We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
27
10
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
10
3
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 43 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2016

Is the best place to relax your self. A beautiful resort in the jungle. Hotel in the style of the very famous architect of Sri Lanka Geoffrey Bawa. The Doctor is excellent. She is a western doctor and a Ayurveda doctor. The Ayurveda treatments are excellent and authentic. A very good place to go.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mk-berlin-mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 7, 2015

This is the place that made me want to write a review! We arrived by car and then we took the most amazing little ferry across the river. It was not a ferry like any other we had seen. The place is just amazing, there are 3 pools my favourite was the roof top one. We spent most of our time there. The view from the roof is fantastic by day or night.
The Ayurveda massages i had were excellent and the view from the room while you have a massage is the icing on the cake.
They have canoes and cycles that you can use. Its a lovely place to go for walks and the river is just literally down there.
The rooms are spacious and beautifully done, the staff is very friendly and the food excellent. We will be back definetely.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorish2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2015

Mangrove Escape is the place to go if you need a real break.
Perfect service, nice rooms,good food, good massage and nature around
14 days of ayurveda and the world looks better
thanks to all staff for a great holiday
Dagmar and Michael Albrecht

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Miguel Axel Mic... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2015 via mobile

Set amid nature, it is on the bank of the bentota river and is surrounded by a mangrove forest.
The place has 2 pools and a rooftop large jacuzzi. It has a great Ayurveda setup with a full time doc and trained therapists.
The kitchen and the F&B experience is designed to deliver to the entire Ayurveda experience.
It's close proximity to Bentota makes it a great place to relax and rejuvenate and yet get around and do some touristy stuff if one so wants.
A must try

Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
Thank SamChoudhry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2015

The riverside location is great, and the building is light and airy, with great spots to relax around the pools and on the balconies. Food is hit and miss - we had lovely fruit, some nice curries, but some dishes were a little strange and very bland (think brown rice string hoppers), which may have been due to the people here for ayurvedic treatments. A niggle, maybe, except if you don't like your dinner, your only option is to summon a tuk-tuk to go into Bentota, and you can't nip out to the shops for a bag of crisps or raid the mini-bar. We also asked for a beer one night, and there was none available, so bring your own booze if you stay and aren't on a detox program, or ask then to get some in ahead of time. The 'dry' nature of the place may also have accounted for the slightly hushed atmosphere at dinner. There is NO WIFI in the hotel, which we learned as we checked in - just a computer you can borrow. Staff obliging and friendly, sometimes a little over attentive. Most seem to speak only rudimentary English. Would come back for the natural surroundings, but would definitely eat dinner out!

Room Tip: Ask for one on the river-facing side - great views
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ianfinchtgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ravigovindu, Owner at Mangrove Escapes, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2015

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to inform you that we now have WiFi services operational at Mangrove Escapes. This is limited to the Main building in the lounge areas and rooftop pool.

We are also delighted to inform you that we now have a new Chef on board who comes with international experience. Do try the Shushi out on your next visit with us.

Alcohol we still do not serve but guests are welcome to carry their own.

Happy holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews