We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Groundhog Day....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Commodore Busan
Ranked #32 of 136 Hotels in Busan
Dubai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Groundhog Day....”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

It is important to stress from the outset, I was not staying for a few days, I was ensconced in the Commodore for 4 weeks, whilst in Busan on business.

While I may agree with some of the reviews on this site, I would strongly suggest that the scores would drop in line with the length of stay.

Rooms are adequate, in-room entertainment sadly lacking. For a hotel targetting business travellers, the lack of non-Korean channels was disappointing. I have never gone so long without viewing the TV!!!

Restaurants are where the Commodore REALLY slips up. The Amiral Yi and the Buffet restaurant sit side by side. The Admiral Yi's menu mirrors almost precisley the Room Service menu, with the resultant lack of variety. The Viking Buffet Restaurant is in a time warp. I have never attended a buffet style sitting where the food on offer does not change as the days pass. I could still tell you each dish on offer from memory (Pumpkin Soup was the starter staple, a number of (Insert Meat Here) Dish etc etc).. I actually lifted the gauntlet and accepted the challenge to see just how long I could contnue to visit the restaurant before succumbing... Finally, I had to exit my Groundhog Day and eat out, or order in from outside..

I have only just realised after checking the website that there is a 3rd restaurant in the Commodore, hidden away in the basement.. So my apologies for not being able to review that one...

A couple of days wouldn't be to bad. Any longer and the Commodore really starts to show its deficiencies..

Room Tip: The 'upgrade' to a corner suite just isn't worth it. More importantly, make sure you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotsExpatDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    130
    65
    10
    4
See reviews for
47
30
27
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vladivostok, Rusland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

It happens that I stay in this hotel quite a time every year. It used to be a business hotel, but today most customers are tourists, who spend a noght or two here. It downshifted service quality - those who come and not return don't care, but regular clients do. That's sad.

Room Tip: the best rooms are corner suites. Those looking ar sea are bigger and more comfortable. Deluxe roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrey_Buzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This is too traditional for my taste, by that i meant the architecture.. Truthfully im a bit spooked by the design.. But maybe that's just me.. Overall this hotel is ok, but i would prefer to stay in a more modern hotel..

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latimelati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My second business trip in Busan and this hotel was in the perfect location. Traditional Korean style hotel, perhaps not to everyones taste, but it did the job with some excellent facilities. I will definitely return here!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chrisbell85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This hotel needs a serious facelift! The staff is not friendly either. Their attitudes were just as stale as the hotel itself. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solegirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Busan hotels

Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The Hotel Commodore is old school hotel in Busan. It is nice in terms of lobby, quite impressive even. The lobby offers free WLAN access, in the rooms you have to pay quite a lot.
The rooms are absolutely fine and ok, however, rather old and not modern anymore.
The pool is nice to swim, free of charge, but the facility is a bit old.
The buffet is very nice and rich.
The service at the reception was very good and helpful, quite an asset.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoker explicitly if you want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitesailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I have made booking online for Commodore Hotel in Busan because other good location hotels were unavailable.

This hotel is Chinese-themed decoration for the entire hotel. Air-condition is not working properly, so we called technician guy to fixed. He came and fixed it but it wasn't cool. So, we just leave it like that and open window instead.

Internet is free in the lobby only. For in-room internet, you have to pay extra.

The location of this hotel is look like we can walk to Busan Station, but in fact, it is quite far and also up-hill, down-hill. However, taxi fare in Busan start from 2,200 won, which is an okay price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patralak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Busan hotels
0.2 km away
Crown Harbor Hotel Busan
12.9 km away
Novotel Ambassador Busan
6.4 km away
ibis Ambassador Busan City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Tower Hill Hotel
Tower Hill Hotel
#21 of 136 in Busan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
5.6 km away
Lotte Hotel Busan
Lotte Hotel Busan
#1 of 136 in Busan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.8 km away
Toyoko Inn Busan No.1
Toyoko Inn Busan No.1
#25 of 136 in Busan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commodore Busan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commodore Busan

Property: Hotel Commodore Busan
Address: 151, Junggu-ro, Jung-gu, Busan 48912, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Busan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 136 Hotels in Busan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Commodore Busan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Commodore Busan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing