We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ubud Sari Health Resort
Ranked #134 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Met expectation”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Had to share my review of the Ubud Sari as have stayed twice in 2 years & got a bit angry reading some of the others. For goodness sake people this is not a 5 star resort and it seems that some of you want a whole lot for a whole little money. The Ubud Sari is a very basic amenity where you go to relax, detox and heal. It has a raw food restaurant but most people staying are fasting/detoxing. The food at the restaurant is fantastic for easing onto and coming off a fast or having a week where no rubbish is put in your body.

If you want to eat heaps of processed food or local produce.. there is a Starbucks up the lane and a whole bunch of very, very good local restaurants at your doorstep. Take a walk. If you don't want to pay $7 for your basic Yoga class in the morning, once again, take a walk to the Yoga barn and pay a bit more for a world class facility and teacher experience. It's a beautiful 25 min walk from the Ubud Sari and in the cool of the morning at 6am - you can take in Ubud as it wakes up. Very Zen.

The "treatments" such as reflexology and deep tissue are BRILLIANT if you consider the cost. Not sure what you pay in your countries but in Australia, I pay $95 for a massage at Manusa Day Spa in Fremantle, which doesn't even come close to the $15 massages at the Sari. So, align your expectations to the price you are paying and just relax into the Ubud way of life.

If you want 5 star, a tv, a fridge & non-rustic/organic surrounds & chirpy western-trained staff with big fake smiles ... go to the Four Seasons and pay for it.

p.s. Yani the colonics nurse is one of the lovliest people I ever met and worth her weight in gold.

Room Tip: No, because I want it available for me! But some are definately nicer than others so check it out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Milli_J65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    51
    23
    9
    12
See reviews for
9
46
73
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

i only stayed in the spa that belongs to this hotel. the spa looks run down. the treatment was really lousy. i ordered 2 hours massage and scrub. the massage was terribly superficial consisting of basic strokes. the scrub was no scrub. just applying the scrub and hardly scrubbing. clearly the masseur didn't feel like working. so the treatment ended after 1 hour and 20 minutes (includiing shower after).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerald1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Ubud Sari is a gorgeous gem north of the main road. Staff was welcoming when I arrived, and my room was very spacious with a patio door that opened out to a small ravine and lush greenery. I loved the breakfast they provided with the room. The food at the restaurant was the highlight of my stay there. The zucchini pasta is divine!

Spa amenities are also included, steam/sauna. There is a yoga class daily in the morning (a small additional charge) that is good for beginners, more of a hatha class. They grow a lot of their own produce and the gardens have a lot of cute spots to hang out, read, relax. Overall, highly recommended if you are in ubud for relaxing/detoxing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank losAngelesgirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Sweet and tranquil. Most fasters aren't eating, so the restaurant is a quiet place away from traffic. It's a little old and tatty, but sweet. The herb garden is nice

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth, wa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

The staff are friendly, the treatments and services were great. Not fit for a princess, but I'm a rustic traveller. I loved my bungalow made of natural woods and overlooking a gorgeous waterfall and pool. I do recommend a solo trip. They limit the creature comforts, like 'tv' but there is wifi in the lobby and there's a lot to do around ubud. You receive a program with your weeks activities planned out. A lot of the day is taken up by treatments but there is still time for shopping and other activities around ubud but not enough time to do activities out of ubud, like the zoo or water park etc.

Room Tip: Zen illa's are wonderful, Zen Villa 8 was sensational. Zen Villa 7 is closer to the lobby but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank soulseacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I'm a bit torn in my review of the place. Some things were great, others not so much. I did a two week retreat and it probably wasn't the right thing for me in the end. Other people who I was there with did find it to be a great positive experience.
On the up side, the resort is almost self sufficient in growing much of its produce for its raw menu. The service in the restaurant is excellent, always fast to order, things take a little while to prepare but thats because it's all fresh! They could use a new blender to improve the quality of the smoothies, but the juices are excellent and the variety of raw delicious food is amazing.
The program is not individualised and is drawn up without any consultation with you. Which, I guess is fine if all you want to do is spend 24/7 at the resort. They are flexible with swapping some treatments out if you find you do not like something.
The "therapeutic" treatments (Deep tissue and Shiatsu) were excellent. The others, being the majority depend on the staff and often end up being the same strokes up and down your back without purpose for an hour. I had a bad experience with both the hot stone and the herbal compression massage where items where placed onto my body (and pressed in), that were way to hot and burnt! There is not a system to ensure a maximum safe heat.
The yoga was entirely disappointing. More of a gentle morning stretch then a yoga class. The teacher goes through the same stretches and movements in the same order each morning. Not worth doing or paying for if you have an actual interest in practising yoga.
The resort uses alot of plastic water bottles (ie; you are given about 6-7 a day). It would be great to see reusable bottles given and refilling stations.
The nurses that did the colonics were really good and you felt comfortable (as much as you can be :)), and relax in their care. Both are long term employee's.
Most of the staff seem to be long term employed, I mean at least 5 years and going up to 15 when the centre first started. So, on a good note, I assume the conditions of employment are fair and rewarding to the staff.
The accommodation was very simple, but I found it quite nice. Lots of water around = lots of bugs but the staff light candles and other anti bug gear to try and keep the bites at bay. A nice touch is the staff who come in the evening to "turn down" the bed, turn your light on and pull the mosquito netting around the bed. The room I was in had a comfortable bed, lots of pillows but the nets where dirty and with holes which allowed the bugs to get it. A nearby roosters also started it's calling between 3 and 4 am - so pack ear plugs! The balcony I had in the Zen villa was a nice way to hang out and start the morning or end the evening.
I found the program to restrictive, with stuff I didn't want to do and not enough time to do the things I did. For me, it was also a long walk to go to alternative yoga. If you want a week out, to totally organised and not have to do anything then roll out of bed, this might be for you.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mcmacca83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aus
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We moved from Honeymoon Guest House II to Ubud Sari and the ambience was totally opposite to Honeymoon II. Utterly peaceful with beautiful vegetable and herb gardens with a nice pool situated next to a small “waterfall”. We had a river room with a balcony and each night staff would come in and turn down our beds, switch on the mossie coil and drape the bed with nets. Then I did a four day “wellness” program which helped me to detox from the food and drink that I’d imbibed prior, during and after our wedding celebration and was moved to a Zen villa room overlooking the waterfall – the room was beautiful with its own small balcony, garden and fishpond. I was given healthy drinks, salad and soup with plenty of water. I did meditation every day which was interspersed with yoga and a host of treatments that left me looking and feeling a million dollars but didn’t cost the earth. I would highly recommend a stay here and have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank soobooAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 km away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#54 of 196 in Ubud
487 reviews
0.8 km away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#117 of 196 in Ubud
329 reviews
1.5 km away
Royal Villa Jepun
Royal Villa Jepun
#111 of 196 in Ubud
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Pertiwi Bisma 2
Pertiwi Bisma 2
#108 of 196 in Ubud
190 reviews
1.5 km away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 196 in Ubud
598 reviews
1.6 km away
Inata Bisma Resort & Spa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubud Sari Health Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubud Sari Health Resort

Property: Ubud Sari Health Resort
Address: Kajeng St. no. 35, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#104 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ubud Sari Health Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ubud Sari Health Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Sari Health Hotel Ubud
Ubud Sari Health Spa
Ubud Sari Health Resort Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing