We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Kick off our Safari!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
Ranked #3 of 184 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We stayed at Lake Duluti Serena for 2 nights in June and loved it! The rooms in rondavels are comfortable, spacious and clean. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. The staff was helpful and friendly. The food was good and the bar was lovely. We loved our first animal sightings on the property--blue monkeys! It was a nice base for exploring Arusha and recovering from jet lag.

Room Tip: We did not have a lake view; I'm not sure if any do. There is a lake view in front of the lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Knierim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Lake Duluti Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Knierim,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at lake Duluti Serena Hotel.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed you enjoyed the tranquil surrounding that the hotel is known for and that the team here looked after you very well.

we hope we shall have another opportunity to host you in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Felix Ogembo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2017

Ohh, no words.its a heritage hotel.very well maintained colonial bungalow.located near to lake. Nice location.very good cottages- rooms and bathrooms, well decore,neat and clean. Comfortable stay.serves delicious foods. Takes special care for vegetarians too.was an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Surabhi97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Lake Duluti Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Surabhi97

Thank you very much for taking your time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

The team here is delighted to see that you appreciated your stay with us and our facilities, and you vegetarian diet request was well accommodated.

we certainly look forward to welcoming you back at Lake Duluti Serena the next time you are in Arusha.

Best regards

Felix Ogembo
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

Lake Duluti Serena Hotel Located near Arusha ., Hotel shore of lake ., Fast check in Room neat,Clean & Big ., From outer shape looks Different & Good .,

Big Lobby with Tv & Wifi ., they doing many holiday activities like cycling, Fishing , Boating , Walking etc

Restaurant is best part in hotel dinner was excellent superb taste & International Standard service.,

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank prasadrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Lake Duluti Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear prasadrr,

thank you for highliting the activities that guests can engage in while staying at lake Duluti Serena Hotel. it was a pleasure hosting you and we are delighted to read your feedback. We are happy and glad that you also enjoyed the food offer and the quick service.

we hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future for a longer stay so that you may also have time to sample some of the outdoor activities we offer.

Best regards

Felix Ogembo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Didn't know what we were expecting as a place to stay over to rest up after a long haul flight, before starting safari but was very very pleasantly surprised at this Lodge, it is lovely, really nice rooms and garden, food was very very nice, very good choice and menu, staff were lovely, would have been happy to stay for another night.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alltibalti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Lake Duluti Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Alltibalti,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on lake Duluti Serena Hotel after your recent stay with us.

We are delighted you enjoyed your brief stay with us and in particular our food. we are happy to hear that you would have loved to stay an extra night. we hope we can have the pleasure of hosting you again for a longer stay in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Felix Ogembo
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

This was our first overnight stop after a long-haul flight from Cape Town and our group was warmly welcomed with hot cloths to wipe off grubby paws and a quenching fresh fruit juice. Lunch and dinner were a la carte, my choice of the former being their chicken Caesar salad with piquant dressing – and a local fish dish for the evening. A nice touch was being able to make a morning cuppa – courtesy of a beverage tray - before heading out on the first leg of our adventure

Room Tip: I was placed in one of the rondavels set in the gardens which I preferred to the idea of being in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lucille B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Lake Duluti Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Lucille B,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience on your recent stay at lake Duluti Serena Hotel before the start of your safari adventure.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards

Felix Ogembo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

Lake Duluti Serena Hotel was my first introduction to Africa, other than a previous visit to Egypt. The staff greeted the guests with a very warm welcome, with moistened towels & mango juice. The landscaping & accommodations were in a lush jungle environment with African decor along the Lake Duluti. Cheeky monkeys have the run of the place, making you realize that you're definitely in a jungle environment (they're not bothersome, they're entertaining to watch). The rooms are comfortable with mosquito netting around the bed. Each meal has a combination of buffet and sit down menu items to choose from. DO NOT DRINK THE WATER! Drink bottled water only, which they will offer to you at each meal & have available to you in your room to use to brush your teeth.
There's not a lot to do around the hotel or Arusha. However, it's a good place to settle in in order to get over jet lag before you head out for your safari.
Be careful when you order any wine...make it clear that you just want a glass of wine, otherwise, you may end up owning a bottle of wine!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Lccolumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Lake Duluti Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Dear Lccolumbus,

Thank you for taking your time to share such a detailed review of your recent stay with us. we are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in our "little Jungle" in the town and our facilities as well.

We do apologize for the issue of the wine which i am currently reviewing with the team on the ground to seek a remedial action and i hope this did not take away too much from an otherwise enjoyable safari adventure you had.

Once again thank you and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you in the not too distant future.

regards

Felix Ogembo
General Manager




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

This was were we started and ended our 11 day safari in Tanzani. We love the feel and beauty of this place. Our last day, we stayed until 4 pm, had breakfast, lunch and relaxed watching the monkeys run around the lobby and front yard. Staff is so helpful and laundry is very affordable. Wish we could stay longer.

Room Tip: Be close to the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WinkSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Lake Duluti Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Dear WinkSea,

Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience on your stay at Lake Duluti Serena Hotel and we hope we can have the opportunity in the not to distant future to host you for a much longer stay.

Best regards

Felix M. Ogembo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
10.0 km away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
613 reviews
8.0 km away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
487 reviews
10.2 km away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
10.5 km away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 42 in Arusha
273 reviews
10.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Duluti Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Duluti Serena Hotel

Address: Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 184 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: $206 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Duluti Serena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set at the heart of a traditional coffee estate in the majestic environs of snow-capped Mount Kilimanjaro, the exquisitely appointed Mountain Village Lodge offers heady views over verdant tropical forests, cool mountain walks, a wonderful array of wildlife, roaring fires and superlative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Duluti Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Mountain Village Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing