We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2017

We have just returned from a ten day stay at this beautiful hotel Vivanta by Taj - Bentota.
We have been to this hotel a few times before but I would like to reccomend this hotel again. The calm, setting, beautiful views of the Indian Ocean and very friendly and helpful staff makes our stay a memorable one each time.
We always eat from the buffet menu in the Palms restaurant - it is so good we didn't feel the need to eat elsewhere. There is a very wide choice on the menu, another plus point is that being vegetarians the food is good as always. Our special thanks go to Dalip Singh Parihar, Manjula Silva Kavirathna who as always makes sure that the food they make for us is at its best.
The pool area is clean and tidy. I have a massage at Jiva few times and Sarit is an exceptional therepist. Staff in the hotel are very helpful and always nothing is too much trouble.
Our thanks goes to Samantha for looking after us. Thanks also goes to Amara and the person who looked after our room. Thanks to Pradeep as well for looking after us.
Enjoyed beautiful surroundings and serene atmosphere.
Our thank you goes to ALL the staff who makes our stay at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota special everytime we visit.
Thank you to Ajay Sawe who as always made our stay very comfortable.
It was our pleasure to have met Neeraj Chaudhry and have so much to learn from, having met once all I can say is we must meet again!
The beach is lovely and serene to walk along and the pool area is always welcoming with plenty of comfortable sun beds.
I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else as Taj always gives me hankering for that place again and again.

Thank you EVERYONE.
Asmita & Narendra

Room Tip: "Rooms on sixth floor as amazing views of the sea"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank np86London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit S, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Warm Greetings from the Vivanta by Taj, Bentota!

We thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking your valuable time out to give us this feedback. We are delighted that you had a most pleasant experience at the resort and look forward to welcoming you back, during your future visits to Sri Lanka!

Thank you for having chosen to stay at the Vivanta by Taj, Bentota!

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
Vivanta by Taj, Bentota
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 2,488 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for our weeks base whilst in Sri Lanka. What a wonderful hotel it is. The way you are greeted when you arrive really makes you feel special. The service from all the staff is just amazing. We opted for B&B but we ate in the main restaurant most night. The quality of the food is excellent and the choice is varied, caters for all pallets also. Pool area is spacious and the gardens are so relaxing. The refurbished bedrooms are amazing and spacious and comfortable. Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GarethSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit S, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Warm Greetings from the Vivanta by Taj, Bentota!

We thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking your valuable time out to give us this feedback. We are delighted that you had a most pleasant experience at the resort and look forward to welcoming you back, during your future visits to Sri Lanka!

Thank you for having chosen to stay at the Vivanta by Taj, Bentota!

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
Vivanta by Taj, Bentota
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

The hotel was superb, the rooms were clean and tidy, comfortable and peaceful. The beach is calm and clean and I totally recommend for families with children. The food was beyond perfection and the restaurant staff was very caring, helpful and kind, especially Mr. Samantha & Mr.Asitha who made us feel so comfortable in the restaurant. The pool was clean and the location of the hotel is nice, the environment is calm. I advise all the foreign people and locals to carry a sun cream because the sun is really burning sometimes in the middle of the day. The service was great, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who plans on visiting the Bentota area.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank sanjith2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit S, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Warm Greetings from the Vivanta by Taj, Bentota!

We thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking your valuable time out to give us this feedback. We are delighted that you had a most pleasant experience at the resort and look forward to welcoming you back, during your future visits to Sri Lanka!

Thank you for having chosen to stay at the Vivanta by Taj, Bentota!

Warm regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
Vivanta by Taj, Bentota
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

From the moment we were greeted on arrival until the time we checked out 5 days later, we had an incredible time. The staff were fabulous, the facilities excellent and the entire experience was incredibly good. We were fortunate to receive a room upgrade and our room was well equipped, perfectly located and very comfortable. The pool area was wonderful and lunch there was fabulous. We tried all the restaurants and whilst they were all good, our preference was for the main buffet dining. Fresh food, great choice and constantly changing selection. The beach was lovely and easy to reach. The hotel organised a car for the day to take us to Galle ( a must do). We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend and return. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit S, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Warm Greetings from the Vivanta by Taj, Bentota!

We thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking your valuable time out to give us this feedback. We are delighted that you had a most pleasant experience at the resort and look forward to welcoming you back, during your future visits to Sri Lanka!

Thank you for having chosen to stay at the Vivanta by Taj, Bentota!

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
Vivanta by Taj, Bentota
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We had never visited Sri Lanka before and booked this hotel via our agent. We received a warm welcome and were immediately upgraded to a large room with direct access to the beach. The staff literally could not have been more friendly and made the place as good as it is. We were on full board and had the breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet each day. There was always plenty of choice and the food was of a very high standard. The chefs were always very interested to receive feedback. There were other restaurants at the hotel but we did not feel the need to stray from the buffet! We also had full body massages at the spa. Our stay was on the edge of the monsoon season but we had at least half a day's sun each day.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank spthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit S, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Warm Greetings from the Vivanta by Taj, Bentota!

We thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking your valuable time out to give us this feedback. We are delighted that you had a most pleasant experience at the resort and look forward to welcoming you back, during your future visits to Sri Lanka!

Thank you for having chosen to stay at the Vivanta by Taj, Bentota!

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
Vivanta by Taj, Bentota
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Loved to stay here. Nice location, beach, views, and the overall facility is very clean. The food is excellent for Breakfast and for dinner, we tried their Chinese restaurant which is also good. Only suggestion is to start dinner service at 6 pm instead of 7:30pm. This hour is too late (probably works for locals but those who follow proper diet practices, including even ayurveda), like to eat earlier such as 6pm.

Room Tip: Pick the one with a great view obviously!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank amitgupta2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit S, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Warm Greetings from the Vivanta by Taj, Bentota!

We thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking your valuable time out to give us this feedback. We are delighted that you had a most pleasant experience at the resort and look forward to welcoming you back, during your future visits to Sri Lanka!

Thank you for having chosen to stay at the Vivanta by Taj, Bentota!

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
Vivanta by Taj, Bentota
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed for this hotel for five nights in September with our three year old. We lobby for the hotel is grand,stylish and very welcoming. The gardens around the hotel are beautiful and I enjoyed being shown around one of the hotels large green houses by one of the hotels gardeners. The hotel has an adjoining beach which is very beautiful and also operates daily activities for guests such as magic shows and fish finding which is good. There are a number of restaurants in the hotel, we only eat in two, the fine dining one was a little disappointing as we found the food very expensive and not particularly of outstanding quality. Most of the time we ate from the buffet restaurant which catered for our daughter.
We stayed in a deluxe sea room which was very spacious, was furnished nicely and had a large balcony where you enjoy the view of the stunning fa dens. The bathroom could do with an update and the room could do with a lick of paint but other than that we were pleased with the room. The housekeeping staff were wonderful and kept us regularly supplied with wine, fruit and water! When our daughter was sick in the night they cleaned the room swiftly and the manager checked in with us by phone and by a personal visit the next day to check whether her we needed a doctor or any other assistance. My daughter enjoyed the swimming pool and the small playground area. The front of desk staff were also very helpful. I would recommend staying here and encourage travellers to travel around Bentota as it truly is a beautiful place !

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Bristolmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranjit S, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Warm Greetings from the Vivanta by Taj, Bentota!

We thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking your valuable time out to give us this feedback. We are delighted that you had a most pleasant experience at the resort and look forward to welcoming you back, during your future visits to Sri Lanka!

Thank you for having chosen to stay at the Vivanta by Taj, Bentota!

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
Vivanta by Taj, Bentota
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
1.7 km away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.8 km away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.3 km away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
944 reviews
12.3 km away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 3 in Ahungalla
3,664 reviews
0.6 km away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bentota
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#3 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: C$182 - C$503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing