We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ToadXer
Manila, Philippines

Friendly and Simple

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 9, 2011
Very good price and easy walking distance to historical sites and the trendy downtown area.

Very small, simple rooms for nothing but sleeping, but a great courtyard and kitchen for socializing. It has a nice traditional look and good atmosphere. The floor heating was great for sleeping on the floor on chilly fall nights. However, you can hear everything through the walls so you don't get much of a feeling of privacy.

Free eggs, toast, and jam for breakfast and instant coffee or tea all day.The owners provided us with convenient maps and directions for sightseeing. One night, he made a bonfire and played us his bamboo flute.
Date of stay: October 2011
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$196
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$195
  • Trip.com
    C$167
  • Hotels.com
    C$195
6.1 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$147
C$114
Fully refundable
  • Trip.com
    C$122
  • Expedia.com
    C$134
  • Agoda.com
    C$115
6.7 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
C$218
  • Trip.com
    C$219
  • Expedia.com
    C$219
  • Hotels.com
    C$219
6.7 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$81
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$79
  • Agoda.com
    C$77
  • Hotels.com
    C$87
7.3 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$208
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    C$187
  • Hotels.com
    C$206
6.4 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free parking
Pool
book cafe
C$123
  • Expedia.com
    C$135
  • Trip.com
    C$115
  • StayForLong
5.7 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kamar menghadap bukit
C$81
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    C$77
  • Trip.com
    C$91
11.9 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$131
Fully refundable
  • Trip.com
    C$132
  • Agoda.com
    C$123
  • Priceline
    C$129
7.2 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
ベッド
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$201
  • Vio.com
    C$178
  • Trip.com
    C$283
5.9 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$104
  • Trip.com
    C$91
  • Priceline
    C$103
26.3 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Gyeongju
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
60
35
13
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
60
35
13
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 111 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This hanok-style guesthouse is cheap and cheerful. We slept in one of the ondol rooms, which meant a windowless tiny room only just big enough for the thin sleeping pad (we couldn't even put our suitcase horizontally on the floor), and an attached en suite bathroom, which was not glamourous but was fine. Our room opened out onto a courtyard where you can eat breakfast, and as other reviewers say, tea, bread, jam, butter, and eggs are provided free of charge. The location is convenient for Tumuli Park and the observatory; slightly less so for the bus/train stations or the town centre, but all are in walking distance. We'd planned to stay longer but found the sleeping pad so uncomfortable (even when we'd persuaded the nice owners to give us four!) that we left early. Ondol sleeping is clearly not for everyone - we had some sleepless nights, and when the room is so tiny, it's particularly frustrating. Note they don't provide towels. I was able to pick up free wifi, and they also have free use of a computer in the main house (next to where the breakfast things are kept).

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ms_scotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed for 3 days and enjoyed it very much. Its a charming place. The rooms are very small but the garden makes up for it. Location great and the recommandation from the couple on what to see and where to eat very helpful. No beds but ask for a thicker mat.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteffenKindt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

PROs
1. The wife of the owner speaks English and is very knowledgeable about the area.
2. They have maps and books of the area.
3. Location is great - right near Tumuli Park
4. Free breakfast - You can cook yourself some eggs and toast.
5. Traditional Korean-style place
6. Inexpensive

CONs
1. Walls are paper-thin. You can hear people coughing snoring, going to the bathroom, opening their doors, etc. All the rooms are connected.
2. There is no air conditioning. Sleeping is almost unbearable in summer if you don't leave your door open for ventilation.
3. Some rooms don't have beds. They are Korean style, which means there is a thin pad on the floor of the room. If you are not used to this, it will not be comfortable.
4. Rooms are tiny.
5. There are no towels for the bathroom.

Overall, I would not recommend this place if you a light sleeper and want a little privacy. There are tons of "love motels/hotels" within a 15 minute walk of Tumuli Park. You can stay at one of those places for $40-100 a night per room, and the rooms have beds, fans or aircon, towels and toiletries in the bathroom - basically all the amenities that a motel/hotel should have. I ended up staying at one. Beware, the people who run the places don't speak much English. They wrote down a price on a piece of paper for me, and I used gestures to tell them that I wanted to stay two nights.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a bed.
Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alexa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Sarang-chae Guesthouse is a worthwhile traditional Korean house (hanok) experience, a comfy blend between the old and new world. The owner, Choo, and his wife, speak English and will help with any questions you may have about the accomodation or getting around the Gyeongju area. The rooms are traditional and bare except for a sleeping mat/pillow/comforter and a nightstand. During colder weather, you'll be treated to ondol, a wonderful underfloor heating system (A/C is also available for summer). No worries - the bathrooms are modern with a Korean-style shower. The lounge area has a kitchen which you are free to use, tv, computer, lots of travel guides/maps/information. Eggs/bread/green tea are available for breakfast, which is a nice touch. You're likely to run into other travellers and have some great chats, and a lot of the guests just hang out there when not out. There's also a courtyard which I'm sure would be lovely in warmer weather :) and it contains the sweetest dog, Jin-Seun. The bus stops to sites farther afield and the bus stations are a BIT of a stroll, but the guesthouse is literally below the royal tombs and a short walk to the observatory, forest, Anapji and the museum (all important downtown sites). I loved that it was in a quiet, traditional hanok neighborhood very different from the run-of-the-mill tourist hotels near the bus stations and the expensive "resort" hotels around Bomun Danji. I paid $25/night for my pvt. room w/ bath. You just can't beat that!

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rahulpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

If you are just looking for a place to sleep that is in a great location then this is the place that you should book. They have both western and ondol (traditional Korean) rooms. It is a very old traditional place, nothing fancy and a bit overrun, and the rooms are tiny. Bring all your necessities including a towel, nothing is provided. The owner does speak English but he is hardly ever around, the wife is sweet and friendly. The rooms are warm but paper thin, get ready to know more about your neighbor than you should.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 896tracye
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews