We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

we had a reservation at this hotel, however left without unpacking our cases. On arrival we were met by not over friendly staff, we were taken to given a drink at the lake but tablecloths were dirty, men talking very loudly trying to sort out a good deal for fishing which went on for the whole time we spent at the lake! We were shown our room passing treatment rooms, very shabby and felt dirty, we passed a gym, an old building with a couple of run down machinery! the rooms also felt dirty, my husband saw a snake which he decided to tell me after we had left! We decided it wasn't somewhere we felt comfortable, not what we were expecting at all. Such a shame after reading the reviews we were looking forward to our stay. When we said we were leaving we were not offered any refund, therefore were charged for 2 nights! I'm not sure how this accommodation has good reviews on trip adviser, after 3 weeks of visiting Srilanka sadly it was the only place we couldn't wait to leave!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank slickholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

What a beautiful serene heaven set in a natural and breathtaking setup. The place is big yet very genuine and natural. With several gardens and contemplation spots with every animal and bird that you can think of coexisting seamlessly.
Big modern and separate chalet like rooms with private gardens.
The pool and the jacuzzi are clean and very convenient.
We didn't go the full ayuverda treatment, but we did extensive massage and the herbal oil and the massus "Piyanti" were amazing.
I have also done a beautiful morning yoga session with "piyanti" and the sounds of rain and birds.
The chef "Athula" is a great character and his food is UNBELIEVABLY great.
The owner "Chamal" greeted us personally from the time we arrived and was humble enough to service us himself when needed at night.
The energy of the place is magical and the view on the river is so soothing and serves as a perfect meditation setup.

Food: 5
Service: 4
Price: 4
Convenience: 5
Facilities: 4 with a small gym, pool, jacuzzi, private condos, ayuverdic treatment, massage, gardens...
Energy: 5 super soothing
Style: Calm and natural retreat

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Colonelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

I lost my money to a theft from the room, so my advice is to be very careful with your valuables while staying here. I believe the cash was stolen by the service staff, while we were relaxing in the green lawn outside the room. That apart, the other negative would be that this place is in a forlorn suburb, far away from the tourist hot-spot and it is very difficult and expensive to get a transport here. The positives are that this place has an extensive green cover with gardens and plants and has a beautiful river-side restaurant with decent food. The owner and the chef are courteous and efficient; I am really disappointed with the other staff after the theft incident. Thankfully it was my last night of stay here, when it happened.
Go for this place if you are into Ayurveda treatment and massages (which by the way is quite steep in its cost) and if you like to spend some lonely time.
Avoid it if you are on a vacation and would like sightseeing.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Padam_Bhushan_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamal D, Owner at Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Sir,
I understand that you have lost the money in the room but we have a room safe in every room and also we have done a room introduction show all the things in the room when the time of your arrival.
we have nice staff and the room boy has been here almost 5 years working with all nationalities who are visiting us we could not blame him at once since we don't have any prior complains about him
thank you for your review.
chamal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

I returned to Dalmanuta Gardens after four years - I have always wanted to return. We contacted the owner, who arranged for us to have the same accommodation as previously. When we arrived, we were made very welcome and settled in our lovely room, with a peaceful garden area The whole area is beautiful, with a silent garden where we sat and enjoyed the peace. We like to have a swimming pool and this one was warm and clean, with beds for relaxing. There is a free boat to the beach, which is quiet with the hotels hidden by trees etc. There was the same chef, who is fantastic - thank you, Athula. We ate there every night, as the food was so good and the setting by the river was amazing. We had the perfect waiter, Ruwan, who anticipated everything we needed, bringing out our favourite drinks without needing to be asked. I hope Ruwan will still be there when we return, which we definitely will. I saw the doctor, who recommended a diet and herbal medications for my asthma, but there was absolutely no pressure to buy anything. The massage was effective and well worth it, and having had many massages in various street salons in SE Asia, this was entirely different - the staff are obviously well trained. I would recommend this place to everyone.

Room Tip: All are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MicheleandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Me and my wife spent 2 nights at Dalmanuta Gardens. What a great find! They have 9 large private villas set in lush green surroundings by the river. We had a very relaxing stay and ate a lot of fresh seafood prepared by the chef. The staff is very warm and friendly and we had a great stay overall. We thank the owner Chamal for his amazing hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IndiaTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

We stayed at Dalmanuta Gardens for 2 nights and had a really relaxing time. The room is clean and spacious with two toilets (one with the shower area, another in a separate small bathroom) and a shower that has an extremely high water pressure. The compound is huge with a lot of trees and flowers - Very beautiful. Food for lunch/dinner was good, but breakfast was poor. I was shocked that they serve curd and yogurt in the plastic container that comes when you buy them in a supermarket (I think usually hotels would use a different kind of bowl). There was no cut fruits, just a huge amount of bread and some Sri Lankan food. The waiter at the restaurant has very limited English language skills, and we struggled to communicate with him. The consultation with Ayurvedic doctor was very interesting and massage was also good. The gym was in a terrible shape with three super old and broken machines, so don't count on exercising there. You can do yoga or swim instead.

Overall we were very happy as the resort is a really nice place to relax, but we left the resort feeling a bit cross because while we agreed in writing on the price for the transportation as 50$ for the transfer from Airport and $30 from Colombo, suddenly the price changed to 10,000 Rs (about $65) from the airport and 8,000 Rs (about 53$) from Colombo. Eventually the manager agreed to the originally agreed price, but we had to pay 50$ to go to Colombo. Perhaps it's better to arrange transportation to/from the resort with a car rental company.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hoamai26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

I recommend the cooking class as well as the ayurvedic massages. The restaurant by the river offers a view that you would only get on a river boat tour otherwise. They have a boat to take guests to Bentota beach so you can enjoy the beach while staying somewhere more quiet and authentic. Friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marc-Antoine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
3.6 km away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
3.1 km away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
3.1 km away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
944 reviews
3.4 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
3.6 km away
Amal Beach Hotel
Amal Beach Hotel
#17 of 26 in Bentota
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant

Address: No 21 Meegama Rd | Warapitiya, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bentota
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#9 Spa Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: C$98 - C$134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalmanuta is situated in a large lovely park along the Bentota River. Dalmanuta offers full Ayurvedic Treatment or just a relaxing holiday. The Hotel has two pools, one diving deep and one Jacuzzi pool. The restaurant is open also for guests not living at the hotel. Minimum stay 2 nights ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort And Restaurant
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing