We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the city”
Review of Garuda Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garuda Plaza Hotel
Ranked #56 of 73 Hotels in Medan
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“In the city”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Nice and comfy room for us, 2 single beds with an extra bed. 10 minutes becak ride to Pasar Ikan Lama. Hotel breakfast was delicious. Facing main road and noisy at night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cax_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    33
    58
    25
    17
See reviews for
21
22
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I stayed one night in this hotel for a business trip. The hotel location can be reached around 30 mins from the Polonia airport and will cost you IDR 50K. The reception desk was very helpful and fast. When I asked them for a dinner place, they also offered me a free shuttle bus to a foodcourt near-by (Amaliun foodcourt) and also a pick-up service from the food court back to the hotel. When I came back from the food court, I realized how busy this hotel. There were many many people, mostly Indonesian, waiting for check-in at the reception desk.

My room was clean enough, looked quite new, with some exception for the air con controller (see my picture, it's really old) and for the small fridge (old Samsung). They provided two 600 ml bottled RO water as a compliment each day and also tea/coffee maker. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was also clean enough. The shower was nice. I found that the towel hanger was rusty and the towel looked not so clean (I used my own for safety). They also provided hair-dryer, shower cap, tooth-brush and small tooth-paste, a small soap bar, and a tube of shampoo.

The breakfast was okay. They served chicken porridge (Indonesian style), salad and fruit bar, bread+butter+jam, rice and rice cake with varieties of dishes (Medan style). They only served hot tea or coffee and water for drinks.

Check-out was fast and you can ask them to booked you a taxi. if you preffer a taxi with argometer, you can ask for a Blue Bird taxi.
So overall, the hotel was good, clean, at a very affordable price, and also very busy (you might want to book by phone or agoda before). I probably will return to this hotel when I come to Medan again..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miu85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangerang, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I spent one night on a business trip to Medan. From the outside, the building does not look very convincing, but the lobby and the coffeeshop that greeted us look very fine. A glance to a board near the entrance let me know that most of the functional rooms were almost fully booked - a sign that this hotel was popular at least with the locals. In fact, when we were there, we met so many kinds of people having their events there - from government officials having a meeting to sailors celebrating their graduation from the academy.

We got a room in the old building, and it was comfortable, with parquet floor that seemed new. The standard amenities and complimentary drinks were available. I noticed though that the door to the bathroom and the wardrobe looked a bit old - making them sticking out in the otherwise clean, newly-looking room - and needed replacement. The bed was nice and clean.

The staff was nice, and they even had someone named 'Arman' that you could contact by pressing the number 7 on the phone or find him in the lobby between 8 am - 5 pm and he would answer all your questions about Medan.

We didn't get to eat in the restaurant/coffee shop, but reading the menu in the bedroom, the price of food and drinks were quite cheap by hotel standards.

They provided Medan-styled breakfast when we were there, a bit heavy if you're not used to it; but we could also choose from a range of salad, bread, curry, and porridge.

There are ATMs, airline counters, and a money changer on the ground level (or, to be exact, they call it 'the 1st floor').

The hotel location is not far from the city center and is right across the street to the famous Bolu Meranti shop, that sells 'bolu', a cake that is now one of the most famous edible souvenirs from Medan. There are some street food vendors around that you might want to try.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are connected; if you are not comfortable with this, do check with the staff first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darwinia-Id
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
523 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This is a central hotel on a busy road, clean and comfortable, breakfast was quite good but portions in the restaurant very small.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Warks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Relieved to find this hotel which was a welcome haven of peace and comfort after long journey from London. We found the rooms adequately furnished and above all peaceful during the night. We had booked the rooms (superior IDR 405,000.00) prior to travelling. This hotel is on a busy street in the middle of Medan, but once you enter the foyer, all is calm. The restaurant service wasn't fast, but the food was okay, not brilliant. They only serve soft drinks in this hotel, what they call a dry hotel. We didn't mind that; the place is comfortable, not luxurious, and the prices reflect this. The breakfast offered a good choice of Asian or European. Have a good memory of this hotel and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Book before you go because the hotel is used by business people in busy Medan
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayancarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klang, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I stayed there for a night on the Eid Mubarak day. The town was very quite due to festival.The hotel was clean as we stayed in new wing. The room was overall clean but the shower area was small and dont have handheld shower. Water pressure was slow. The swimming pool were small and dont have any child pool. All the other service like mini shop and message center were closed probably due to Raya. Breakfast was decent. Too much of crowd on Raya 2nd day and there were late refill food. They did serve vegetarian food upon order. The hotel also have a row ATMs and nearby Malay stalls area. Overall it was a good place for a short trip as it was within city and airport.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kannan_MSakti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Hotel is at town with busy motor vehicle and noisy. We are lucky and manage to check in a renovated room. General we still very enjoy staying at this hotel. Enjoy the normal and basic breakfast. My children enjoy using the internet for free when available. Another interesting wish to share is the hotel have simple gym set. My children enjoy very much. At night, we also walk to the Bazaar Ramadan of which the local indonesian sell a lot of local foods at the "pasar malam".

No regret staying in for just one night.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazing6313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.3 km away
Madani Medan Syariah Hotel
2.0 km away
Grand Sakura Hotel
Grand Sakura Hotel
#18 of 73 in Medan
152 reviews
0.6 km away
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Swiss-Belinn Medan
#11 of 73 in Medan
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hotel Menara Lexus
Hotel Menara Lexus
#43 of 73 in Medan
10 reviews
1.5 km away
d`primahotel Medan
d`primahotel Medan
#10 of 73 in Medan
144 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Kesawan
Hotel Kesawan
#57 of 73 in Medan
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garuda Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garuda Plaza Hotel

Property: Garuda Plaza Hotel
Address: Jl. Sisingamangaraja 18, Medan 20213, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 73 Hotels in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garuda Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garuda Plaza Hotel is located in the city of Medan this is one hotel that has a HALAL CERTIFICATE from MUI city of Medan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garuda Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing