We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jamelah Beach Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$410
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$486
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$547
US$449
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$324
US$219
AVANIhotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valmer Resort(Mahe Island)
US$224
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savoy Resort & Spa(Beau Vallon)
US$327
US$276
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,145
US$881
BanyanTree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$2,184
US$1,839
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
52
39
12
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
39
12
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall shopbus stopkitchen stuffbeautiful sunrisegas stovegiant tortoisesfirst floorwififridgetaxiairportbalconymaheparadisegrazieislandguarded
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 118 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2017

This Guest House is placed on a beatiful beach with a fantastic view from the room. The rooms are cleaned and the couple that owns this place are very nice and welcoming.

The guest house is placed on a quite side of the island, whereas we sometimes felt like the only tourists. It is equipped with gas stove, fridge, microwave, sink, water heater for coffee or tea. 300m from here is a restaurant. It could be a good idea to rent a car. Nice and big bathroom with a bathtub.

The beach is shallow and it is maybe not the best place to snorkel, but if you take your car, taxi or the bus there are other beaches nearby that might have better opportunities for this.

This place is a perfect place if you want to have a relaxed holiday with a fantastic beach view.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lise_Eide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gracey L, Guest Relations Manager at Jamelah Beach Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you EVER SO MUCH for the FANTASTIC grade and EXTREMELY LOVELY review! We REALLY DO appreciate it.
It was a pleasure having you with us.
Warm wishes from ALL OF US at Jamelah Beach Guest House.
Gracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2017

This is a comfortable, affordable place to stay on Mahe with its own beach and breakfast included in the price. Although it is quite close to the main road, you could not really hear the traffic at all.

The studio flat is well equipped if you want to cook or eat in there are plenty of local grocery shops and takeaways, so you can avoid tourist trap restaurants and still eat locally food.

The beach was very quiet and comfortable and the gardens well maintained (with tortoises to provide amusement).

Breakfast was good - although the dining room was a little underequipped for the number of guests - not enough table when everyone arrived at the same time.

I woule recommend for a relaxing comfortable stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AliMichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile

I stayed two times, once in September and once in December 2016. Once in a balcony room and once in the apartment nr3 (with bath!). Both were great, spacious and very clean. The staff is really friendly and helpful, and they didn't mind to give me breakfast in the room when I asked for it. The lady also helped out driving me to the airport on a Sunday early morning for a friendly price when no taxi was available. It's situated right near the beach, next to the bus stop and a small shop, and it's a place to recommend to everyone.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank JvdC80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gracey L, Guest Relations Manager at Jamelah Beach Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you EVER SO MUCH for the FANTASTIC grade and the EXTREMELY LOVELY review! :)) We really do appreciate it.
It was a pleasure having you with us.
Warm wishes from ALL OF US at Jamelah Beach Guest House.
Gracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2016

We spent two nights at Jamelah. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the kitchen fully equipped. We had a beautiful sea view from the balcony.

The hotel has its own tiny beach and giant tortoises in the garden which can be handfed with fruit.

The WiFi worked nicely and we got eggs for breakfast (both uncommon on Seychelles).

The only thing one should watch out for is the localisation. It's far from everything! We didn't mind as we rented a car anyway (arranged by the staff), but it's something worth mentioning.

Room Tip: There's an apartment upstairs with seaview and fully equipped kitchen.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bartosz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gracey L, Guest Relations Manager at Jamelah Beach Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you EVER SO MUCH for the FANTASTIC grade and the EXTREMELY LOVELY review! :)) We really do appreciate it.
It was a pleasure having you with us.
Warm wishes from ALL OF US at Jamelah Beach Guest House.
Gracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2016

This is a perfect place, for the right sort of person. I lead with that statement, as I don't want to mis-lead anyone who enjoys all the facilities and choices a 5 star establishment can give. To me and my wife, 5 star luxury covers all those things plus so many more.
From the moment we arrived at 8am, and was told we could enjoy an added bonus of a breakfast and early entry to our room, we knew we had chosen the right place.
The room we had was on the first floor, right on the beach front. The room is big, with a huge bathroom, a decent sized kitchen with two hobs and a large fridge. The lounge had a two seater settee and two chairs, and a single bed in place (great for an afternoon siesta from the heat.) There was a TV with news channels to keep updated of the worlds woes, ITV choice, and a movie channel in English if the weather did becone a little inclement. it also had it's own free wifi point, making checking emails and posting jealous inducing pictures on social media a little easier.
Breakfast isn't a huge 2000 item choice piece found in big hotels. You get fruit juice and either tea or coffee, a range of fresh fruits; from oranges, jamelah pears, or mango type fruits. I presume these will change with the fruits available in season. You also get a basket of hot toast, butter and jam. One morning we got a plate of cheese, and another morning we got a light and delicious omelette. This is aimed more for our continental friends, of which the Apartments has many French, German and Dutch visitors.
All of the staff are fabulous, working tirelessly all day to be available and ensure your stay is as perfect as possible. Gracey is there to pick up the phone and deal with anything you need, as we had a problem with our car and she dealt with is without a moments hesitation; and this was a car we had booked ourselves, nothing to do with the apartments. Between Gracey and Michelle, her right hand lady, they ensured we had a day trip to remember to the islands, even though it was short notice and it too them a few times to try different companies to find the right trip for us.
Januarie kept our rooms spotless, created fabulous towel artwork, and even made sure other reception type problems were dealt with efficiently. Her husband, Randy was always present, keeping the grounds in perfect shape, clearing away leaves, and neatly raking the sand; which we always felt a little guilty placing footprints on.
Jamelah has a big carpark, private, and safe, and guarded by the Major, the apartments lively old dog who is always willing for a bit of affection, or finding a shady cool spot to while away the day. The only time he barked was on seeing a friendly member of the staff's family, or one morning when a stranger wandered onto the grounds. My wife isn't a dog-person, having been bitten by one as a child, but she willingly took to major without a problem.
The location is very handy for Victoria and the airport, and most point around the island. The beach and sunbeds are on the doorstep, and you can enjoy the sun rising and passing overhead until it dips behind the mountains. The tide doesn't go out too far, and you can swim in the waist deep waters when the tide is in, although it can be a little choppy at times.
Finally, there are Simon and Bella, and their family. These are the giant tortoises who are part of the Jamelah family. They rest in their enclosure, willing to fight for a fallen pear and some gentle attention from the holiday-makers. They are well-cared for, as can be seen by the fact that they sleep with their heads and limbs out of their shells, a sign that they feel safe.
Some of the staff live on-site, making them available when required, but also making it feel as if this is a family business. They also make it feel as though you are brought in to their family, even for that short time you may spend with them.
A fabulous place to enjoy and relax in, and the pennies are being saved in anticipation of a return in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies and are no more than 30 metres from the beach. All face the beach.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phil0264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gracey L, Guest Relations Manager at Jamelah Beach Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you EVER SO MUCH for the FANTASTIC grade and for taking the time to write such a LOVELY LONG review! :)) We REALLY DO appreciate it.
It was a pleasure having you with us.
Warm wishes from ALL OF US at Jamelah Beach Guest House.
Gracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews