We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further, book here now”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artists' Colony Inn
Ranked #1 of 37 Safed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Look no further, book here now”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

If you are looking for accommodation in Sefat, stop wasting time and book a room at the Artist Colony Inn now to make sure you don't miss out. Seriously, read this quickly and book. Trust me. Jeff and Benay will treat you like family, opening up their home to you as if you are part of their family. The location couldn't be better. The rooms are brilliant. Breakfast is excellent. Their advice is accurate and well worth considering. Sefat is a special place and the Artist Colony Inn will enhance your experience. I can't recommend it strongly enough without sounding like I have shares in the place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
88
188
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Were should I begin? It’s hard to add anything to the reviews already written on this place and every word is true. We stayed at the art Colony for two nights. And it was a beautiful experience. First about the hosts Jeff and Benay you couldn’t find nicer more Helpful and interesting people to host you than this couple, they will do everything to make your stay worth every penny. Jeff’s insight and knowledge as a tour guide was fascinating and he was very generous with his time planning our whole day of touring and among his many recommendations he directed us to a great winery Adir in Dalton.

The breakfasts were fresh delicious and mouth watering made for us by Benay whenever we got up. Fresh snacks pastry’s fruit etc. and drinks throughout the whole day.

The room was as beautiful and clean and charming décor as advertised and even nicer, which unfortunately is not the norm in hotel advertising Beautiful bathroom with Jacuzzi clean crisp linen Robes and slippers towels etc.

It was a fabulous stay and I would recommend it to anyone going to Safed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOl18Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights earlier this month and fell in love with this B&B and with Tzfat. Jeff and Benay were excellent hosts and constantly gave us recommendations on dinner, driving tours, etc. Our room (the largest one) was very tastefully decorated and beautiful. Breakfast was amazing. The location is right in the old part of the city and walking to all the sites was easy. We were given amazing directions so we did not get lost finding the place. It was also a great base to drive and explore the galilee area. We drove to Rosh Pina one night and, frankly, couldn't see much of anything there. I would say Tzfat is the best place to stay and this place is the top choice. We also toured the town with Jeff and had an amazing time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Highly recommend a stay at the Artists' Colony Inn. The owners are warm and helpful. The room was lovely and the bed super comfortable. The food provided at breakfast was local and interesting and delicious. And the view from the patio where we relaxed and ate a meal overlooking the mountains was spectacular. Easy walking distance to sights in town.
The owner, Jeff Katz, is also a fabulous tour guide. The only tricky thing is finding the Inn if you are driving.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2011

A beautiful B & B nestled in the streets of Safed. I recently spent three nights at the Artists' Colony Inn and was blown away by its character, comfort and charm. Benay and Jeff were first class hosts in every way. I will definitely be going back on my next trip to Israel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nfrnili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Our room was amazing! So much space, Jeff and Benay are so welcoming and accommodating! We toured around the streets of Safed with Jeff and everyone knew him, greeted him with such warmth that I felt like we were with a celebrity (but in a great way!!!) He helped put us at ease. And the details he shared about the history was better than any university course. There was coffee, hot chocolate, and tea and cookies! We sat outside and read, all the rooms have access to American TV shows (a huge surprise) even though we didn't take advantage of it. The views were incredible. The bed was perfect and the extra bed our son used was the best he slept on during our entire trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilwaukeeWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My husband and I recently returned from a most enjoyable stay at the Artists Colony Inn. Even before we set foot into this lovely inn, our hosts, Benay and Jeff were extremely helpful, providing suggestions for activities in the area; once we arrived, they made us feel truly "at home". The inn has all the amenities of a 5* hotel (except for a pool), including extremely comfortable beds, robes and slippers and a delicious home cooked breakfast every morning, plus the warm hospitality which one can only find at a small property. The location is ideal, within minutes of most of the tourist sites and shops of Safed. Now that we have discovered it, we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chayanovetsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Safed
0.1 km away
Ruth Rimonim
Ruth Rimonim
#1 of 5 in Safed
542 reviews
0.3 km away
Palacio Domain Luxury Boutique Hotel
1.4 km away
Villa Galilee
Villa Galilee
#3 of 5 in Safed
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Bayit Bagalil Boutique & Spa
6.1 km away
Amirey Hagalil Boutique Hotel
0.1 km away
Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artists' Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artists' Colony Inn

Property: Artists' Colony Inn
Address: Simtat Yud Zayin 9, Safed 13231, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Safed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Safed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Artists' Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artists` Colony Hotel Safed

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing