We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets very loud at night, stay away from the lobby/bar”
Review of Hotel Artesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Artesia
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Artesia
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Room was ok, it is probably the nicest hotel in the small area. Unique decor, but beware, the lobby bar gets extremely full and loud on weekend nights. Try to stay as far away from the lobby as possible if you want a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Go for a second floor room near the back of the property if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jenn28msu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

We booked the hotel at the last minute while on a spring break road trip to Santa Fe, NM not knowing what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised but definitely worried about some of the reviews about the smells from the oil refinery across the street. As we entered the town we could definitely smell the refinery but it didn't last, thankfully. Check in was easy after having to walk around the property to find the front entrance. The room was nice and modern for the area and the layout of the hotel was pretty simple. It was quiet and we all slept well. The breakfast was fine even though it didn't have a big assortment of stuff. Cereal, muffin, bread, bagels, yogurt, breakfast sandwiches and a couple juices were about all that was available which was fine with me and the kids seemed to enjoy it. If I had to stay in Artesia I would definitely stay at the Hotel Artesia again.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Aron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

After driving 11 hrs, we were ready for a quiet evening. We walked into the lobby/lounge where the music was blasting for 2 guests. We asked repeatedly for them to turn it down so we could hear the clerk. Nope. Told breakfast was 6-10. They put it up at 9:30 even though guests were trying to get something. Despite 3 different families saying we were told breakfast was served till 10, she refused to put it back out. Bad customer service.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank CCgangsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

I'd never heard of Artesia, but needed a stopping place on a long road trip. We were so pleasantly surprised to find the charm of a historic facade with modern interior furnishings and details. Such unexpected elegances was a refreshing after our long days traveling. We were also referred to Adobe Rose for dinner. Such a broad mix of diners and a marvelous Chef's Selection of exotic meats, beautifully prepared. You can tell that the oil money in the area allows for luxury when you see the champagnes and wines that are available as well. If you should be in the area, give this hotel a try.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jzar0ven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, Owners Rep at Hotel Artesia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

We are delighted that you stopped in Artesia and enjoyed the Hotel Artesia. Our staff works hard to ensure a positive experience for all of our guests and that includes suggestions for dinner. Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Have stayed a few times. Very clean and comfortable. Would stay again if I'm in the area. Waling distance to a few restaurants. Also has a nice bar for a drink. They also have a great cancellation policy, unlike may hotels, who require up to 72 hours. The front desk personnel were very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, Owners Rep at Hotel Artesia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Many thanks for your nice review. We are indeed the best location in Artesia, within walking distance to Main Street and all of its fine attractions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

The city is build around Navajo refinery and the hotel is very close to it. While outside it is possible to breathe, any closed area will very quickly start smelling sulphur/rotten eggs. If you are sensitive it is headache inducing. We were not aware and arrived to the hotel on our way to Carlsbad Caverns. The hotel (big thumbs up) refunded our already paid stay without any questions even though we arrived late - and we decided to spent the night in Carlsbad itself. The hotel looks very nice, clean and modern - so if you really want to stay in Artesia and are aware of the city issues itself - fully recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piotr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, Owners Rep at Hotel Artesia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

We are sorry for the refinery odor during your stay. We have been open for five years and very rarely do odors from the refinery effect our guests. Thanks for the compliments about our property, and we are happy you were pleased with how your situation was handled. We would be pleased to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

This is the second time we have stayed. Both times the room was quiet, comfortable and uniquely decorated. We enjoyed the modern art deco decor. Bathroom amenities were plentiful. Breakfast included egg and meat sandwiches, pastries, bagels, hot and cold cereals. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Great location. We will return.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank familyfun625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, Owners Rep at Hotel Artesia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Many thanks for your compliments to our property and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Artesia hotels
2.5 km away
Best Western Pecos Inn
Best Western Pecos Inn
#4 of 7 in Artesia
223 reviews
2.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Artesia
2.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Artesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Artesia
2.6 km away
Legacy Inn & Suites
Legacy Inn & Suites
#7 of 7 in Artesia
49 reviews
0.3 km away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#1 of 3 in Artesia
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artesia

Address: 203 North 2nd Street, Artesia, NM 88210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Artesia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Artesia
Price Range: $174 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Artesia 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenient location and spacious accommodations of the Hotel Artesia. The selection of gracious amenities and elegant furnishings make us a great choice when you're visiting for a FLETC graduation, business or a southwest vacation getaway. In addition to our central location near so many things to do in Artesia, we feature a selection of services at our hotel in Artesia, New Mexico. We also have ample free parking with easy access from Highway 285; free breakfast and free WIFI throughout the hotel. From our premium amenities and well-appointed, stylish accommodations to our unparalleled service and fantastic location, we are setting a new standard for hotels in Artesia, New Mexico. Maintain your workout program in our thoughtfully designed fitness room. A wall-mounted flat screen television helps you pass the time while using the latest cardio equipment including treadmills and elliptical machines. Additionally, guests at our hotel enjoy complimentary access to the nearby Artesia Health and & Racquet Club which features a great fitness pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Artesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing