We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed here on the nights of December 23 and 24, leaving Christmas Day. The hotel is near the Airport but it is not at all noisy. We had a King room, which was very clean and comfortable. Wi-Fi is free and easy to use. The pool, jacuzzi, and fitness center were also very good.

Because the restaurant service was limited for the holidays, the Hotel provided complimentary hot breakfasts on the 24th and continental breakfasts on the 25th. The food quality and selection (e.g. omelets cooked to order) were excellent.

The staff were all especially friendly and helpful.

This would be our first choice in the Albany area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeKinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    257
    85
    37
    18
See reviews for
230
161
64
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stayed here on a Saturday night in early December while visiting family in the area, and were pleased with the clean, handsome, and quiet hotel environment. Everything looks as though it's been upgraded and designed to make road warriors feel both efficient and at home. The weekend we visited the hotel was quiet, and we admired the public spaces, gym and pool. Our room was comfortable and clean. We have been scouting hotels in the area for overnight weekend stays, and this was the best comfort/value combination we have found.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Our family enjoyed our stay, over the Thanksgiving weekend. The lobby was very nice and modern. It included a fireplace and "hangout" nooks. The price was at least $20 less than the other hotels in the area. Breakfast was not included. The hotel is directly opposite the Albany airport, with shuttle service. If you don't need the hotel for the airport, then the location is a bit out of the way. The hotel's effort in making our stay great was very good. The workers were very friendly and always checked on how we were when we were going up to our room. The room was clean and comfortable, with a refridgerator and microwave and free wifi. The pool and hot tub were very good. the pool was at the perfect temperature for swimming and the hot tub was very relaxing. The gym had excellent equipment. The scenary outside was pretty interesting. I feel like we had great comfort and the right feeling for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GN3Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

The lobby and facilities gave us false hope for this hotel - the rooms are a little daggy and even a bit dirty (the sheets were so flimsy from use it was off-putting). Fridge and air con are so loud you need to turn them both off to sleep and if you're staying in a room that looks over the lobby roof, the boiler will keep you up all night.

Staff were pleasant but the cleaning staff started on our floor at around 8am (which was unwanted given we weren't in bed till after 1am and were tired already) and talked extremely loudly for hours in the hallway. Probably starting the housekeeping later in an airport hotel would be a better idea.

Just an overnight stay here...thankfully.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor away from the roof over the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AusBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

This hotel is very close to the Albany airport and within a short drive of Niskayuna. The room was clean and spacious. It had a king-size bed that was comfortable, a small refrigerator, a microwave, a desk, a sofa and free wi-fi. The room service was good and service was quick. The hot breakfast was very good, especially the made-to-order breakfast. There is an extra charge for breakfast, if you do not select a room that comes with breakfast. The hotel has a pool, exercise equipment and a business center. Another nice touch is that you get two free bottles of water at check in, there are free cookies available, and there is a "pantry" that has a nice selection of snacks and some essential toiletries available for purchase. The hotel has everything a business traveler would need -- would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincycouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We have visited this area over the past four years. Have stayed at other hotels - one very uncomfortable experience - a hotel had been booked that was having union issues and we were subjected to their distain and had fliers handed to us everytime we went in and out of the property. (we are not from the area and of course the reservation clerk did not disclose this information). The lobby is welcoming, warm with a fireplace and beautiful decor. On site restaurant - not complimentary breakfast - but it is a made to order buffet - also a pantry to buy addtional food/beverage items. Front desk staff were very friendly, helpful with directions and questions! Didn't require shuttle transportation, but it was available and permitted to take you to restaurants...etc. Business center - gym - pool - outside patio - ! Clean, great beds and yes, a coffee maker that is not kept in the bathroom. Yeah !

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

This HGI Property surprised me as I walked in the lobby. The walls were updated, the furniture and fireplace just gave me a warm feeling. Somewhat of a Hyatt Place atmosphere.
I stayed one night as it was close to Wolf Road for a stop at Kinko's before i picked up a friend at the airport for a meeting. To my surprise again, the room was updated with a light green accent wall and the bathroom had dark wall paper with dark wood counter tops. The Desk was well positioned to the Flat Screen TV could swivel so I did not have a sore neck watching the news while I worked. The fitness center had free weights and quality Precor equipment. The breakfast the next was even more impressive. The wait staff was quick on their toes and the kitchen staff would not let you touch the hot food like oatmeal...That made me feel better about the quality and cleanliness of the other foods.
I have stayed at the Hampton Inn a few months back on Wolf Road and the HGI across from SUNY Albany...if your looking for quiet and a walk to the airport, this is the location. If you want to walk out to food than you want to choose Hampton Inn on Wolf Road. The SUNY HGI is close to the mall if you want to hit the mall for dinner.

Room Tip: Even if you face the airport the rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadWariorSalesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
3.8 km away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
3.1 km away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
2.8 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Best Western Albany Airport Inn
6.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
3.5 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albany Airport / Wolf Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
Address: 800 Albany Shaker Rd, Albany, NY 12211-1054
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#5 Family Hotel in Albany
#6 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the exceptional service of the redesigned Hilton Garden Inn® Albany Airport. Our first class New York hotel is surrounded by the Adirondack Mountains and is just a half mile from the Albany International Airport. We offer our valued guests complimentary airport shuttle service and onsite parking. Whether you’re here for business, a wedding or a leisurely New York getaway, you’ll appreciate our ideal Albany location near area universities and New York youth sports venues. Guests staying at the Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport Hotel also enjoy easy access to downtown Albany, the National Baseball Hall of Fame, Saratoga Race Course and Times Union Center.Our Albany airport hotel offers refreshed accommodations, warm hospitality and thoughtful amenities. The modern concept at our beautifully remodeled hotel includes private seating areas equipped with LCD TV's, an outdoor patio featuring a fire pit, a chic new restaurant with a one of a kind menu and a trendy lobby perfect for gathering with colleagues, friends and family. The Albany, New York Hilton Garden Inn creates an atmosphere perfect for business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport Hotel Albany
Hilton Albany
Albany Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing