We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation”
Review of Club Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Club Villa
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2017

We really liked this Villa. Clean and tidy, very attentive staff, great pool, very very easy to do nothing. In fact miles of beach are just a few steps across the local train track. It might seem odd to have the train run at the end of the garden but it was not frequent and we gazed at them and they gazed at us and it was delightful.

Room Tip: All the rooms face on to the garden so no advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickRyley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasitha K, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for the review! It is so good to know that you have had such a great stay!We hope you will come back soon!

Thanks & warmest regards
Hasitha & Club Villa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2017

This might sound harsh (especially to the helpful rank and file staff) but it has to be said because Club Villa is grossly over-priced, over-rated and over the hill. It is lacking in the ambience so many come for, hoping to find it in a much touted Bawa-designed resort.

How so? 1. My wife was put off by cleaning rags hanging over a large urn at the entrance when we arrived. I thought it was the manager's underwear. 2. A cockroach shared the room with us. 3. Dented, rusty lampshades more at home in a junkyard, among other dated relics that tried to pass off for room furnishings. 3. An inhospitable manager - business-like, unfriendly and more keen to sell us tours. 4. A rundown toilet I wouldn't expect even in a 2-star hotel - think garish white lights, old vanity tops, peeling paint, chipped off cement.

The whole place has age and neglect written all over it. Shame on the owners who have not invested in its upkeep. And shame to other guests who pay so much and gush over how good it is. I'll concede on one point - the grounds, the lawn, trees and pool area are nice. That's it.

There is no sense of hospitality here. For the same money (or a little more), you are way, way better off in a few other places in the same vicinity. (I can think of at least 2.) Don't be fooled by the pictures. The close-ups will show up a very tired, old place.

I am writing this fresh from my experience - just checked out yesterday.

Room Tip: Don't come!! They need to get their act together. Such as, close down for a major revamp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Khee-Jin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

This is a great place...a real oasis of calm and tranquility. Yes there's a train that goes past every now and again but it just adds to the character and I loved them and I'm no trainspotter!! It's tucked away in a quiet spot and can't be seen from the beach.
If you are intereasted in seeing Lunuganga and brief gardens hire a tuk tuk for a few hours. Suggest you see Lunuganga first as it has a guided tour (at specific times) so it gives you and informed insight to the Brief.
Keep an eye on trip advisor in case the new owners change the character.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lillybrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasitha K, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Dear Reviewer,

We thank the reviewer for their recent stay at Club Villa .We would like to inform the reviewer that we will be planing to do all the necessary upgrades with new management with out change the heritage. We hope you’ll be back soon for another relaxing getaway!

Thanks & warmest regards
Hasitha & Club Villa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We stayed 3 nights here at the end of our Sri Lanka holiday. We were lucky to be upgraged to the club suite which is a lovely room with amazing hot tub, bathroom and seperate sitting room.
The service throughout the hotel was superb, and on the day of departure the hotel were kind enough to lend us another room as we were not departing till 8.30 pm for the airport. I would thoroughly reccomend and hope to return

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank oaklees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasitha K, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Club Villa. It was a pleasure to take care of you during your stay in Sri Lanka and we hope you will be back soon for another fantastic holiday!

Thanks & warmest regards
Hasitha & Club Villa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We finished off our tour of Sri Lanka with four nights here and a good choice it was the rooms were large and well kept though the bathroom good do with being modernised
The staff always had a smile on there faces and keen to help in any way Evan down to straightening the towel on your sunned
We were on half board and couldn't fault the the food good choice either western or Sri Lankan for breakfast and a good choice 3-4 coarse evening meal the drinks were also reasonable priced for this standard of hotel
We enjoyed our stay here and if we go back to Sri Lanka would choose club villa again

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynnrg18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasitha K, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your review on Club Villa. We are so glad that you have enjoyed the food, service and ambiance, it was indeed a pleasure to have you with us.We hope you will be back soon for another relaxing getaway!

Thanks & warmest regards
Hasitha & Club Villa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We stayed here for 2 weeks at the end of our 4 week tour of Sri Lanka. What a find. The hotel is perfect if you are looking for a peaceful break. We loved the gardens and loved lounging under the shade of the trees. The staff could not have been more attentive. Special thanks to Udesh and Ben for looking after our room, the lovely gentlemen who looked after the sunbeds and all the waiting staff. We found the food to be excellent and ate here on several evenings. Being on B&B gave us the flexibility to try other local restaurants. The beach is superb and we loved the trains passing by at the end of the garden. We could hear them at night but were never woken up by them. A special treat was the afternoon tea and cakes served in the garden at 4 pm. After this we would sit on our balcony watching the most amazing sunsets. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We loved our room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank aaa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasitha K, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you have enjoyed the food, service and ambiance, it was indeed a pleasure to have you with us. Our team is super happy to read such a wonderful feedback. We hope you will be back soon for another relaxing getaway!

Thanks & warmest regards
Hasitha & Club Villa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

They always say leave the best to last. Well in this case it was true. Wonderfully designed by Sri Lanka's most renowned architect Geoffrey Bawa Club Villa gave a sense of space and luxury. At the end of the large lawn garden with a swimming pool and a short distance across a railway line was an empty beach, an ideal setting. To my surprise at 16.00 we were treated to afternoon tea and snacks. The meals was of a high standard and it was pleasing to see the chef come to the tables and discuss his food. Staff were very polite and helpful throughout from sorting out the sunbeds to helping book in for fights. A quiet restful hotel and one I'd recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank shark939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasitha K, Manager at Club Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Club Villa! We are extremely glad that you enjoyed the Club Villa experience and hope you will be back for another relaxing getaway!

Thanks & warmest regards
Hasitha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.3 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.1 km away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
2.0 km away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
0.3 km away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0.7 km away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Villa

Address: 138/15 Galle Rd, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#8 Family Hotel in Bentota
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: $122 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Villa Hotel Bentota
Club Villa Bentota
Club Bentota
Bentota Club Villa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing