We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contender for filthiest hotel in Asia”
Review of Wisma Sederhana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wisma Sederhana
Ranked #7 of 52 Medan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 July 2017

We stayed at this hotel for a night on either side of our trip to lake toba. Based on our first night this hotel would have got one star, we were in a very small, windowless room which was poorly lit and dirty. Mould covered the bathroom and there were insects crawling around the sink. We are no novice to budget hotels in Asia and don't mind the odd cockroach or ant, but this was clearly because of the state of the room.

When we checked in there was no one who could speak a word of English, so we were left standing while they got a girl who had some English to check us in. Luckily she was also here when we checked in the second time, if she's not around then other people don't even attempt to communicate with you.

We were told breakfast was 7:00-9:00am so the next morning we packed and headed down at 8:30am, there were no noddles left (the only food available), we informed the man in the dining area, who gestured that they would cook some more. After 30 minutes we asked reception who said "yes, yes noodles" - I assumed this meant they were on the way. After another 15 minutes, we asked again, the receptionist spoke to the serving man, who shook his head and they both chatted in Indonesian while we were left standing around like lemons.

The second time we checked in, the room was slightly nicer, although stunk of smoke. The hot water still didn't work and the bathroom was so dirty. We are used to staying in hostels and budget accommodation and weren't expecting luxury, but even for the cheap price it's not value for money. This is one of the filthiest hotels I have ever stayed in with staff that are quite rude. The one plus is that they offer airport transfer for 150k, we would have been happy to have paid much that this just to get out of there. Would definitely not recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid non smoking rooms on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Calmsloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

You get what you paid for. Very good location, walking distance to famous kwetiau ateng(must try). Breakfast is simple, but honestly the fried rice taste good. I see few room cleaners keep nusy cleaning this and that room. I give score 7 for cleanliness. Advisable to book via airyrooms.com find airy name "airy selat panjang". Price is lower than the displayed in receptionist & you get free snacks from airyrooms & toothbrush shampoo soap. ~you can only get this privilege when you do booking via airyrooms.com~

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sinmasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

I will definitely come here again!!!

Comfortable yet affordable hotel in the city centre.

I stayed here for 3 nights in the Royal room. The room is clean and spacious. Clean mattress and pillow (it smell nice). As a Muslim, I need some clean and enough space for me to perform my daily prayer. The room provided me the space and such cleanliness.

The hot shower is also good. I have no problem taking my shower in the early morning.

They also give you free breakfast. Yet there are not much option during breakfast, so I decide to take breakfast somewhere else.

The room service is also great. The food taste nice, with affordable price.

Lastly, you should know that the hotel provide FREE shuttle service to and from Stasiun Medan. Great right? As I enjoy riding GoJek in Medan, but free service is never been better right?

I only wish, if the hotel can provide a mini bar (small fridge) in the room so I can store my Yakult, yogurt and mineral water.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Emi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

This hotes is located around shopping complex, behind swissbel inn. It makes traffic jam when office hour. At night, the street front of hotel is like mini china town with mostly non halal food.

I booked royal room. Large room with new renovation, large tv, and quite clean water. There is no window. Light breakfast with bread, chicken soup, and scrambled egg.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank yudhiarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here last minute for one night and wouldn't recommend longer unless you have one of the newer rooms. I booked a delux room.

Positives
- breakfast included an omelette although basic
- air conditioner worked
- location close to Tong a Fui Mansion
- cheap
- comfortable bed
- hot water

Negatives
- Requested non smoking - got a room which clearly was an old smoking room with ash tray.
- The fan in the toilet and drain stank and kept wafting smells all night.
- Very worn down room, towels and linen
- toiletries provided didn't include toilet paper
- noisy from corridor - thin door
- shower head mouldy

From reading other reviews and looking at looking at the rest of the hotel I think rooms vary and therefore experiences do too. I didn't have the energy to ask to change rooms as I was too exhausted from travelling but I would advise to ask to see the room first so you know what you are getting.

I would give it a second chance but enquires to see room first and ask for a newer one.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank jessmcc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

Located in central area. Foods is all around selat panjang street. This is china town with various of chinese foods non halal. Our rooms at royal was good, and it cost at reasonable money. Good for budget traveller. You can order shuttle airport with common price. The coffee at the bar is quite good. Breakfast as simple Indonesians meals.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
Thank spidaveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016

Spent two night there...it is in a good location..lots of food stalls or restaurant around and in walking distance to Grand Mosque...around 15 mins....but hotel is just bit above average nothing special but very cheap so good for travellers on budget. Rooms are cleaned but bugs are common.

Room Tip: Go for a most expensive rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Che_Guevara_Mares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
1.7 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
1.4 km away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#5 of 75 in Medan
665 reviews
0.3 km away
Hermes Palace Hotel Medan - Managed By BENCOOLEN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
No photo provided
Wisma HM Jhoni
#15 of 75 in Medan
1 reviews
1.5 km away
Grand Sakura Hotel
Grand Sakura Hotel
#16 of 75 in Medan
157 reviews
1.9 km away
Permata Inn
Permata Inn
#3 of 52 in Medan
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisma Sederhana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisma Sederhana

Address: Jln. Selat Panjang No. 11C, Medan 20212, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Medan
Price Range: $18 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wisma Sederhana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wisma Sederhana provide a comfortable and reachable accommodation for you. Our Location is at the heart of Medan CBD and it takes only 8-10 minutes from Polonia Airport, Medan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wisma Sederhana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing