We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Hotel, but in the middle of nowhere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bogor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
GG House - Happy Valley
Ranked #29 of 58 Bogor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 December 2015

I stayed here for 2 nights, the hotel has beautiful western style pavilions on two floor, all with excellent views over gardens or the pool. The room really are luxury and very spacious with lovely very stylish bathrooms. The central Dining room is a huge, high traditional Javanese wooden room.

My only criticism, is the lack of sound proofing between the rooms. You can hear everything going on next door and above.

The staff are polite professional and really helpful. This was a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jeffrey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2015

Basic guesthouse located outside of Bogor. If you want to visit Bogor count quite some traveltime due to the endless traffic jams. In the weekends it really becomes a nightmare. They close the road and make it a one way street for a couple of hours. If you are a minute late you have to wait for two hours...
The guesthouse has a lack of maintenace and certainly the bathroom is dirty. The beds are real poor. There is no refregerator which is a must in Indonesia I think. Breakfast is simple but ok if you like nasi campung. Don't expect much. And sometimes it is a self service. The river has a nice view but makes a lot of noise during the night when you want to sleep.
Overall i rate the amount of 500.000 Rp way to much for what you get. Better stay in a reasonable good hotel in bogor itself for this money which is easy to do.. There is wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015

A very simple guest house, the wildlife in our bedrooms were gekko's, ants and mosquitos. There were holes in the sheets. The view was nice, but for the rest it was not good standard. The food was eatable, simple breakfast. In september you might just visit the dollmaker in Bogor, the botanical garden was dry and no flowers. If we had known about the hotel standard we would have pushed on to Bandung instead of staying the night here.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2015 via mobile

We arrived after a long flight from Amsterdam. First a visit to the old harbour of Jakarta and a drink at Café Batavia. We arrived in the dark. Welcome drink and very friendly staff. The rooms are simple and realy need to be renovated. Dinner is very good, breakfast is poor. Made a lovely trip through the kampong and ricefields. The view is breathtaking. Great for a one or two night visit.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Rays68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

The place is really really ok. Nothing special, but quite social with its outside area.
Wifi is pretty good for bali. Breakfast not included and varies between 15.000 (toast) and i think about 60.000 for big breakfast. Which is like a little more than1 euro and 4.
Rooms are ok, beds are noisy because of the bamboo frame.
Thereis one "middle room" through which you walk to another room but it has also beds in it: so you might want to ask not to stay in this room if you're a light sleeper.
Also I had that somebody 'reserved' the bottom bed, so if you want to choose where you sleep: apparantly you can!
Location is allright, on a quite peaceful street, but still a 5 min walk to the ubud palace and the beginning of the big street.
Shower is really bad though, cant wash your hair properly there... No water power at all and it was cold most of the time.
No lockers in the room though and there are no keys for the door, everything is open. You can hire a small locker though for the important stuff.

Still I think its one of the better hostels in Ubud. I liked in the lodge better though! (Same owner).

Wifi is quite allrigh, but not everywhere as strong. Also if you want to skype, the places where wifi is the best (around bar area) there is loud music...

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fleur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

This hotel is based just outside Bogor. It has a beautiful garden which is very well maintained. I hoped they would have done the same with the rooms. The rooms are not clean, thin matrass, very old bathroom, broken lights etc. There I no air-conditioning. You can't close the windows fully which brings quite some noise into the room from the river and the mosque early morning. The breakfast consist of slices of roasts white bread with jam and nasi. The staff is extremely friendly. But after a 14 hour flight and a year of hard work this was quite a disappointment.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank chiel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2015

We only stayed here for one night, which might have been enough anyway. The view from the room was absolutely amazing. A great valley with sawa's and one huge river that is extremely loud. You can't hear yourself think, it's so loud. It is definitely worth it, especially for such a short stay.
We had no problems sleeping because the noise subsides quite a bit when you close the door. It is just a bit louder than an average ac. Breakfast and dinner were good.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophievg1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogor hotels
7 km away
Hotel Novotel Bogor Golf Resort and Convention Center
5.5 km away
R Hotel Rancamaya
R Hotel Rancamaya
#2 of 76 in Bogor
662 reviews
8.8 km away
Aston Bogor Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Royal Tulip Gunung Geulis Resort and Golf
11.2 km away
Hostel Bogor
Hostel Bogor
#1 of 48 in Bogor
62 reviews
11.6 km away
Cendana Mulia Hostel Bogor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GG House - Happy Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GG House - Happy Valley

Address: Kampung Cibogo II No. 423 | P.O.Box 72/CRA, Bogor 16750, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bogor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Bogor
Price Range: $0 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Gg House - Happy Valley Hotel Bogor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing