We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
126
22
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
22
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free boat ride the river the sri lankan curry tuk tuk fruit bats small road fresh seafood cooking lesson motor boat rooms are basic swimming pool galle road pineapple ceiling fan room was large prawns turtle hatchery
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 157 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for the last four days of our break after being in Dambulla, Ella and Kandy. This was deliberate so we could chill down.

Key points:

Staff are superb, genuinely lovely and exceptionally helpful. Special mention to Nuwan and Chaminda (Chammy) who just were exceptional. All others excellent but not as much one to one. Their attitude was it was our home whilst we were there.

Hotel is lovely, great view, peaceful, accessible by free riverboat and cheap tuk tuk to town. Rooms large with balcony over the estuary facing the sunset. Beautiful.

Pool lovely and warm.

Wildlife amazing especially fruit bats!

Food at night lovely with choice of fresh seafood from market. We also had cooking lesson from Geoffrey who again was lovely and friendly. All English speaking which helps as our Sinhalese was poor.

Breakfast nice. Not as much choice as some places but did the trick.

Great value.

Very clean.

Nuwan gave us private tour of village, arranged tuk tuk journeys and also a good value airport run. He was excellent and hope his wedding goes well next week.

Paid for river cruise too. Good and saw lizards, bats, fish eagles and baby alligators.

Chammy took us over to shops and a lovely beach in free river boat. Not a bother and a nice bloke with good stories.

This is definitely a place to chill.

In our eyes amazing and hope to return someday.

We were sad to leave. Truly.

Generally in Sri Lanka the people were to a person the most lovely people have ever come across in our travels. Given we travelled internally staying at four places with drivers between and during that takes some saying and our next trip anywhere has high standards to go close to matching this. Waterside Bentota was great.

Many thanks
Jon and Andrea

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jonner1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2017

Just returned from 5 nights at The Waterside, What a great secluded place. Idyllic waterside location - with a free boat trip to the town and local shops. The boat trip to see the local wild life (crocs and lizards, eagles and cormorant) was pretty special too
Great food and such lovely friendly staff (especially Indica who patiently answered all our questions about Sri Lankan life) we were treated like royalty and nothing was too much trouble - they will arrange any trip or car/tuctuc that you want. A big thanks to everyone. The room was large and clean with a balcony looking at the river and they always cleaned it when you were out and came in later to turn the bed down. As there are only 6 rooms it has very exclusive feel and w e came home well rested and chilled. If you love curry...ask the staff to do a special Sri Lankan curry for you....it was delicious
LOVED THE PLACE

Room Tip: All rooms have a river view
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2017

We arrived at the Waterside for three nights at the start of our trip to Sri Lanka. It is situated up the river estuary slightly away from the coast which was easily accessible. I would thoroughly recommend a stay. The staff could not have been more helpful and charming and nothing was too much bother. The rooms were clean and airy with lovely views over the estuary. Thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Best view of the river from the rooms on the first floor
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2017

This is a beautiful, quiet spot. We spent a little time at the hotels on the beach front: they were nowhere near as quite or as beautiful as our place. Also, it's no disadvantage being a little way from the beach. The Waterside has a private boat that they use to take you to the front, and to pick you up again. While we were at the Hotel, we were incredibly well looked after. Jamin, the manager, was very friendly as he boated us around -- nothing was too much trouble. The other staff -- Amulit and Indika -- were also lovely to us. They made sure that we had everything we wanted (even accommodating unusual breakfast requests) and were always ready with a smile. We would come back.

Room Tip: There are only six rooms -- all of them have a wonderful view over the river, so it doesn't really matter which one you choose.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2016 via mobile

Myself and my fiancé stayed at the waterside Bentota for 4 nights. Our trip to Sri Lanka was unfortunately just a short one (as a stop over on our way to Australia) and whist there is so much on offer all we wanted was somewhere to relax. This is the perfect place.

The Waterside is set on River Bentota away from all the other resort hotels on beach which are just a short (free) boat ride away. We had the hotel to ourselves except for Susan who is the owner. The staff are incredibly friendly and welcoming and Susan's story (setting up the hotel in the aftermath of the tsunami) is fascinating. They have made a lovely garden on the waterfront with coconut palms, cinnamon, tea, pineapple and mango trees. It is very serene - the perfect place to read a book. The food has been excellent and the rooms very comfortable. If you need wifi it is generally a good connection.

Do not be put off by coming out of season unless you want to surf as the sea is too rough. Other than the odd shower the weather has been great.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews