We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
3
1
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
1
2
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 9 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2016

Room & bathroom was cleaned and arranged with modern furniture. the down south railway line is just behind the hotel and extremely noisy for 10-20 seconds when trains were passing the hotel. Other than that its a peaceful hotel. Location is close to beach. there is a restaurant next to the hotel. Even though flat tv screen was fixed, power supply wasn't given. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chanu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We weren't particularly happy with the Chalet. Our bedhead was 5 metres from the railway line which begun at 4.30 in the morning. The tv was poor, English standard was poor. The room was ok but the shower had an open roof which isn't smart in a mosquito area. Breakfast overlooking the highway was quite good. The beach opposite is nice. Strong waves. The turtle hatchery nearby allows you to release baby turtles for a fee which was great. Saman Villas nearby had some of the best food we've ever eaten for a decent price also. The hotel opposite allows you to use their loungers and the food there is ok.

Room Tip: All rooms will be noisy. Ask for one furthest from the railway line.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMcK23_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Chalet is new, clean, comfortable and the two staff that always seem to be there are attentive and supply a half decent breakfast. The air con, which was very much needed, wasn't brilliant. The road outside is busy and can be noisy but it's not unbearable. The railway line is literally 10 yards to the rear of the building and when a train goes past, the room shakes!! However, the trains stop at 10pm and we were not disturbed by them. For a new build, I would have expected to get some hot water out of the shower but however long the water ran, it didn't get anything like warm - fortunately, with the weather being so hot it wasn't an issue. There's not much else there to speak of. Across the road is a nice hotel where they let you use their beach facilities free of charge, which is a plus for The Chalet. It wasn't an unpleasant stay by any means and not expensive. Given more time to look and book (we booked it as a stopover on our way back to Negombo) I would say we may have overlooked it. It needs to have some amenities of it's own really, plus, it could do with some better signage and advertising - when we were dropped of from the bus, the tuk-tuk driver didn't know where it was! Average at best but as I said, bearable for a short stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelizard1061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel with friendly staff. The hotel has a modern Sri Lankan arcitecture and cool design. It is very close to the beach, just to cross the road. Though, bare in mind that the hotel is situated between the rail road and the main road. It gets very loud from the train and cars. The hotel dosen't have any sun beds at the beach but a very nice sun deck on the roof where you can relax. Good value for money.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank amariaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Its a new hotel and that is the only plus point that i can give for this hotel. we stayed two nights there. We booked the hotel through a hotel booking portal and it was disappointing when we entered to the room. the promised facilities are not provided in the room. you get a comfortable bed, wardrobe , a stool and a dressing table only. The bathroom is pretty small and water flow is really slow. if you in a hurry , my advice is just fresh you self up a bit and go. dont go for a shower. The manager is friendly. Breakfast is quite okay. you get two people of staff who watches movies all the day. if you need an iron, you have to tell them earlier because they do not have it in house.

The hotel is situated next to a Restaurant and a Bar called "Machan" which is very noisy all the time. you can walk to the beach just crossing the main road. you will get a turtle hatchery in the beach. The hotel is 3.5 kilometers far from the main town, so it was really hectic for us to go in to the town for lunch and dinner both.

Room Tip: No tips at all....
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anushika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews