We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (763)
Filter reviews
763 results
Traveller rating
605
120
28
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
605
120
28
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pet rabbits sri lanka tuk tuk galle fort private garden beautiful hotel boutique hotel colonial style special thanks surrounded by trees rooms are huge swimming pool central courtyard the general manager nice pool old world charm hotel staff
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 763 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2017 via mobile

While it isn't beach front it makes up for it with peace, tranquility, excellent service and food and beautiful rooms and lounge areas.
We had a family wedding here and I can't rate it highly enough.
Not located right in the centre of galle but only 10min tuk tuk away ... which we were worried about but worked out perfectly as it means you can get a break from the hustle and bustle of the tourist areas.
Thank you tamarind hill!
Also - if you asked the chef - he is happy to do some cooking demonstrations for Sri Lankan food and great stuff like chili crab!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager S, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2017

Dear Andrew T,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear your stay with us was memorable. The hotel is a 250 year old mansion. Turned in to a beautiful masterpiece. with very few rooms and well managed with the well trained staff. Happy to welcome you back soon.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2017

From the moment we arrived we felt like we were in complete luxury. The rooms are very well appointed and very well maintained. The room size is excellent and the bathrooms are also very large. The hotel staff are very hospitable, service excellent and are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The food is fantastic and great value. They have a wonderful variety, but it is best to have traditional Sri Lankan cuisine, as it is delicious and has a huge variety. The pool bar and is very relaxing at the end of the day. The pool is also very relaxing and best to take a dip. Overall would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody and will definitely visit there again when in Galle next time. The hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Saman_Kerryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager S, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2017

Dear Saman_Kerryn,

Thank you for your review. The hotel is a old mansion well maintained with very few rooms. Located just 5 min away from the beach & at a very quiet location. The well trained staff at your service at any requested time. Looking forward to welcome you back soon

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2017 via mobile

Just a few kms short of Galle, we saw a sign board "Tamarind Hill" - the place was easy to miss since it was off the main road.
Just popped in for a cup of tea but we stayed on for more than an hour since we were so overwhelmed by the charm of the place and the staff.
A visit (and stay) here is recommended.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank phillipg196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager S, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2017

Dear phillipg196,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear your stay with us was great. The trained staff will be at your service to make sure your stay with us is great. We are located just 5 min away from the beach. Secluded and calm area. Looking forward to welcome you back.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2017

A luxury hotel that pays attention to the finer details. The white-glove treatment starts with the registration process all the way through escorting you to your wonderful room. The rooms are a throwback to an earlier era, as is the whole property, but equipped with the best you would expect in a luxury resort. Caring staff led by Nihal their manager, through Nilantha - excellent chef, Samira in the front office and I wish I could remember all the others that provided such impeccable service. I would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Any room should be good. 12 of them all facing a central courtyard
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syncopation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager S, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2017

Dear syncopation,

Thank you very much for your review. We are more than happy to hear your stay with us was great! The hotel is a little away from the beach, as it is only 5 min away. Located away from the city. Very calm & quiet. If you love the colonial feel, this is the ideal place as this is a 250 year old mansion. We are pleased to welcome you back soon.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2017

Fabulous place to stay, small luxury hotel with great sri lankian food. Close enough to the visit the fort and other sites around galle. We loved the little rabbits and peacocks wandering around. Pool area is stunning. The ladies from the office helped us dress in saris one day. The hotel building has a great history and has been restored beautifully.

Room Tip: order the sri lankian breakfast
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thelookalikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager S, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2017

Dear Thelookalikes,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear your stay with us was pleasant. Located at one of the main cities in Sri Lanka. 5 minute distance to the hotel is beach. Trained staff. The hotel is equipped with 12 rooms in total. Beautifully placed. If you need to spend a calm & quiet vacation, the best place to be.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews