We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, nice location, but has seen better days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bidakara Grand Savoy Homann Bandung
Ranked #62 of 226 Hotels in Bandung
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Clean, nice location, but has seen better days”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

I stayed there for 4 nights with a friend. The hotel was being renovated but I wasn't sure which part was involved. My first impression of the room was that it was nice, clean and the beds were comfortable. There was a kettle, no iron. The tea and coffee packets were not very interesting.
Bathroom was ok but I found the position of the toilet paper a bit strange, a bit hard to reach from that angle. The furniture and finishing looked tired and exhausted(!). But overall it was ok.

No wi-fi in the room.
VERY, very difficult to get signal even after I went outside the room. Very frustrating. Big minus point here.

The breakfast was so-so. They offer the same items every day and I got bored the first day. Am supposed to go to Bandung again soon am seriously considering another hotel.

The staff were pleasant and accommodating.
Location- close to Pasar Baru (the shopping market). The 'beca' can take you there for USD1-2.
They also provide free shuttle to the airport, nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nazda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    145
    81
    12
    8
See reviews for
86
68
11
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Yes the building is being renovated and yes many of the staff are trying to make the best of it, but the current Savoy Homann hotel is not worth the 4* rating they seem to have. Or the prices you have to pay if you stay, drink or eat there. The bar is an empty shell without character or customers and the remainder of the ground floor and lobby is continuously being taken over by escapees from the many conferences being held there. Although the artists impressions of what the future lobby area will look like at some time in the future, would strongly suggest you book elsewhere and wait until that becomes a reality.
Or until they drop their prices substantially!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelfan1Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoyhomannbidakara, Manager at Hotel Bidakara Grand Savoy Homann Bandung, responded to this review, 8 September 2016
Dear Mr/Mrs.
Warmest greeting from the Savoy Homann Bidakara Hotel!

We are very honored that you have chosen our hotel for your trip.
We apologize for any inconvenience about the room. Hopefully for the next stay you will enjoy and there is no problem anymore.
Once again, thank you for choosing Savoy Homann Bidakara Hotel.
Have a great day and see you soon at Savoy Homann Bidakara Hotel.

Best Regards,



Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bandung hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

I've been staying at this hotel since I was 2 years old if I can recalled it correctly. Savoy Homann is one of the hotel that has old-school art deco architecture inside it and they were so good in maintaining it. last time i stayed here got the newly renovated room but i was not sure with which part of the wing is that. i heard from several friends and people who stayed here they got the room that has not been renovated so it still has this old roomy dated so i am guessing not all rooms at Savoy Homann are renovated. nevertheless, this historical hotel still retains its impeccable services. easy check in and check outs. the swimming pool is sort of out dated but still clean and comfortable. breakfast is another thing to enjoy but mostly i would not call it grandeur. in the heart of Bandung and its close to attraction nearby.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelingmadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Junior Suite room is very spacious. Check in and check out was really quick. They also provide you with wide spread of breakfast choices. Staff was really welcoming and helpful. It's also centrally located hotel, which makes you could easily reach various destination.

During our stay, we asked them to fix antena connection for cable tv, so that we could have clearer image on watching it. However, they were to lazy to change the cable and only said that it happens oftenly for some television channel, and it's not their mistake but tv operator. Later on, we bought scotch tape and manage to bend the cable a bit which gave us clearer image on tv. So, it shows their low standard of maintenance. Watter pressure for shower at the 3rd floor is not good either, very weak.

Room Tip: Room which facing to Jalan Asia Africa is noisy due to road traffic. But, it provides you with a ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OQ_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Bandung is second only to Florida in housing some of the most important Tropical Art Deco buildings in the world. Please research this before visiting if you like architecture.

The Grand Preanger is more polished than the Homann, and retains its deco charm, but the Homann has the edge in terms of historical importance. Visit the Asia Afrika museum across the road to see the part the Homann played.

The food here is mediocre, and the staff are very sweet, but occasionally a little limited. The hotel was undergoing renovation at the time of this review.

The dining hall is something special.

The preanger has the edge for polish, quality, and comfort, but if you are an architecture fan, the Homann is the pick of the two.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We had a short, two-night stay in January 2012. Saw a cheap fare through Agoda and jumped at the chance to stay in a local landmark - around $60/night AUD.

Evidently the bargain fares at the moment are because of the renovations taking place at the front of the hotel (this was not noisy), and the rooms, which are looking a little worse for wear.

Nonetheless, all the facilities you would expect of a major hotel are present - the shower had good water pressure, and the included breakfast was decent. We also had a mini bar, gym, loads of satellite channels, etc.

Location-wise, it is handy for the large shopping centre around the alun-alun and Jl. Braga, with restaurants and bars. We had a free lift back to the train station with their friendly staff.

We had a pretty pleasant stay, but the hotel was showing its age - although the exterior is impressive, successive renovations inside have not reflected this.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timg231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

This must be a very nice and glamorous venue back in the old days. Still proudly promoting an elegant european design and placed strategically near the colonial building block, now it is hardly catching up with the comfort of latest 3 star boutique hotels. Everything were slightly below standard, from the pillow puffiness to bathroom cleanlines. However, we find the staffs were very helpfull and friendly, that kind of straightening all the tension. But we surely will explore other accomodation alternatives that is more likely match with the price next time.

Room Tip: Try to book the legendary suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiewei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandung hotels
0.2 km away
Prama Grand Preanger
Prama Grand Preanger
#28 of 226 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Royal Panghegar
Grand Royal Panghegar
#33 of 226 in Bandung
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.1 km away
Ibis Styles Bandung Braga
Ibis Styles Bandung Braga
#31 of 226 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Gino Feruci Braga Hotel
Gino Feruci Braga Hotel
#54 of 226 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.6 km away
Golden Flower
Golden Flower
#27 of 226 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.6 km away
Aston Braga Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bidakara Grand Savoy Homann Bandung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bidakara Grand Savoy Homann Bandung

Property: Hotel Bidakara Grand Savoy Homann Bandung
Address: Jln. Asia Afrika No. 112, Bandung 40261, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 226 Hotels in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bidakara Grand Savoy Homann Bandung 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bidakara Grand Savoy Homann Bandung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing