We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveller rating
459
63
17
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
459
63
17
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool monkey forest stunning hotel bedroom villa jungle view egg station large balcony the main street a la carte breakfast our honeymoon jalan bisma late check perfect stay welcome drink recommend staying here special thanks visiting ubud
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 544 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2018

First off I'd like to thank all the staff at Goya Boutique Resort for an absolutely amazing stay. To you whom are considering staying there, just do it. It is a bit more expensive than other hotels or resorts nearby but you will not be dissapointed one bit.

Me and my fiancé stayed here in late september, beginning of october 2018. I would just like to say that I would recommend this hotel as a couple's hotel rather than a family hotel but with that said they have excellent service provided for children aswell. That includes childrens menus in the restaurants as well as some kind of childcare.
The reason I do recommend it to couples over families is that I think you will be able to enjoy the hotel to a bigger extent as a couple, and maybe not as much as a family with small children.

Check in
To start with the check-in service is perfect. If your room isn't ready when you arrive, they will take care of your luggage and welcome you at the restaurant with a welcoming drink and fresh fruit of the season. They will make sure you are absolutely comfortable.

Facilities
The rooms are spotless. A comfortly large room with balcony and a very nice bathroom. The beds are absolutely the most comfortable beds I've had at a hotel, and the linnens are just heavenly. The pictures doesn't do the rooms justice, they are far better than you could expect.

The restaurant is beatiful and is just by the pool so you get the same beautiful view as you get from the infinitypool.

The pool is about 20m long (60ft?) and 4-5m wide. It is an infinitypool which means you get the view towards the "jungle" of Ubud straight from the pool. There are about 20 sunbeds with fresh towels available every day. You can also get food, drinks or anything else served to the pool from the restaurant which isn't more than 10m away.

Service
This is probably the hotels absolutely gemstone. You quickly realize the staff love their job, and are well taken care of by their managers.
The staff is incredible.. When ordering food, they always repeat your order to make sure it's correct. They always make sure you have everything you need and what I appreciated even more is that they take time to learn your names and chat with you whenever they and you have a minute over, for example right after a meal.

Food
The breakfast is an a la carte menu, and I assure you it is amongs the best breakfasts there is. We tried different food almost every day and ended up ordering more and more every time. We highly recommend the Dragon fruit smoothiebowl and the frenchtoast.. as well as the croissants which are freshly made, warm and crunchy on the surface + soft on the inside.. This is just perfection.
The lunch is amazing aswell, we can just recommend the Chicken Tikka panini...
Dinner .. well you can probably guess..

Activities
We did a ricefield valley tracking with Chigana and we can highly recommend this. You get to see the "real" Bali with market, we also got to visit his house & family shortly and then see the incredible risefields.
You get free yoga for 1h in a group on wednesdays and saturdays and we went for yoga both times we could. It was so relaxing and a good instructor who understood we were about as flexible as a refridgerator, but helped us so much (it is a beginners class/session so don't worry).

All and all I hope you go there, you will not regret it. We stayed 6 nights and just wish we would've stayed there longer. Most people will stay there about 3-4 nights but you will just regret you didn't stay longer.
I would go back there in a heartbeat if I had the chance.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sihing B, Manajer Umum at Goya Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2018

Dear Christian L,

Greetings from Goya Boutique Resort.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your long great review on your recent stay at Goya. It is with customer feedback that we are able to assess our level of performance and identify areas of improvement. We really appreciate your long positive review about great check in experience, high level of customer service from the staff member, amazing free flow of breakfast, spotless comfort room with large balcony facing to jungle view, stunning and breathtaking view from the swimming pool and not to forget about authentic experience of village and rice fields trekking. I have shared your specific comment addressed to Cigana one of our butlers, he is so grateful to know that his hard effort has been recognized well by our valued guest like yourself.

Thank you once again for your recommendation for Goya as one of the preferred resorts on the Island. We would love to welcome your goodself and your fiance back to our resort when you plan to visit Bali in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Budi Sihing
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

The Goya Boutique Hotel is a little slice of heaven in ubud. A little off the beaten path but still in the center of town this hotel is elegant and charming as are the staff that strive to offer their guests the best experience possible. We stayed in a pool villa which was stunning. This a small hotel with a large heart with sunset views of Mt. Agung. The Balinese cooking class and a spa treatment is not to be missed. Thank you Cigana for being our cultural guide at the Water Temple.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sihing B, Manajer Umum at Goya Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Dear Carol S,

Greetings from Goya Boutique Resort.

"Slice of Heaven", it is indeed a great choice of word for Goya and we also feel so happy that we exceeded your expectations in general during your stay with us. Thank you for your positive comment on the resort location, stunning villa, beautiful view of Sunset, great experience of cooking class and Spa.

Your specific comment addressed to Cigana one of our butlers is really appreciated, he would be so grateful to know that his hard effort has been recognized well by our valued guest like yourself, I am very happy to know that you enjoyed the authentic experience of Ubud.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and sharing your wonderful experience, we do strive to ensure that we exceed our guest’s expectations in all areas. We all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming both of you back to Goya Boutique Resort in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Budi Sihing
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2018

We decided to take trip with our daughter to Bali on short notice. After having done Ubud twice (we stayed at Maya Ubud and Kayumanis) I wanted something different. Como Uma was my first choice but they do not accommodate 3 pax in Terrace room. On arrival at Goya, I was underwhelmed. The pool was small and the villa ground was smaller than Kayumanis'. However, day by day, I grew to appreciate and enjoy the experience much more.
What's outstanding:-quality furnishings in room, great view and breakfast in gazebo, lovely sunset view, singer/guitarist playing at poolside on Sat evening, friendly and attentive service
What you should know:-limited deckchair seating by poolside, one restaurant for all meals, poolside is the only place to spend time outside of room/villa
What should be improved:-the loud elevator landing bell disturbs the peace and tranquility at poolside.
I would recommend Goya for couples who enjoy smallish resorts with high ground view, as well as like to have walking accessibility to town centre.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank normad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sihing B, Manajer Umum at Goya Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Dear Normad88,

Greetings from Goya Boutique Resort.

Really appreciate for choosing the Island as your prefered destination for your holiday, especially Ubud as your second home.

Thank you for your consideration to stay at Goya on this occasion and we are all very happy to know that you had an enjoyable experience, Your kind words and great comment about the beautiful resort, perfect hotel location, lovely sunset view, great breakfast and excellent service from all staff are really appreciated. In Goya, we merge between the luxury home feeling and the genuine spirit of Balinese touch, it is a fusion of outer and inner beauty.

I was very concerned to read your constructive feedback on the limited deckchair at poolside and the loud landing bell of elevator, we will look into these opportunities and do some improvement and thank you for your highlight on this area.

Rest assured thank you for sharing your another experience of Ubud, we do strive to ensure that we exceed our guest’s expectations in all areas. We all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming both of you back to Goya Boutique Resort in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Budi Sihing
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here 6 nights and it was amazing, best place we’ve ever stayed. From the first greeting all the way through the staff make the effort to speak to you and get to know you during your stay. What really impressed me was their Whatsapp service - it allows you to book any treatments, taxis etc with the hotel and always with a speedy response. We stayed in a villa with the private pool which was more expensive but worth every penny. Coming back from walking around to a dip in the pool was perfect, or even our morning and midnight swims! The infinity pool for the hotel was also stunning and definitely the best views you can get in Ubud, so much natural wildlife. The pool beds were also nice and eating over the gazebo. The food in the restaurant is brilliant and we did a cooking course there and the chefs were pros, super friendly and informative. The head chef also took the time out to come see us after and introduce us to some food he was going to launch and asking our opinions. Also had a chat before we left and said they’re happy to stay in touch if we have any cooking questions on Indonesian food and want any recipes!

Location wise it’s the perfect spot- 15 minute walk to the monkey forest, 10 minutes to central Ubud and some really nice restaurants and bars within that distance as well as temples. The stunning ridge walk was also only a 15 minute walk away.

We had 2 full body massages at the spa and the same people both time round which for my other half who had some back issues was great and they also provided some recommendations and exercises to help him improve his pain points.

Overall, if you’re considering a hotel in Ubud and want amazing relaxation and food, as well as being a stones through from the busy centre, Goya is a fantastic hotel!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jaz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sihing B, Manajer Umum at Goya Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2018

Dear Jaz P,

Greetings from Goya Boutique Resort.

Thank you for choosing Goya as your home away from home during your holiday on the Island. We are all here very happy to know that you had an Excellent experience at Goya. We keep listening to our valued guests, we learned from them and do our utmost to bring our promises on both products and services quality. We want our guests to have an authentic experience while they are staying with us and thank you for your kind words about the whole experience, from arriving throughout the stay and great memory you bring home with you.

Thank you for your specific comment about our Chef who did his utmost to ensure you had an experience of local cuisine, he would be so grateful that his great effort has been recognized well by our valued guest like yourself.

Your recommendation for Goya as one of the preferred resorts on the Island is really appreciated and we all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming both of you back to Goya Boutique Resort in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Budi Sihing
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

Visited Goya for a relaxing 5 day break and it exceeded our expectations.
Friendly staff who were willing to look after all your needs. Serene environment great place to escape the hectic everyday work life back home. Will definitely be back.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MMer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews