We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ayubowan Guesthouse
Ranked #15 of 216 Negombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This is a great place to stay, and I can't recommend it highly enough. Spotlessly clean, in a very quiet and peaceful location (although the local churches got a bit carried away in the early morning at Easter, which is hardly anything that the Guesthouse owners can control). The property has a nice pool and a wonderful garden. The rooms we had were very comfortable and the air-conditioning was very welcome indeed! The breakfasts were spot-on and the overall level of service as good as you'll find anywhere. Brenda and Ron couldn't have been more helpful with everything - airport transfers, tuk-tuk rides, money-changing advice, tours arranged and excellent restaurant recommendations. The drivers we used were all superb; punctual, knowledgeable, polite and friendly. Many thanks to Brenda, Ron and our drivers (whose names escape me I'm afraid) for all your help and advice.

Room Tip: The two rooms upstairs share a balcony which was (thankfully) in shade for most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickB824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happySriLanka, Owner at The Ayubowan Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Thank you for such a glowing review we are sorry that we have taken so long to respond. We are glad you enjoyed ayubowan and our upstairs suite, as we enjoyed your company and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    28
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
31
128
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We had a wonderful 3nights stay highly recommended.
Brenda )Ron,have a great sense of humour.

Room Tip: All the rooms are first class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnedUnleavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

On a stopover returning from Thailand I was looking for an oasis to relax and experience Sri Lanka. I spent a long time researching the web and couldn`t have hit upon a more perfect spot than the Ayubowan Guest House. Brenda and Ron were the perfect hosts, providing useful information upon request and leaving guests to their own time when required. The house, gardens and swimming pool are a delight. Everywhere is spotlessly clean, my bed was extremely comforable and the air conditioning quiet, though hardly required for my three night stay. Breakfast as most people are quoting was delicious with a full English upon request, plus fresh fruit salad, fresh juice, toasts and jams. I certainly hope to be able to return one day and I shall certainly stay for longer on my next trip. Thank you Brenda and Ron for an excellent and most memorable stay. John Bernard (Yorkshire, England)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herbalj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happySriLanka, Owner at The Ayubowan Guesthouse, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
we are so glad you found what you were looking for buy staying at ayubowan,we will be looking forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Origanilly booked for 7 but stayed 11 nights leaving tomorrow to join my cricket tour party in Galle for the first of two test matches it will be difficult to drag myself away from this tranquil place. Brenda and Ron are outstanding hosts who will do as much or in my case little as you require read,swin, eat and occasionally drink! I could hear them organising buses,trains,tok toks, taxis and airport transfers (any time day or night) plus they have a wealth of local information.
The house, rooms, pool are spotlessly clean and the garden a delight just a short walk to numerous restaurants and the beach.
Running a successful guest house is fine balancing act between private and business (I know having done it for the past 10 years) I think the owners of Ayubowan have got it just about right.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDB1R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happySriLanka, Owner at The Ayubowan Guesthouse, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
thank you for such a positive review and sorry we have not been able to respond sooner. we can only say that you were one of our perfect guests polite not only to other guests but also to the staff. hope you enjoyed the cricket. and that we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fethiye, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2012

A beautiful place to stay. Very comfortable and welcoming. Gorgeous garden and pool area. Walking distance to all Negombo has to offer. Breakfast was delicious. Ron and Brenda made us feel so welcome and could not do enough for us during our stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room with lovely terrace looking on to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bujakgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Brenda and Ron were exceptionally accomodating and we had a great stay.
Breakfast was lovely and we were lucky to eat maybe a third of it!

Ron helped us organise a driver and everything we needed. Our driver Priantha was one of nature's gentlemen and I would trust him completely, he also drove very safely.

The pool was great in the heat and the airport is close by. There is also a hairdresser at the end of the road who will dye your hair so you can look like Beckham.

What more would you want!

Cheers Ron and Brenda, see you next time

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Bill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Brenda greeted us warmly on our arrival despite it being well after midnight owing to a delayed flight. Everything possible was done to make our visit enjoyable and we cannot adequately express our appreciation. Ayubowan is quite simple the most beautiful place in which to stay, and the experience was all the more enjoyable for the knowledge that we were sharing Ron and Brenda's lovely home. I would ask other reviewers to appreciate the totally unjustified hurt that can be caused by negative comments in this regard. Finally, a special word of thanks for Asanka, our driver extraordinaire!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
3.3 km away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#2 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
4.3 km away
Morning Star Guest House
Morning Star Guest House
#1 of 216 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
3.1 km away
The Villa Green Inn
The Villa Green Inn
#7 of 216 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Palms Villa
Palms Villa
#2 of 216 in Negombo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
3.2 km away
The Suite 262
The Suite 262
#9 of 216 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
3.4 km away
Serendib Guest House
Serendib Guest House
#6 of 216 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ayubowan Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayubowan Guesthouse

Property: The Ayubowan Guesthouse
Address: 47/55 School Lane | Ettukalla, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House is situated in Negombo on the west coast of Sri Lanka.2 Double ensuite rooms on the ground floor.2 Double rooms on the 1st floor with shared bathroom, private eating area and balcony All rooms have A/C, ceiling fan, hairdryer, bathrobe. This guesthouse is suitable only for adults, Weddings can be arranged at the house. We also provide airport transfer,free wifi is available. Lunch and dinner is available in the dining room and in the garden. Tourist board approved grade A now 4**** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Ayubowan Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ayubowan Guesthouse Hotel Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing