We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
kkcritch
Ann Arbor, Michigan

cozy, convenient, charming

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 28, 2011
I traveled here with my husband and brother for 2 nights in April 2011. The hosts were very accommodating with the fact that we had 3 guests, and for $13/person after all was said and done, you can't beat it! I loved sleeping on the heated floors (and I prefer a hard mattress, so thick blankets on the floor was fine with me), and according to my brother's Korean girlfriend, this is exactly like her grandpa's house and traditional Korean living. Each room had its own private bathroom and shower with hot water, and the common area of the hotel was extremely awesome by having water cooler/hot water, dishes to use/share, wifi, game tables, and a computer for checking email/flights. The grounds are beautifully landscaped; you can choose whether you want your stay to be social or private depending on where you hang out in the house, though I loved getting to know other travelers in the common space. The hotel is right next to a public park and within walking distance to restaurants and markets.
Date of stay: April 2011
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$100
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$165
  • Hotels.com
7.3 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$98
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Garden and breakfast room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$405
  • Vio.com
0.1 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$138
  • Hotels.com
11.3 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$90
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$209
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
호텔정면
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$208
  • Priceline
11.8 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$374
  • Hotels.com
22.1 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Gyeongju
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
60
35
13
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
60
35
13
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 111 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Seriously I like it. But my hb complain the room too small n no tv inside the room. But the thin mattress really killing us. Bathroom size is almost the same size as the room.... the location is great, walking distance to most of the areas. Owner kindly explained the way how to go bulguksa. N call cab for us when we checkout that time.

Date of stay: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davinci_maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Sa Rang Chae is the perfect way to have a close view to what the Korean living way is, there you can enjoy a pleasant stay in a floor heated wood house with paper made walls and all. It looks strange but even in winter is perfect when there is snow outside, you can sleep onthe floor, which is heated, over a nice mutton like bed, It is a little bit hard for people not used to it like me, I sleep in a bed, not on the floor but it is not that hard for a couple of nights. I highly recommend this place for a quirk experience.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eusko
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Very good price and easy walking distance to historical sites and the trendy downtown area.

Very small, simple rooms for nothing but sleeping, but a great courtyard and kitchen for socializing. It has a nice traditional look and good atmosphere. The floor heating was great for sleeping on the floor on chilly fall nights. However, you can hear everything through the walls so you don't get much of a feeling of privacy.

Free eggs, toast, and jam for breakfast and instant coffee or tea all day.The owners provided us with convenient maps and directions for sightseeing. One night, he made a bonfire and played us his bamboo flute.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToadXer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This hanok-style guesthouse is cheap and cheerful. We slept in one of the ondol rooms, which meant a windowless tiny room only just big enough for the thin sleeping pad (we couldn't even put our suitcase horizontally on the floor), and an attached en suite bathroom, which was not glamourous but was fine. Our room opened out onto a courtyard where you can eat breakfast, and as other reviewers say, tea, bread, jam, butter, and eggs are provided free of charge. The location is convenient for Tumuli Park and the observatory; slightly less so for the bus/train stations or the town centre, but all are in walking distance. We'd planned to stay longer but found the sleeping pad so uncomfortable (even when we'd persuaded the nice owners to give us four!) that we left early. Ondol sleeping is clearly not for everyone - we had some sleepless nights, and when the room is so tiny, it's particularly frustrating. Note they don't provide towels. I was able to pick up free wifi, and they also have free use of a computer in the main house (next to where the breakfast things are kept).

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ms_scotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed for 3 days and enjoyed it very much. Its a charming place. The rooms are very small but the garden makes up for it. Location great and the recommandation from the couple on what to see and where to eat very helpful. No beds but ask for a thicker mat.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteffenKindt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews