's journey the most interesting two hours we've ever spent.

Room Tip: They're all good. Large cottages each have two suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
111 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Better late than never… My wife and I just noticed that the review we wrote about the hotel we liked the most of our April 2011 trip to Bali had not been published (I must have made a bubu when I sent it).
Because we feel that the Alam Jiwa hotel in Ubud should get the publicity it deserves we will here proceed to review it again.
After out first stay in Ubud ( Saren Indah Hotel and Cendana Resort) we traveled to Amed where we stayed for 3 nights (separate review). Because we found it a bit less interesting and far from everything we decided to return to central Ubud.
Located in the best part of Ubud just south of Monkey Forest the Alam Jiwa hotel is located right above a fabulous ravine. Our beautifully furnished room was located at the second floor of one of several small buidings with a marvelous view of the forest, a singing stream below and a large rice paddy on the opposite side. It had a canopied bed and a small fridge with lots of bottles of drinking water.
This small hotel had real magic; very quiet, it led to meditation and tranquility. The ample terrace had seats, a small table where 2 young men served us breakfast every morning and a couch to lay on and enjoy the marvelous environment an peace.
The bathroom was very large and well appointed, it had all the amenities including bathrobes.
The hotel has a nice pool where we were served a complementary afternoon tea with home made cake while we took a refreshing dive after a very warm and tiring day.
All the staff without exception was extremely kind and helpful. As most hotels located in this area of Ubud, they provided free transportation to the downtown area and back, although we rarely used it preferring to walk to it through monkey forest.
All together, of the three different hotels we stayed at in Ubud this one would definitely be the one we would stay at if we ever return.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jose-Anita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

My partner and I spent 4 nights in the Garuda room which featured an amazing bathroom (partly open), huge and clean room and a stunning veranda over looking the rice padi fields.

Excellent breakfast and awesome afternoon tea & cake.

The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly.

Really impressed with the shuttle service into Ubud given that the hotel is a 10min drive away. Also provided us with a driver for $25 to Seminyak (an hour and half drive away).

Best service I've ever experienced, especially for the price. Would definitely return, it's paradise.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

This hotel is lovely, with friendly and efficient staff and gorgeous rooms set in a peaceful jungle setting. The breakfast was yummy, we took it each day on our top balcony with a view to the rice paddies. You feel very close to nature here. Our room had a few little 'quirks' eg. hot and cold water taps were reversed, the lighting was fairly dim and the switches hidden in different locations, also the ground floor rooms were a little dark. But the location, staff and view made up for it. Lovely pool, free internet, free shuttle to and from the hotel any time before 10pm, and the afternoon tea and cake were delicious. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Recommend top rooms with view to rice fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

My partner took me to Ubud for my 50th birthday. We spent 5 nights in Alam Jiwa and could have stayed many more. The place, people and location were beautiful. Our room was large, clean, private and surrounded by a stream and a beautiful garden and overlooked rice paddies. Each morning after having an outdoor shower (wonderful), we had our breakfast on the verandah, listening to the birds and the sounds of the birds being shooed from the rice paddies. Coffee and cake was available throughout the day and delivered to our verandah. I can't thank the people who work here enough for what was a magical birthday gift.

Room Tip: We were shown other rooms which were just as lovely as the room we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenO129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We have been going to Bali since 1997 and Alam Indah and its sister hotel Alam Jiwa are our favorite places to stay. The hotels are built in traditional Balinese style and are set in beautiful surroundings. Staff are very helpful and attentive and the location is close enough to town to walk but far enough away that you feel removed and more isolated than the places in town. We have stayed with our baby and without and find both hotels to be great each time. We think these hotels provide the best value in all of Bali.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 km away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#58 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
1.6 km away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.4 km away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#51 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#49 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
3.3 km away
Natura Resort and Spa
Natura Resort and Spa
#105 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
3.8 km away
Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Property: Alam Jiwa
Address: Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#45 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Jiwa 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing