We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go here if you are not a camper...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bogor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
GG House - Happy Valley
Ranked #22 of 57 Bogor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 September 2015

A very simple guest house, the wildlife in our bedrooms were gekko's, ants and mosquitos. There were holes in the sheets. The view was nice, but for the rest it was not good standard. The food was eatable, simple breakfast. In september you might just visit the dollmaker in Bogor, the botanical garden was dry and no flowers. If we had known about the hotel standard we would have pushed on to Bandung instead of staying the night here.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2015 via mobile

We arrived after a long flight from Amsterdam. First a visit to the old harbour of Jakarta and a drink at Café Batavia. We arrived in the dark. Welcome drink and very friendly staff. The rooms are simple and realy need to be renovated. Dinner is very good, breakfast is poor. Made a lovely trip through the kampong and ricefields. The view is breathtaking. Great for a one or two night visit.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Rays68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

The place is really really ok. Nothing special, but quite social with its outside area.
Wifi is pretty good for bali. Breakfast not included and varies between 15.000 (toast) and i think about 60.000 for big breakfast. Which is like a little more than1 euro and 4.
Rooms are ok, beds are noisy because of the bamboo frame.
Thereis one "middle room" through which you walk to another room but it has also beds in it: so you might want to ask not to stay in this room if you're a light sleeper.
Also I had that somebody 'reserved' the bottom bed, so if you want to choose where you sleep: apparantly you can!
Location is allright, on a quite peaceful street, but still a 5 min walk to the ubud palace and the beginning of the big street.
Shower is really bad though, cant wash your hair properly there... No water power at all and it was cold most of the time.
No lockers in the room though and there are no keys for the door, everything is open. You can hire a small locker though for the important stuff.

Still I think its one of the better hostels in Ubud. I liked in the lodge better though! (Same owner).

Wifi is quite allrigh, but not everywhere as strong. Also if you want to skype, the places where wifi is the best (around bar area) there is loud music...

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fleur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

This hotel is based just outside Bogor. It has a beautiful garden which is very well maintained. I hoped they would have done the same with the rooms. The rooms are not clean, thin matrass, very old bathroom, broken lights etc. There I no air-conditioning. You can't close the windows fully which brings quite some noise into the room from the river and the mosque early morning. The breakfast consist of slices of roasts white bread with jam and nasi. The staff is extremely friendly. But after a 14 hour flight and a year of hard work this was quite a disappointment.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank chiel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2015

We only stayed here for one night, which might have been enough anyway. The view from the room was absolutely amazing. A great valley with sawa's and one huge river that is extremely loud. You can't hear yourself think, it's so loud. It is definitely worth it, especially for such a short stay.
We had no problems sleeping because the noise subsides quite a bit when you close the door. It is just a bit louder than an average ac. Breakfast and dinner were good.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophievg1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2014 via mobile

Quiet, relaxing and happy people. There people who speak english, at least they understand you. Also there is a man who understands dutch and can talk a little as well. The restaurant/garden is really relaxing, there are pretty birds too. Not a lot of choice when it comes to breakfast. Only bread with jam and nasi/bami. In the weekends the road to the hotel is pretty much closed because of traffic in the direction of puncak. At our room, the river was loud. After one day you will be used to it. The swimming pool is amazing. Nice, paradise look. All kinds of insects around there tho.. We enjoyed our stay!

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in mid-September ‘14. It has some very positive features, but there are shortcomings as well.

The hotel is in a beautiful setting overlooking a river and agricultural fields. If a quiet getaway is your goal this might be a good choice, but if your purpose is to experience the core of Bogor, be aware that this property is on the outskirts and at least a ½ drive to the center, through Bogor’s typically horrendous traffic. There is little of interest near the hotel, and although there are several restaurants not too far away, it would be a very unpleasant walk along a busy and unattractive street. Fortunately we had a car and driver, and we were able to go out for dinner (we recommend Raffles, about a mile away – attractive setting, good food, and very friendly service).

GG consists of several buildings arrayed down an attractively landscaped hillside. The reception/dining room is at the top and the rooms are in several buildings down the hill, with a very pretty pool at the bottom. The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful.

Our room (106) was large with a very pleasant balcony overlooking the valley. There were two twin beds with one night stand between them, a side chair and table, desk, and armoire. The tiled bathroom was large with a shower and there was adequate counter space. Wifi worked well. At one time this was a very attractive room, with interesting built-in features, such as stained-glass sidelight windows around the doorway to the balcony. However, it now is desperately in need of upgrading and redecorating. For example, there was a cigarette burn in one of the bed coverlets, the mattresses sagged, the bed box springs had no cover and the fabric was frayed and dirty, the pillows were lumpy and flat, the bed linens and bath towels were dingy and threadbare, there was only cold water in the bathroom sink, the toilet tissue holder came apart at the slightest touch, and the shower fixtures were rusted. It seemed the owners have given much more attention to the outside areas of the hotel than to the rooms.

Other reviewers have criticized the breakfast offerings, and although we found it sparse it was certainly adequate and the patio setting was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NaMakani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogor hotels
7 km away
Novotel Bogor Golf Resort and Convention Center
5.5 km away
R Hotel Rancamaya
R Hotel Rancamaya
#2 of 78 in Bogor
668 reviews
8.8 km away
Aston Bogor Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Royal Tulip Gunung Geulis Resort and Golf
10.3 km away
Zest Hotel Bogor
Zest Hotel Bogor
#11 of 78 in Bogor
189 reviews
11.2 km away
Hostel Bogor
Hostel Bogor
#1 of 52 in Bogor
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GG House - Happy Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GG House - Happy Valley

Address: Kampung Cibogo II No. 423 | P.O.Box 72/CRA, Bogor 16750, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bogor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Bogor
Price Range: $0 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Gg House - Happy Valley Hotel Bogor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing