We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Old Colonial Feel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Desmond Hotel Albany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Desmond Hotel Albany
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Old Colonial Feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Located conveniently to Albany International Airport and lots of good eateries, and shopping. The Colonial decor makes you feel like you stepped back in time, but with today's conveniences. Fitness room with pool and hot tub. The charming "courtyards", fireplace in the lobby, lots of greenery, well appointed rooms (some with king four-poster beds) that are fairly spacious. Fun "pub" with live music some evenings. Good spot for business meetings and conferences.

Room Tip: The rooms towards the rear of the hotel and on the 4th floor tend to be quieter. If you are looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LP1247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    246
    121
    48
    29
See reviews for
142
154
27
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkshires
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Very nice hotel...comfortable next to Albany airport and rates under $150. Has a restaurant and nightclub and there are tons of other restaurants with 1/2 mile

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daltjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

I arrived on a sunday to a country I didnt know , after traveling all day , and arrived in the snow, to a warm welcome from the concierge, who collected me from the airport within 15mins and within an hour I was in a hot bath. The staff were well trained and friendly, cant cope with me getting up earlyer than 6.30 am and I would suggest opening earlyer for breakfast. Other than that the stay ( 5 nights ) was great

Room Tip: M class rooms seem to be bigger ( and are on the ground floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

My only concern is need softer pillows...had a hard time sleeping.. but love this Hotel.

Room Tip: You will be extremely happy with your stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I would definitely stay here again. Everything was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

I hosted my parents 40th anniversary party here as well as my best friends bridal shower and my daughters baptism celebration. The first two were excellent and well worth the cost. Food was plentiful and outstanding as was the service. Unfortunately my last event, the baptism was not up to expectations. We chose to hold it in their Lodge room just for the intimacy purposes but wished we would have been warned against it. The set-up was odd and left no room for movement which resulted in everyone sitting at their tables until lunch was over and they left. The food was the same price we had paid previously for the bridal shower but was half as much. Could have been due to spacing issues which is understandable but then they should have refilled the dishes as soon as they were empty. The table centerpieces were not out when we all arrived -banquet manager didn't even know we had centerpieces and then spent a decent amount of time looking for them as they were locked up in an office (which they hotel knew about a head of time since it was their idea to store them there). We also asked that all the drinks (soda and coffee) be out when the guests arrived. The only thing out was water and iced tea whe had purchased separately. Nothing big but all the little things add up. Like I said, this was my third event there and I don't know I'm likely to plan anything else there, but I love the atmosphere and before this last time everything had been wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeyWest16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesmondAlbanyGM, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Albany, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
The Staff of The Desmond prides itself in creating memorable events and helping our guests in the celebration of Life’s special moments. While we are very pleased that the majority of our events have an overwhelmingly positive response, we recognize that we have not pleased this guest. We have researched the issues and reviewed this guest’s comment with our staff to insure the correct service for future events. We are disappointed that this customer was not satisfied with their event and hope that we have an opportunity to make it up to them in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed for four days on business, I have been waiting to try The Desmond for a while. The rooms are nice, I would not say they are excellent. I had a room with a balcony looking over the courtyard. The TV's were outdated, the furniture was correct to the time period they are attempting to portray. As for conference facilities, they are excellent. The restaurant is another story, i ordered chicken marsala from room service. When I saw the dish I was shocked the, sauce used was not marsala it was a gravy base. the chicken was a little bit overcooked. It was late in the evening and I was tired so I didn't make anything out of it. Overall I would have to rate the Desmond as average, the cost to value is the reason why I rate it average. A little larger room and a kitchen that actually cooked chicken marsala correctly would have gone a long way.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJCNewYork_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesmondAlbanyGM, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Albany, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Let me begin by thanking your for choosing our hotel for your conference. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about your room and room service dinner. Our Guests comments play a major role in our decisions and the changes we implement. We are disappointed that your room service dinner was not satisfactory, and that the TV in your room was outdated. The Desmond is undergoing renovations of our guest rooms and is installing flat screens TV’s with HD signal throughout the hotel. We also are constantly striving to refine our menus to offer a wonderful room service dining experience, so your feedback is important to us. We value you as a guest and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns. Again, thank you for your kind and courteous support. We look forward to your next visit to The Desmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
2.0 km away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
2.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
9.3 km away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
4.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Desmond Hotel Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desmond Hotel Albany

Property: The Desmond Hotel Albany
Address: 660 Albany Shaker Rd, Albany, NY 12211-1056
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albany
#8 Family Hotel in Albany
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#10 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Desmond Hotel Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desmond Hotel is conveniently located at the entrance of the Albany International Airport (ALB), adjacent to shopping on Wolf Rd and minutes from downtown Albany via I-87 and I-90. As Albany's premier hotel and conference center, The Desmond is an independent, family owned and operated property that is proud to celebrate over 40 years of providing superb accommodations, outstanding service and a one-of-a-kind experience. Deluxe accommodations await with 322 guest rooms and suite options including king size four-poster beds, double queen beds, executive suites, junior suites and spiral staircase duplexes. The hotel offers exceptional dining choices in our casual, sophisticated Simpson's and The Tavern, an English pub. Modeled after a colonial village square, our two indoor courtyards feature mock storefronts, brick pathways, a koi pond, beautiful fountains, and balconies that overlook our year-round landscaping. Together with our elegant ballrooms, these indoor courtyards provide a gorgeous and unique backdrop for weddings and galas. Versatile facilities, award-winning food, and personal service make the hotel an exceptional venue for meetings and conferences. We invite you to experience The Desmond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Desmond Hotel Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desmond Albany Hotel Albany
Desmond Americana
Desmond Hotel Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing