We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,461)
Filter reviews
2,461 results
Traveller rating
1,282
732
288
82
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,282
732
288
82
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cafe bem across the river pool bar thai restaurant water sports suan bua sri lanka all inclusive package bentota river half board different theme a short boat ride kids club indian ocean river view jet ski huge pool
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 2,461 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic service it's feel like home. The location of the hotel is marvellous and it is surrounding sea and river called Bentota. Have to use boat service just around 400Meters to reach hotel after welcoming that is some kind of difference experience for all gusts. Honestly it a best place to spend the vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Centara Hotels & Resorts
Thank nimaldayarathna88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxi W, Manager at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Nimal,

Thank you for taking the time to visit us recently and for writing such an amazing review of your experience with the users of TripAdvisor.

We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed the stunning location of the resort,overall facilities and the personalized service delivered by our team. We all truly appreciate your kind comments and recognition.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we all sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Maxi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Whether you're local or foreign, introverted or extroverted; this is the ideal place to spend your vacation. The first thing I love about this place is the location. Located in a peninsula and having access to both the river and the sea; Centara guarantees the best of both wonders. The boat ride to the hotel alone is something out of a fairytale and the hospitality of the staff speaks volume of the quality service they're going to deliver, throughout your stay. It was a rainy day when we went to the hotel but nevertheless, the staff made it more welcoming. During our stay, we were able to relax and enjoy our time at the cafe. The bar was pretty great too. Though there were few mocktails options, there were plenty of alcoholic beverages to choose from. The music, lighting and the staff create a unique tropical ambience in the bar, it almost felt like an indoor Island. Since the Hotel was celebrating Oktoberfest that night, we were able to dip down into a buffet of Bavarian delicacies at the restaurant. It surely was a night to remember!
Throughout our stay, Mr Maxi, the GM of the hotel, personally made sure that our stay was a memorable experience and indeed it was.
Looking forward to going back there again!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Dhanuka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxi W, Manager at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Isuru,

Thank you for taking the time to visit us recently and for writing such an amazing review of your experience with the users of TripAdvisor.

We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed the stunning location of the resort, the superb cuisine served throughout, and the personalized service delivered by our team. We all truly appreciate your kind comments and recognition.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we all sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Maxi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A wonderful resort with everything your heart could desire. The food is amazing. Beautiful beach. Room was lovely once we moved to a room with a king bed.

We booked this deal through Luxury Escapes.

We arrived to our half board deal on a dry day. We were not impressed as we had paid for three hours of free local beer and wine. Very much thought that management should have warned us. However the mini bar did the trick and the GM was very attentive to our displeasure.

For those also travelling on a deal. The three hours of local beers, spirits and wine is available from 7-10pm. For us this was too late. Dinner is 7-10pm which was also too late. As was it for many people, in particular those with children.

The staff and management at the resort are amazing. Thank you to all who served us.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank happyinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxi W, Manager at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear happyinoz,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Bentota.

We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed quality of the cuisine, the overall facilities, and the wonderful service delivered by our team.

It was a pleasure having you with us at Centara Ceysands and we all look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

With Kind Regards,
Maxi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived very tired after a long journey but staff at the Reception were very welcoming. We were leaving on a 3 day trip early next morning, so had to check out of room and store cases, all done very efficiently. We were promised a different room on our return as we had booked a superior room with sea view but our room had the sea view obstructed by trees On our return there was no other room available for another 48 hours so could not unpack, but the new room was excellent with a lovely view . Shyama in reception went to a lot of trouble to get us this room and we were asked by reception staff a few times if we were happy with things which we were. The entire time we stayed we found all staff so friendly, cooperative and nothing was too much trouble.
B Suresh who cleaned our room was fantastic, it was always immaculate and he always had a lovely smile. Every day we had a lovely animal creation with the towels on our bed.
My husband and I wanted to visit a simple village school as for that purpose we had taken books pencils etc.. for the children. Shyama once again organized this for us.She arranged for us to meet the headmistress . We were informed that there were 70 children in two classes. Shyama arranged a driver to take us to the school and also to a stationers to buy more books and pencils. We had so much pleasure in meeting these lovely children and hope maybe others will spare a morning from sunbathing to visit a similar school, Many thanks Shyama .
We can recommend Breakfast by the river and the buffets in the Café Bem which provided a large variety of foods. Nolin Perera who served us drinks at meal times was so good, helpful and attentive. We also enjoyed our meal at the Thai restaurant .
The pool area was very large and the pool boys were very helpful with fresh towels and moving loungers if you wanted more shade or sun.. I would have liked to have been able to purchase just a small sandwich or something small at lunch times but wheat was available was too much at the poolside café.
However, all in all, it was a lovely holiday.
Thanks Centara staff for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Top floor with \\sea or river view
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Storyteller820481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxi W, Manager at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Storyteller,

Thank you for taking the time to visit us recently and for writing such an amazing review of your experience with the users of TripAdvisor.

It’s always a pleasure to receive feedback of this nature and to know our team members made your experience so memorable! We will certainly pass on your gratitude to the team and especially those mentioned.

Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback and we look forward to having you with us back again.

With Kind Regards,
Maxi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good afternoon/evening. Newly engaged couple first of all#yeyyyyy. Been guests at Centara Ceysands for over 2 weeks and this has been one of the best holidays so far. Staff cant do enough to please over your duration of staying . 1st Special shout to trainee Madu' over at the Ben cafe that was amazingly good everyday and again...couldn't do enough to please all the guests. 2nd special shout is to the room attendant Nuwan,that surprised us every single day with his amazing towel sculptures/designs,and cleanliness of the room level 1000. 3rd special shout is to bar and restaurant manager Manik. He made our staying just that little more special. Sorted us with all we needed anytime with a smile.4th is Sanka and Lakmal over at the Thai restaurant.everytime we went there to eat they couldn't do more for us and all the other guests in the restaurant. To top it up,they even set us a good bye dinner table with hand picked flowers .5th and not the last is Sisira over at the Main entrance of the hotel. From the time we arrived and until last day he always had a smile on his face and more than happy to help with everything we asked.

Although these guys made our staying at the Centara hotel awesome, all the staff at main reception and spa where brilliant. Will deffinetly come again.

Kind regards

Gabe and Helen

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mikegabe30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxi W, Manager at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear mikegabe30,

Thank you for taking the time to visit us recently and for writing such an amazing review of your experience with the users of TripAdvisor.

It’s always a pleasure to receive feedback of this nature and to know our team members made your experience so memorable! We will certainly pass on your gratitude to the team and especially those mentioned.

Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback and we look forward to having you with us back again.

With Kind Regards,
Maxi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews