We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel that should meet/exceed needs of most business & leisure travelers, good sized room & amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Villa Kaohsiung
Ranked #53 of 329 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Kaohsiung is TW's 2nd. largest city and the magnet for the southern counties, our overnight stay is too short to fully enjoy & appreciate, but it's one that we will definitely come back to if touring again on our own, close enough within city center or a short taxi ride away. Room is quite spacious, clean & comfortable and good size bathroom, well-lit and has all the usual amenities like toothbrush, shampoos & bath gels, hand lotion, slippers (too small for my US sized #12 foot, LOL) and 2 comp'd bottle of water and a refrigerator. A hot pot is provided to broil water for tea or instant coffee, provided at no charge (or, to make one's own cup-a-noodles, from 7-11 or FamilyMart, always find them nearby somewhere - for those late-night hunger especially the jet-lagged travelers)
One tip - whenever you see a bakery on site that's open when checking in, buy something or ask if you aren't sure what's "inside" so that you can have something later without looking for room service or find takeout/delivery - unless you plan to hit the local "night market" for street food.
** Major dislike is that, hotel rooms are poorly designed with no free & easily reached 110 volts electrical outlets for today's "connected" business & leisure travelers - so, I'm forced to disconnect other devices in the room to have free outlets to charge/run my netbook PC, recharge the iPad & smartphones. A single outlet on the wall has the floor map plugged in and one has to choose & disconnect, same with the one at the end of the bed behind the wallroom wall - good for housekeeping to vacuum but not where I wanted my devices to be charging (and, easily forget to take back the charger/cable)
Our escorted tour group were treated to buffet breakfast in the morning at the hotel, after an early morning (wakeup) call and checking out of our room first, dropping off the luggage in the roped off lobby area before heading to the dining area to eat. It has a good choice of Chinese/Asian & western items for breakfast, something for everyone - only wished they have no coffee machines as they only brew one cup at a time to order, express or coffee or whatever - and, it can be slow & time-consuming with a group being in a hurry to eat & leave soon. Just a suggestion for management to consider when planning changes.
Our standard/regular room has a good view outside our window & the hallways were quiet, the elevators are small with limited room for travelers with luggage (it's a common problem all over TW as we discovered) and walking the stairs is just not an option (even if it is available to one, when you are on higher floors)

Room Tip: Hi/upper floor all have good views, digital temp thermostat can be hard to set & room keycard mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mking8288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2015

As was staying in as a group. room keys were issued as confirm at 5pm, how ever it could issued at 6pm.

Room is quite nice and amenities was not enough for the numbers of pax to stay. housekeeper was very nice with smiles. Room keys cannot issued more than 4 keys due to system according to the front desk agent but we had 5 people to stay for the room; for me I think that is the restriction rules for them only.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tinho1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

This room 219 was massive, 2 queen beds, coffee facilities, big bathroom with a separate shower, only thing that the hot water was not hot just warm. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet more on the Chinese side.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank microdotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

Nice lobby , spacious and sparkling bright..the room is modern n big..the bathroom is a compact room wash basin and the toilet a little bit to close.
The breakfast have a wide range of menus and the table lay out is well design.
The only turn down that is no wifi at the lobby

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank wonderbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

Not really a bad Hotel best to get the superior room for a few additional dollars, standard room a little small for an extended stay. Breakfast buffet kind of leans on the Chinese side, not a lot of choices for western food / pubs without having to take a taxi. Walking distance to the Lotus Pond and a neat little pub there called Wakey Wakey good bar food and drinks

Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
2  Thank Ben8145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015

First of all I have to say the rooms are okay. Acceptable clean and breakfast was also okay. But not above average.

But now the bad Thing: There is no Wifi in the Hotel rooms. Sometimes ist possible to connect with I Phone but not possible to load any Website!
For Business Trip Internet is essential.

I told the Reception about this. They said that they will install a router in the room. Well they did but the Router was not working. So after all they told us that the Problem is our devices. Ist definately not because we tried it with 4 different devices such as Phones and Laptops.

I found this a Little bit sassy.

PS: The pool is good but you have to buy a Swimming cap.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank max t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2015 via mobile

First time staying in the grand villa, room was well equipped and specious.
The lake view is much preferred over the city view which I had from my room
The Joya serves a nice breakfast and dinner buffet. Has nice selection at a reasonable price.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
Thank Gil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
6.1 km away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
5.9 km away
The Lees Hotel Kaohsiung
The Lees Hotel Kaohsiung
#20 of 329 in Kaohsiung
978 reviews
6.5 km away
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung
#23 of 329 in Kaohsiung
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Hotel Kingdom
Hotel Kingdom
#70 of 329 in Kaohsiung
196 reviews
5.5 km away
The Grand Hotel Kaohsiung
The Grand Hotel Kaohsiung
#36 of 329 in Kaohsiung
116 reviews
6.4 km away
Fullon Hotel Kaohsiung
Fullon Hotel Kaohsiung
#68 of 329 in Kaohsiung
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Villa Kaohsiung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Villa Kaohsiung

Address: No.801 Chongde Road, Zuoying District, Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range: $91 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Garden Villa Kaohsiung 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Garden Villa Kaohsiung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Villa Kaohsiung Hotel Kaohsiung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing