We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Amazing Place to Relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banyan Tree Bintan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bintan
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Bintan Island
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An Amazing Place to Relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We have been going to Banyan Tree resorts since 1998 and have stayed at their properties in Bintan, Bali, Phuket, Bangkok, and Maldives. In total we have visited and stayed at Banyan Tree resorts over 30 times. The property we visit and stay the most is in Bintan as it is only 45 minutes by ferry from Singapore.

We love BT Bintan for its outstanding customer service, beautiful sea views and water sports, great food, excellent spa treatments, and very friendly staff. We would highly recommend Banyan Tree properties to families with children or the honeymooners.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Anandatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    356
    167
    67
    42
See reviews for
373
720
29
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Everything about our stay was wonderful and it was a relaxing break after Singapore.
The room was luxurious, staff marvellous, meals very good. We ate in the Tree tops (our favourite) and the Saffron restaurants. Wine is very expensive . We really enjoyed the Indonesian food.
I love swimming in the sea which was fabulous despite signs about oil on the beach.
On our last day we sat on the beach in front of the Angsana Hotel just before midday. (You can use their facilities when staying at the Banyan Tree). However, after a lovely swim we sat on our sunbeds for another 15 minutes without applying repellant and on our return to Singapore discovered many, itchy sand fly bites on our legs and back, which lasted about a week.
You must re-apply insect repellant after swimming if you are sitting on the beach!!

Room Tip: Villa on the rocks is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

A good weekend getaway destination from Singapore. Most of our expectations of a Banyan Tree resort were met. However, given the price, we found the resort somewhat run down and rough on the edges. Staff great, food average and beach surprisingly clean and pleasant. Not much to do or see outside of resort, so bring a couple of good books. Make sure to bring a good supply of duty free as the mini-bar prices will set your bank account on fire.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank swisslotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

We had mind escape vacation during our stay in Banyan Tree villas. Privacy at it's fullest. A true getaway from hectic lifestyle. Ideally to spend every minute there except for meals which can be quite steep. However, can go to Angsana for slightly cheaper meals. Everything is perfect except the payment mode in USD. The price that we paid is worth every dollar. We'll be back

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank rashanimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

My wife & I only had a short time to plan a romantic get-a-way and the staff/reservation team at Banayan Tree made it all very simple. Upon arrival we were greated like royalty and made the trip even more special. The rooms and entire resort were a perfect location for recharging. The entire experience was really a paradise - we will be back and I could not make a stronger recommendation for all to experience.

I have to place a special thank you to our host - Andry, he was a great asset who took care of all needs with absolute professionalism and warmth.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We spent a week at the Banyan Tree resort as a get away time to relax and spend some time together. Our experience was amazing. We had a lovely modern villa with this superb view over the sea. The views of the sunrise from the bed in the morning were spectacular. I have travelled extensively, but this view was about as good as it gets. Where Banyan Tree excels is in the quality of service and the genuine friendliness of the staff. We walked everywhere around the resort and everyone that you met or saw were so friendly and positive. We especially enjoyed the breakfast buffet at Tree Tops and meals on the beach at Angsana. We found the time at the villa just so relaxing and peaceful and anything you wanted was only a phone call away. We played several rounds of golf at the Greg Norman golf course which is right next to the resort. Fantastic really, as the staff at both Banyan Tree and Laguna Golf course took care of your every need while there and in getting back and forth, and always with a smile. The most amazing thing is that with the large villas and the way the resort has been thoughtfully designed, we felt we were at our own resort. (even though we know the resort was fully booked on several of the days). The lush green natural surroundings is such a welcome escape and a real joy to experience. I would also like to make a comment on the quality of the housekeeping staff, they brought real Indonesian warmth to our visit in their smiles and even in teaching us some of the local language. A positive experience and obvioulsy a management group which cares enough to focus on training and staff motivation. Well Done !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshnbrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend away from the hustle and bustle of Singapore. We stayed in a seafront villa. The whole experience from start to finish was excellent, despite some disappointing weather.
The villa, although not modern and new, had a luxurious rustic char, to it and they had thought of everything, from an abundance of complimentary water, to mosquito repellant, insence burners and proper coffee, and more! The views from the villa were breath taking and the jacuzzi on deck wonderful.
The beach is nice, a bit rocky but beautiful, as too were both pools.
The staff were excellent, always attentive, polite and cheerful an ready to help you with anything you needed, although to be honest there was little need to ask them for anything as everything was already taken care of.
The breakfasts were amazing, huge variety, all well cooked. Personal favorite were the strawberry pancakes with vanilla cream and maple syrup, amazing! Again they had everything, from pastries, to sushi, to fresh juices and champagne if you fancied a tipple early on.
The dinners were also good, only 3 restaurants to chose from but all had good menus. We ate in the treetops on the first night and the thai restaurant on the second. The Thai meal was excellent, best Thai meal outside of Thailand. Lots of little extras thrown in too.
Guests were also given an hours free yoga class if they wanted, which we did! Was fab, good fun, totally private and something a little different to do. We also had a massage which was amazing, a wonderful experience from start to finish.

All in all it was fantastic. No doubt that it is a pricey weekend away, but for a special occaision it is well worth every penny.

Room Tip: Seafront villa had beautiful views and completely private decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
4.4 km away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 4 in Lagoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.4 km away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#7 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
2.5 km away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.8 km away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
3.5 km away
Village Resort Grand Lagoi Bintan by Far East Hospitality
9.5 km away
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bintan

Property: Banyan Tree Bintan
Address: Jalan Teluk Berembang Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155 , Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Singapore lies a sweep of brilliant Indonesian islands, the most spectacular of which are found in the Riau Archipelago. Bintan Island has long been one of the region's most popular destinations. Banyan Tree Bintan occupies 240 hectares on the sea front and is comprised of 72 villas modeled on traditional Balinese architecture, all beautifully located in virgin forest. The resort's Jacuzzi villas have jacuzzis built into their sun decks whilst the two-bedroom pool villas have their own plunge or swimming pools and are particularly suitable for families. Culinary variety is the name of the game with "Crossroads" offering Western cuisine in an air-conditioned or al fresco setting while the Saffron Restaurant serves Thai and South East Asian specialties. You can also dine in your own villa - simply order from the a la carte menu or make a selection from the BBQ dinners cooked in front of your eyes. The new food and beverage outlet, "The Cove," is modern and up-tempo; Mediterranean cuisine is prepared here to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Banyan Tree Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bintan Hotel Bintan
Banyan Tree Hotel Bintan
Bintan Banyan Tree
Banyan Tree Bintan Bintan Island, Indonesia - Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing