We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique interior and wonderful menu”

Malli's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 73 Restaurants in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Malli's Seafood Restaurant is located Opposite the Hotel THE Surf in the first floor of a small shopping-restaurant building in Bentota. You will find a cozy restaurant with classic interior, dominant with calm and warm colors. The restaurant could serve up to 45 persons at the same time. Inside and Outside seating. Working hours are from 10:00 AM to 11:00 PM. Our restaurant offers day lunch. In the evening you are welcome to enjoy candle light and calm music. Our menu will surprise you with special varieties of Seafood and Fish. Sri Lankan, Asian aswell as European dishes. We offer an extra Kidsmenu and a small selection of Vegetarian dishes. And even meat lovers do not come too short. The kitchen Sheff cooks only from fresh and carefully selected products. Special Events: We are ready to arrange you an unforgettable celebration. It's Seafood time by Malli's Seafood Restaurant GREAT PLACE, UPLIFTING ATMOSPHERE, HIGH QUALITY SERVICE, DELCIOUS DISHES AND GOOD WINE...
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We loved this restaurant which is at the end of the Bentota station platform . You cross the line to get in from the road . And such fun when the odd train rattles past! The tables by the windows are great. And the interior is a most attractive warm brick built rectangle like a warehouse . Unusual in Sri Lanka. Very attractive indeed. A huge credit to the owner designers!

The menu is great. A sort of fusion. We enjoyed the butternut soup with ginger and lemon grass and a fabulous beet root starter with oranges, mint and feta cheese. There were plenty of equally imaginative and refreshing alternatives. The main courses and puddings were all good. Thoroughly recommend you to visit for the menu and the experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank scenario34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,022 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

Visited Malli's on 7th January. Like Diya Sisila and Sankarest we picked up the information about the restaurant from Tripadvisor - tells you that there is not much promotion going on through the hotels who no doubt prefer to keep their guests closeted within their resorts walls. As many other reviews have observed its just across a rail line, which you have to negotiate on foot to get to the restaurant. Malli has done a great job with the decor and it has a modern trendy feel to it. Food is focused on sea food so we shared a lobster (crayfish) and large plate of jumbo prawns. Both delicious but a little overcooked. Starter was a plate of tomatoes garnished with basil and mint. We finished with cappuccino which was a novelty of espresso with some milk foam on top. Really enjoyed the evening and why would you stay in your hotel with places like this, albeit few, on the coast.

Date of visit: January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dellick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely evening at this great little restaurant. It's an easy walk from the Avani where we were staying, along the road towards The Surf, cross the railway track and head up some steps.
We were seated beside an open window which gave a nice breeze and view of passing trains! The decor is simple and trendy with exposed brick and subtle lighting. The service was very good.
We decided to splurge on the seafood platter for two and it did not disappoint. It began with an interesting starter of sliced tomato with a spice sprinkle, accompanied by toasted roti type bread and a garlic sauce. Was yum! The platter had a whole snapper, a lobster cut in half, several prawns and calamari all in a delicious sauce.
The only downside to our experience was that, as the restaurant was full, we had rather a long wait for our platter to arrive. Mali himself came out to apologise and we were given a glass of wine each on the house to compensate.
Overall we really enjoyed our evening and as we were in holiday relaxed mode didn't mind a wait for our main. The food and ambience were worth it!
Can recommend this great little restaurant to anyone looking for a nice meal not in a hotel in Bentota.

Date of visit: January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank TTNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We came here for lunch , the place is run by a Swiss lady and her SriLankan husband cooks the food . Very unique setting , where we had to cross the train tracks to get there , quite an interesting menu with a blend of western and SriLankan , a must try in you are staying Bentota if only to see the odd train go by !

Date of visit: December 2012
Thank Rana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2013

A surprisingly good find in an unusual location. After stepping out of our tuk tuk, we crossed a railway line after a train had passed closely by, and headed upstairs to Malli's. The restaurant is situated across from a hotel and above a block of various shops. Our first impression was that Malli's was the type of restaurant you would easily find in London or New York, not pretentious, exposed brick work, tasteful fusion of European/ Sri lankan modern design. Also, what is appealing is that there aren't that many tables and plenty of room to manoeuvre between them. The owner couple made an effort to put each guest at ease without being obtrusive, sensing whether we wanted to have a long conversation or not. The waiting staff were excellent, showing us the various catches of fish we could have and how it could be cooked. We ate seafood, naturally, and weren't disappointed. Fresh, reasonably priced and seasoned without being overly so. A real taste sensation. We were offered a local liquor on the house also. A very nice evening. The only slight flaw is that it became quite warm in the room, as there are only ceiling fans and windows on one side of the room (the other side is a brick wall which we sat beside), for ventilation, though it was a particularly warm evening. Highly recommend this place and would certainly return again.

Date of visit: December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ElizabethWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malli's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Bentota, Galle District
 

Been to Malli's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing