We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveller rating
565
170
17
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
565
170
17
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr francissri lankathe main roadswimming pooltuk tukbeautiful gardenlast nightsitting roomliving areapeaceful oasislovely guesthousenext morningbeach lodgebreakfast was deliciouslong flightair concold beer
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 755 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We had the pleasure of staying at Morning Star for 3 nights at the end of our 1 month visit to Sri Lanka. It was a comfortable end to our holiday. Set in beautiful gardens and having a pool was a great bonus. Our bungalow was spacious with a sitting room( with fridge, kettle and tv), an air conditioned bedroom and a bathroom. We also had a veranda with chairs to look out onto the garden. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
It was a 5 minute walk through 'Reggies' to get to the beach-good drinks and a sun lounger at Reggies!
Although our plan was to just enjoy the pool and the beach and not venture too far , we went to the main fish market and was very pleased we did. Amazing scenes!!!
A lovely evening meal was taken at Rohan's-a short walk down the road.
So if you're looking for a quiet, comfortable stay in Negombo-this is the place.

Room Tip: All rooms looked out onto the garden and looked good
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SpikeSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis A, Inhaber at Morning Star Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear friend,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. It is our pleasure to have you with us. I am looking forward to seeing you again sometime in the near future. Your comments are the best service at all times.

Best Regards, Loving, Francis Appuhamy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

It's close to the airport and a perfect location for starting your Sri Lanka Tour. The Hotel has nice green grounds and a pool. The rooms are clean and it was quiet. we travelled with Baby and got a baby cot from the hotel.
The staff was really friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious and with tastes of Sri Lanka.
Thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis A, Inhaber at Morning Star Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear Thomas,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. It is our pleasure to have you with us. I am looking forward to seeing you again sometime in the near future. Your comments are the best service at all times.

Best Regards, Loving, Francis Appuhamy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

I don't feel like leaving morning star, beautiful loving and caring people, from the Mr Francis to the last staff, we feel at home every single moment there, thank you all for everything and morning star will always be part if my life!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Moneke U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis A, Inhaber at Morning Star Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Dear Moneke!

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. It was our pleasure to have you with us.

You too were really nice with us so we are really looking forward to seeing you again!

Your always welcomed if you are in Sri Lanka again!

We wish you the very best in your life!

Best Regards, Loving, Francis Appuhamy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2018

We arrived late & were picked up by a car arranged through Morning Star, we arrived at the hotel & were warmly greeted by Ranjit who showed us to our room & made sure we were comfortable.
The beds were really clean & comfy just what we needed after a long flight, we just used the fan which was fine for us & had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was served in the cute restaurant overlooking the beautiful garden, it was plentiful & delicous, the staff were warm & friendly. The manager helped us sort out our trips & transfers at very good prices which made it all so easy. We relaxed by the lovely pool & lazed on sun beds & enjoyed the garden. Next morning we left at 5am to go to the fish market, it was amazing, it's a must do, on the way back Ranjit our tuk tuk driver took us to St Marys church which was lovely in the early morning light, he also stopped at a Hindu temple where we saw the monks preparing for the morning worship. That afternoon we did a boat trip on the lagoon, we saw many different birds including the beautiful kingfisher, really enjoyed it the sun started to set over the water on the way back which was magical. There are plenty of restaurants in walking distance or its a quick tuk tuk ride to the main area, we had sunset drinks at a beachfront hotel which was nice. It's certainly worth spending at least 2 nights at Morning Star, it's small & friendly and a great price considering the lovely pool and cute cottages, I'm really pleased we chose it and would highly recommend it.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Georgina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisAppuhamy, Inhaber at Morning Star Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2018

Dear Georgina!

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. It was our pleasure to have you with us. Hope you had a good holiday in Sri Lanka!

I am looking forward to seeing you again sometime in the near future.

Wish you long life!

Best Regards, Loving, Francis Appuhamy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2018

Rooms were comfortable and spacious with OK wifi. The grounds were pleasant and relaxing and the breakfast service staff were pleasant. However:-
1. The nightime greeter had a poor grasp of English that was convenient for him because to my horror
2. I had to pay $8 extra for air-con in my room!
3. I had to pay another $8 for breakfast that was served in small portions with no seconds.
4. These hidden extras jacked up the room cost 50% ie. from just over $40 to almost $60!
5. One has to cross a main road and walk 400m to gain beach access
6. The showers were lukewarm at best
7. The bathrooms are old fashioned

Granted, it is a cheap hotel but the underhanded upselling left me disillusioned. Its rating is grossly overrated - it is at best average.

Room Tip: Most rooms looked OK.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank chris19531955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisAppuhamy, Inhaber at Morning Star Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2018

Dear Customer!

Thank you so much for your feedback. We were happy to have you with us.
We are very sorry if we caused you any inconvienience.
However, I would like to answer your points above.
1. Kindly note that we are not a star rated hotel, we are only a "Bed and Breakfast Guest House" and therfore we do not have night shift staff to give you a perfect welcome. We do our best during night arrivals and hope you undestand it.
2. A I checked the records, your reservation clearly states that you have booked "Room only with Fan" for which you should undestand that air condition and breakfast is at an extra surcharge.
3.Breakfast was not included in your reservation. And we have 3 varieties of breakfast which are Asian, Continental (with a lower price) and English Breakfast for 8 USD. The english Breakfast which you selected included tea/coffee, fruits, juice,yogurt,hoppers,pancake,bread,butter,jam,sausages,ham,bacon,cheese and eggs. And if any of these you wanted to have more, you can simply request for more. Without requesting we will not know that you wanted seconds.
4.The extras were not hidden it was simply not read by you before making the reservation. If you reserved all inclusive (direct through us or a local travel agent) you will not have to end up paying them seperately.
5.We have 2 showers, one which has both hot and cold and one with only cold water. And the hot water is generated through solar power and therfore it takes a little time to get it heated.
6.As long as the bathroom is clean and works well, the fashion cannot be a problem for a one night stay. But if there was any issue with its operations, we will then admit it as our mistake.But as there was non, this cannot be a problem.
Thank you so much for your rating. But you mention that we are over rated. We have 720 reviews out of which 96% says Excellent/very good. What made them happy, may not have made you happy. Sorry, we can't help it.
And, before making any reservation, please read all the information to undestand what you book (whether breakfast is included, whether with Fan or A/C) and look through websites to see the photos revealing the so called "fashion" of the rooms. And then if you undestand it is not in your budget or does not suit you, please do not book such accomodation. Then both parties will be benifited.
Thanks.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews