We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
smkarl
Rockland, Massachusetts

Authentic, adorable inn

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 23, 2013
This little guesthouse was absolutely adorable and perfectly located. The owners were incredibly kind and helpful, and managed to find a room for us even though we had no reservation. They were incredibly accommodating, and were willing to store out luggage while we went out sight-seeing both before and after our stay.

Our room was ondol-style, though a mattress was available in the room if wanted. We stayed in the large room, which was perfect for a group of friends. Our room had a TV and a private bathroom, though towels were not included. There is a community kitchen on site, with breakfast included (eggs, toast, OJ, etc.). There is also a laundry facility available, though we did not use it.
Date of stay: January 2013
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$216
C$195
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
6.1 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
C$219
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
6.7 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$147
C$134
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
6.7 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$211
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
6.4 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free parking
Pool
C$91
C$80
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$80
7.3 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$104
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$104
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
지하 바라운지 입니다
C$107
C$87
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$87
1.1 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Bar/Lounge
ベッド
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$339
  • eDreams
5.9 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$114
  • Priceline
26.3 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$162
  • Algotels
7.2 km from Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Gyeongju
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
60
35
13
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
60
35
13
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 111 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Staying in this guesthouse is more an experience than a simple accomodation. All very traditional: common room is very cosy and warm, I loved it. Location is perfect, you can basically reach everything on foot. Near to the station, near to the bus terminal. My room was small and beautiful, with private bathroom. The surrounding area is lovely and very very quiet. I loved the traditional style of the courtyard. Owners are warm people that speak some basic english, they won`t esitate to help you out. The price was cheap and totally worth it. Gonna stay here again indeed if I pass by.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank branca90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was nice to stay at a traditional Korean guesthouse. The location was great too. The room and the bathroom is very simple, so don't expect too much for the price you are paying. The common kitchen and living area is nice, with free wifi and a computer to use. The courtyard is nice too. Walking distance to many attractions, but we rented a bike as well.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed this guesthouse. It's very Korean and traditional. It's nothing fancy but is clean enough and lets you experience Korean living.

Good kitchen and common room. Nice courtyard.

We got a room with a bath for about 45,000 won which was good. There's a couple rooms that are cheaper.

Would recommend to stay if looking for authentic. About 15min walk from intercity bus terminal.

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itravelplacestoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a very unique experience for me to stay in an affortable Hanok Traditional House in the historical city Gyeongju!! I like the place so much, and decided to extend one more night, just want to feel a relaxing atmosphere there!

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

During a weekend, we only stayed one night in this magical place, enough to fall under its spell!

Atmosphere of pure relaxation, owners very attentive and kind, all in a typical Korean house at 20m of a historic site. Probably the best value for money we have ever seen.

Bravo and thank you!

Yvonne & Alain

Room tip: Two different kinds of rooms I think... With bed on the floor (with a thin matress, it was enough for a good night !) or with "real" bed (not tried).
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alain-56fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews