We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Galle Fort
More Info
Reviews (3,544)
Filter reviews
3,544 results
Traveller rating
1,871
1,323
302
39
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,871
1,323
302
39
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka nice walk world heritage site narrow streets shops and restaurants must visit place few hours historical place cricket ground tuk tuk dutch architecture old town fort walls sea ramparts portuguese
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
337 - 342 of 3,544 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2019

This UNESCO site is beautiful and accessible. Freely circumambulate the walls, popping in to enjoy the colonial decor. Some of the city is still rebuilding/refurbishing, but most of it is in great shape.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 10, 2019 via mobile

Definitely worth visiting if u come to Sri Lanka.

On a hot day, do bring some cover and lotsa water. The fort is very exposed with few trees.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank drlcs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 6, 2019

Galle Fort is a UNESCO site first built by Portuguese and then expanded by the Dutch to protect the natural deep water harbour of Galle. Much of the walled ramparts that encircle the inner city remain and are able to be walked upon, offering views across the harbour or back into the inner city.

We were taken around by a Sri Lankan local and expected to learn more about the fort's purpose, operations and maybe visiting one of the museums. Rather despite it being quite hot and humid, we basically walked the ramparts.
It is such a significant feature in Galle so it's worthy visiting.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

Historicall place full of life ,lots of restaurants & cafe & handicrafts shops that you buy some souvenirs. Church & mosque located inside that you should walk hours to enjoy the place .if you book le grand Galle hotel is close to old Galleh.

Date of experience: April 2019
3  Thank delishnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 6, 2019

As part of a group tour we visited Galle Fort and learned about its history. It was good to be able to compare it to Jaffna Forte which is a ruin. We were able to take pictures of the cricket oval and of course sunset. Also had a nice stop for some refreshments in AC. The Church was also very interesting.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews