We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review for Moderate Room”
Review of Lorin Solo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lorin Solo Hotel
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Solo
Solo City
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Review for Moderate Room”
Reviewed 15 June 2011

In 2007 we stayed in this hotel in a Deluxe Suite room, but this time (June 2011) we stayed in the moderate room. The moderate rooms are situated in the backyard, with the view of the little canal or garden.

The moderate room itself is very economical for a 5-star hotel. But the room itself has a 3-star standard. It has no bathtub, smaller room.

The Positives:
a. budget price for a 5-star hotel facilities.
b. nice scenery, nice swimming pool and relaxing garden.
c. 5-star facilities: sauna, whirlpool, fitness center.
d. Quick check-in and check-out time.
e. Clean and tidy rooms and alleys.

The Negatives:
a. We had no warm water in the shower! We didn't complain it directly to the receptionist, because we decided to use the shower in the fitness center.
b. Thin walls and doors, u can easily hear if people walking, open the door, etc. if you are lucky, you don't have neighbors in your left or right. But in my case, the neighboring rooms were occupied by family with young kids, with was loud and kept ringing the door bells. (they booked more than one room and kept moving from one to another room)
c. Not a very good variety of breakfast, esp. for a 5 star hotel.

RESUME:
in a moderate room, u will expect a 3-star room hotel but u can use all the 5-star hotel facilities. If a small room is not a problem for you, this moderate room is a good option.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OneXaverio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    146
    95
    35
    18
See reviews for
119
47
17
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

On this visit, I checked into the new building located next to the Lorin Residence. This new wing is cheaper but has smaller rooms and narrower balconies (2nd level) and no outdoor chairs. The pluses are new slim TV (not LCD), brand new double bed/sheets and large glass windows that make the room very bright and cheery. The minuses are showers only bathroom, ceramic tiled floor and a longer walk to the restaurant and lobby.

Guests in this hotel should also try the many nearby (5 mins walk) seafood restaurants that sprung up in the last 1 and a half years ago that offered extremely delicious Indonesian seafood at very reasonable prices with extremely warm personal service that I seldom encounter elsewhere. Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desasolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urtenen, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

I'm not sure where some of the negative comments come from... our experience was very different and in the vaste majority positive... The room we have received had a nice size and a small terrasse into the garden - it was clean (OK, some of the furniture and the bathroom has seen already some years, but it was clean), the garden is wonderful and really a place to recover after some busy time downtown. Our experience in the restaurant (mostly italian style food) was a bit mixed, the taste was good but some of the meet was cooked a bit too long (but... this is Indonesia and not Italy...). Some of the coffee creations in the small coffee corner in the lobby sound a bit strange, but taste good (such as the "healthy grean tea coffee"). Sometimes we had to ask twice for a service, but it was always delivered in a friendly manner and at no moment, we felt the staff was getting annoyed. I would rather recommend this place to other travellers (even if I do not yet know other places in Solo).

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomtomi5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level 6 Contributor
439 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

We were first shown to a small room with a view of the road and parking lot; we rejected that. For a $30 upgrade, we had a large suite with a wonderful view of the gardens. Food was designed to please westerners who miss home. The staff described various restaurants, but if there was more than one, we never found it during our two night stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIILANO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2009

It is a big hotel more focus on business customers: Rooms are not perfectly clean and like almost all non international hotel within Java the rooms are just smoking room therefore for a non smoker is a disaster because you do smell the smoke while you try to sleep during the night.

Breakfast is not served with fresch food and one more time the lack of attention to the client make you really unhappy while your holidays.

Overall if you wanna stay in Solo and stay in a relax enviromental is better for you to find out another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HGMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Solo hotels

indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Well...we went to solo for a business trip and because this is a holiday so we bring all our children along with us. We choose Lor In resort because we've seen on TV, and i think it's a beautiful place, and i'm right. It was a very beautiful place. It's a big hotel with a large garden with swimming pool and outdoor tennis court. The room (deluxe) is big enough for us and 2 children so we can rest well at night. But when my husband want to take a bath...he found that the water was dirty and sandy. After that we found the bathroom was smelly and there was water come from the sanitary. Before we went for dinner i ask roomservice to spray our room with insectiside (baygon) but until the day i left the hotel the insectiside never come out. In the morning, we eat breakfast and the bakery was very delicious... my son ( 8 years old) have eat 2 donuts and he has charge 39.000 rupiah for the donuts. And at the end of the day we want to cheked out the hotel, and we already complain about the uncomfortable we have to the reservation officer, they have sorry about that and hope we come and visit again, but they let us bring our baggages(4bags & 1 suitecase) by our selves... walking to the parking without anyhelp from the office boys....can you imagine that???

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleangelIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solo
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2009

Holiday in Solo? Go straight to Lor In. I have no doubts to recommend this hotel. You will get anything you need here!! Nice room, nice food, nice view, nice garden!!! It's all just nice!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonnia_saleem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solo hotels
3.3 km away
The Sunan Hotel Solo
0.7 km away
The Alana Solo Hotel & Convention Center
0.2 km away
Syariah Hotel Solo
Syariah Hotel Solo
#6 of 61 in Solo
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Solo Paragon Hotel & Residences
7.4 km away
The Royal Surakarta Heritage Solo - MGallery Collection
3.1 km away
Favehotel Adi Sucipto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorin Solo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorin Solo Hotel

Property: Lorin Solo Hotel
Address: Jln. Adisucipto no. 47, Solo 57143, Indonesia (Formerly Lor In Business Resort and Spa)
Region: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Solo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Solo
#12 Spa Hotel in Solo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Lorin Solo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 359
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Lorin Solo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lor In Business Hotel Solo
Lor In Business Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing