We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Korona House(Arusha)
US$60
US$48
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mvuli Hotel(Arusha)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$69
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
US$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$469
US$455
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$280
US$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
US$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$174
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
184
223
47
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
223
47
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake dulutimain buildingkilimanjaro airportfirst nightone nightbeautiful groundsguided walklobby areaceiling fanlong flighttanzanian safarigreat place to startpre safarithe hotel offersour honeymoonno air conditioninggift shop
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 463 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2017

The large stone manor house is now tucked away with a multitude of thatched roof bungalows. The grounds are full of large, tropical flowers and vines among huge trees. The interior takes one back to Colonial Britain with interiors of lush fabrics and rich hues of deep mahogany browns.

The dining room was inviting, and the staff were exceptional in their wanting to fulfill our every wish.

The room we had was quiet, and comfortable, with huge bathrooms, and quality throughout. We thoroughly enjoyed out stay here. Highly recommend this to any travelers lucky enough to come this way.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OregonAngelwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Arusha Serena Hotel, Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Dear OregonAngelwings,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review after your recent stay with us. we are really delighted to read that you took your time to appreciate the architectural design and the interior decor of the hotel as well as enjoying our facilities.

we hope we can the pleasure of hosting you once more at Lake Duluti Serena Hotel.

Best regards

Felix Ogembo
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile

After a long flight this hotel was a perfect place for a one night stop before starting our safari.
The main building takes you back 40 years with its beautiful frontage and lawn overlooking the lake.
The rooms were perfect, large, and most had a great view. Being able to make tea/coffee in your room was welcome.
Lunch on the lawn was relaxed and just what was needed.
The bar area was very welcoming in the evening, as were each and everyone of the staff throughout the hotel.
The evening set meal was excellent value $25 for 4 courses and tea/coffee.
Breakfast was excellent, all you could want with plenty of fresh fruit and hot food cooked to order.
Lovely garden areas to walk in and the opportunity to do a guided walk around the lake.
Would recommend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Arusha Serena Hotel, Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Dear Jenny H,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities as well.

Its our hope that we can have the pleasure of hosting you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Felix Ogembo
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2017

Everything about it from the service, to the rooms and food was very good - (including the vervet monkey on my doorstep, after breakfast.....).

As this was my first night in Tanzania, I didn't realise that all accommodation I stayed in (arguably, with the exception of the tents at Kiri Kiri camp in the Serengeti) have the same problem - lighting. If you want to read anything after 1800 in Tanzania (and in someplaces, including reception here, before then) make sure the torch in your mobile phone is well charged - better still bring an LED rechargeable torch. Rooms, reception, restaurants - you name it, they don't light it properly. Understand ambience/romance etc. but at check -in/out?????

Otherwise, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Arusha Serena Hotel, Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Dear Simon,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have also taken note of your comment on the lighting and i would like to assure you that we shall review this with the team with the hope of making improvements on the lighting. i hope that this did not however take away too much from your overall experience at the hotel.

i hope we can have the pleasure of hosting you again at lake Duluti Serena In the near future.

Best regards

Felix Ogembo
General Manager
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2017 via mobile

This hotel was once a private house which now has small but pretty thatched bungalows in the grounds with views of lake Duluti in the background. The rooms are furnished to a good standard with a tv and larger than average bathroom. The gardens are immaculate and very pretty. This hotel was the first we visited for our safari. Meals very good with good selection. Large communal lounge with bar. The monkeys made an appearance at breakfast time and provided photo opportunities not to be missed. Small gift shop on site. Only down side you can see lake Duluti in the background but didn't get close up to visit as part of our package. We returned to this hotel at the end of our stay which is approx 1hr from Kilimanjaro airport. Would definitely use again

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Moya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Arusha Serena Hotel, Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Dear Moya N,

Thank you for taking your time to write the review. we are glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us and we definitely look forward to welcoming you back to Lake Duluti Serena Hotel.

Best Regards

Felix M Ogembo
General manager
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2017

A lovely situation being able to see the lake from the bedroom. We didn't find the way to the lake which would have been pleasant. the staff were very willing turning out in the wee small hours to carry our bags to our taxi. As it was b and b we were sent away with a packed breakfast which had great variety and was very good

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Arusha Serena Hotel, Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Dear Jane T,

Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us.
We have taken note of your comment and the team and i will look at it with a view to finding a way to make it easier for our guests to access the lake.

we look forward to hosting you again at lake Duluti Serena Hotel.

Best Regards

Felix Ogembo
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews