We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Sayan House”
Review of The Sayan House

The Sayan House
Ranked #43 of 828 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$19
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Sayan House RESTAURANT offers a Japanese-Latin Fusion cuisine. The Chef has used his world-wide experiences of tastes and cooking to unify them in his plates, giving traditional dishes a new look and flavour. In the open-air environment of our home, you may enjoy an elegant yet cozy dining experience in various settings: - Two main dining areas hosting up to 70 seats namely the Dining Room and Veranda. The latter unveils an exceptionally stunning view of Sayan from the edge of its Cliff, overlooking the Ayung river and gorge. - We furthermore provide a private dining space, The Guest Room, which seats up to 10 people. - Lastly, a Teppanyaki grill table with a specially selected menu is available for 7 seats, where our Chef prepares each dish to perfection in front of you. The Sayan House BAR also specializes in beverages - offering a wide selection of drinks from the house's own signature cocktails, wine, to premium whiskey brands. We ensure the quality of our homemade beverages by using only the freshest ingredients. Our bar encompasses three main areas: 1. The main House Pub 2. The first-floor Garden Room where you can enjoy the garden view and gentle breeze, and 3. The Living Room at the second-floor mezzanine, a place to sit back and relax while having a good glass of cocktail or whiskey.
Reviewed 14 May 2015

Our first night in Ubud for nearly twelve years and we booked into this wonderful little restaurant perched above the river, overlooking the valley. Superb food, the Indonesian version of Fritto Misto was pronounced fantastic and I have to say it looked it, my seaweed risotto with accompanying fresh wasabi was stunning. Herself pronounced the pork spare ribs as sweet and succulent and a first for her and my wagyu beef rendang in penne pasta was an inspired mix of true asian flavours with a modern twist. Deserts were a chocolate semi-freddo and some wonderful ice cream. Service with a smile, a chat with Sous-Chef and a super view rounded off what was a great night would definitely come back here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesayanhouse, The Sayan House Team at The Sayan House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Hy Peter

We are so happy that you and your wife really enjoy our dish. and specially for " Australian Wagyu Rendang Penne" is our new signature dish.
We would love to welcome you and your wife for your next visit. Our door will be always yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 372 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2015 via mobile

A wonderful restaurant serving fusion asian dishes.. We ordered the salmon carpaccio, avocado and shrimp sushi, lamb cutlet and apple pie for dessert = all above average! Will definitely give another visit.

2  Thank Marco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesayanhouse, The Sayan House Team at The Sayan House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Thank you so much Marco.

You are always welcome to The Sayan House.
We are very happy to read your kind remark.
Hope fully we still have a chance to welcome you so you could experience our other dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2015 via mobile

Great food, excellent service and a stunning.setting. Another fabulous meal in ubud. The wife and I enjoyed this restaurant and its asian fusion cuisine. Strong japanese flavours but with a European twist, foie gras nigiri? yes please, wagyu steak with soy glaze and wasabi? Don't mind if I do. We also had a good conversation with the chef dewa who was just a lovely guy and clearly loves his fusion food. Would certainly go back and would definitely recommend to anyone else going to ubud.

1  Thank eddyandsophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesayanhouse, Owner at The Sayan House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

Dear EddyandSophie,

Thank you for this lovely review, which says everything what makes us really happy. Thank you so much for visiting our restaurant and hope to see you soon again at The Sayan House. Ps, Dewa says hi as and thank you for the compliments :).

The Sayan House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2015

One of the best meals I've enjoyed in a long time...and I eat out a lot!

Sayan House is tucked away behind Ubud in an deep valley overlooking lush jungle, about 10mins drive from the main hustle. (Make sure you get a driver to drop and pick-up as there's not much around)
The interior was beautifully comfortable and unpretentious and the attention to detail was "fine dining" without the cost. A terrace opens out onto the stunning view, you just can't help being swept up in the romance of this beautiful place.

Our wait-staff were fantastic; perfect in their mix of friendly and professional and we felt special, like we were the only diners. Great and inexpensive wine list too.

All this said, the food was the star......truly spectacular. A delicate mix of Japanese, western with a touch of Indo, every dish had us silent in awe. The Head Chef Yuki definitely knows what he's doing and a lovely man too!

This was a fine dining experience for half the price you'd pay in Sydney or London and I urge you to visit for a long peaceful lunch or romantic dinner. Fantastic!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank LouLoumorrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesayanhouse, Owner at The Sayan House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

Dear LouLoumorrant,

Wow, what a great review!! Thank you so much! We have shared your review with our staff and everybody was happy to hear you had a great evening. On behalf of our whole team, terima kasih banyak and we hope to see you soon at The Sayan House again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2015 via mobile

Food was great. Reasonably priced. Service was great. Would recommend to anyone visiting Ubud and looking for a great dining experience. The place is a little hidden. Look for the small entry only minutes from Four Seasons Hotel.

2  Thank Ricochete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesayanhouse, Owner at The Sayan House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

Dear Ritchie T,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed all the aspects of The Sayan House. We admit, we are a little bit hidden in Ubud, but we are definitely are working on it. Hope to welcome you again at The Sayan House anytime soon!

The Sayan House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Sayan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing