We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience, glad they're renovating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2016

It's getting harder to review average hotels because they're all starting to look the same. This was a good stay, and would probably go back. Room was decent, big, weird layout but hey not going to live there. Location a bit away from downtown makes it quieter - no non-stop police sirens going by all night - but it is a bit removed from the highway system, which is either a plus or minus depending what you're looking for. Otherwise not exceptional, and the breakfast, while standard, is terrible - there is a McD's next door though!

Room Tip: Ask for northern view so you can see the science fiction downtown
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank idonotusescreennames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsee B, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

We appreciate your reflection on your stay with us! However hearing that you would "probably" come back is not very promising :-(. We would love to hear additional feedback on what would make our hotel stand out from these "average" hotels. I'm glad your stay was good, but I do hope we are given another opportunity to make it EXCELLENT after our renovation is completed! Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2016

The room we stayed in was big and great. Two rooms with large beds and a sleeping sofa in the living room. Propably one of the biggest hotel rooms I have stayed in. The slepping sofa had thin mattress but it was ok for one night. The breakfast is the only reason I give this hotel only two stars (almost only one star). When we arrived there was still 45 minutes left of the advertised breakfast time but still almost everyting was empty. We waited for a little while to see if there was someone coming but no one came. I therefor walked to the reception and told them and she looked at the clock and then said reluctantly that she would send someone. When I got back a few other guests had arrived in the breakfast room and were also waiting. We waited for a few minutes and then finally a member of the staff came and filled up on the bread, nothing else. My son had to go again and ask for some cheese and then he went to get some cheese. After about 20-25 minutes we decided that we could not spend more time waiting and went to a breakfast restaurant nearby. I will not stay there again and do not recommend. At least if you decide to stay then you should book a room without breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsee B, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Thank you very much for your feedback! We are certainly glad that you enjoyed our suites, however are extremely disappointed that the service in our breakfast area was less than satisfactory. We will utilize this as a training opportunity for our staff to ensure that situations like this do not occur in the future. I do hope you reconsider to return to our hotel to receive the level of service that you deserve and that our staff is capable of offering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We stayed several times at this hotel. It is a pet friendly hotel (but expensive fee..), very clean with welcoming staff. We loved to walk in the nearby park to see the community gardens. The breakfast could be better, though.
We will come back next time we go to Canada. Hoping the pet fee will be lower...

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank florence R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsee B, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thank you for your business! We appreciate that you have stayed with us multiple times and hope to continue to accommodate your future stays in Albany. We have just recently modified our pet policy, so I strongly encourage you to contact our front desk for details. We also would love feedback regarding the breakfast and what items you would like to see in it! See you next time you go to Canada! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

We stayed here for only one night, but we had a very good experience. Friendly staff, very clean room, comfortable bed, nice decor. Breakfast buffet was average. We'd definitely stay again when in the Albany area.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsee B, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016

The room was huge and had more amenities than we expected. I thought the hotel was kind of difficult to find coming off of 87 into Albany and the parking lot was difficult to maneuver.
The hotel had a great view but the neighborhood was kind of shady with a boarded up building across the street.

Stayed: March 2016
Thank NEPA_Traveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsee B, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2016

We are glad you enjoyed your suite and our hotel's amenities! The building across the street is going to be a Luxury High Rise Apartment Complex which we are extremely excited for! We hope to see you again! Thanks for choosing the Marriott TownePlace Suites!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

I came from France and stayed there 5 nights just before taking the NY bar exam. I had a king bed, the room was perfectly equipped with a little kitchen (dish washing,cuttlery, plates, etc included) in my room which was very convenient for me. The hotel is located 20 minutes away (walk) from the town center and there are shops not far away and around it (CVS, starbuck, Mcdonald, etc.). There is a shuttle to drive you into town.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank klrbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

The Hotel: New, spotless, with a very welcoming atmosphere. The lobby is chic, relaxing a great place to sit, read a newspaper, surf the net on the complimentary hotel computer, or free WiFi. Breakfast is right around the corner, 10 steps away, in a spotless, well stocked eating area.

The Room: Tremendous, spotless with a kitchenette and all the little things, which I look at, are taken care of. Take, for instance, the moulding has no scuffs or marks on it from being rammed with a vacuum, the windows and mirrors are streak free, the stainless appliances are fingerprint free. There is attention to detail that I see that even the Four Seasons in Boston lacked, I am extremely impressed.

The Staff: ALL the staff was courteous, professional, pleasant and never once did you pass them where you didn't get a "Good Morning/Afternoon/Evening Sir". You really get a sense that they truly love what they're doing. The one that stood out was Alyssa A at the front desk. So extremely accomodating, very professional and she is a living restaurant critic/taxi caller/local what's - happening expert. All I asked if there was a local place to eat she asked what time I would be ready she would call a cab and the restaurant she recommended was recently voted the best eatery in the area. She said the taxi she called were the cleanest ones and most reliable, incredible. She is a walking personal Google search besides being young, attractive, hard working and professional. Single, successful , eligible bachelors there ARE still real catches in Albany and Alyssa is one of them.

All in all this was a great experience and I would book this hotel again without a doubt. Like I said this is an affordable hotel with a 5 star staff. Book it, stay and enjoy, you will have a great time, as I did.

Room Tip: Book the odd rooms as they face the rear parking lot so you can auto start the car, especially in th...
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
8.1 km away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
1.6 km away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#16 of 50 in Albany
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center

Address: 22 Holland Avenue, Albany, NY 12209
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Albany
#14 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range: $154 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore all that downtown Albany has to offer from TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany Downtown/Medical Center. Our all-suite hotel in Albany, New York offers an exceptional location near the city's most desirable locations including the Empire State Plaza Convention Center, Times Union Center and SUNY Albany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Hotel Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing